Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Bosco High School

Private | 9-12 | 800 students

Our school is best known for developing the whole person.

 
 

Living in Bellflower

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $284,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,360.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2014

This is a great school to attend! This school is well-rounded meaning that we excel academically, athletically, artistically, and spiritually. Academically, we have 18 APs and PLTW courses (the nation's most rigorous provider of STEM courses) and sent kids to some of the most prestigious schools in the country . Athletically, we have won the state championships in football, wrestling, and basketball. Artistically, we have an excellent music/theater program (you must go to at least one of the plays). Spiritually, this school incorporates important Christian values as well as religion as a subject. Here are the class of 2014's achievements: http://www.bosco.org/apps/news/show_news.jsp?REC_ID=382147&id=0
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2014

St. John Bosco is a fantastic high school. The teachers are excellent and caring, making sure that all the students do well. Our 4 sons love Bosco and are proud to be Braves. My brothers attended back in the 1970's and it was fantastic then as well. In fact, it has only gotten better. No matter what a student is interested in, he can find something he wants to do. Some call it a sports school now, but my sons are not in sports and we did not send them there for sports. There is no better high school in this country, no matter what anyone says. If you want your sons to excel and have an advantage for life, send them to St. John Bosco High School. Simply the best. GO BRAVES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

Both of my boys attended St. John Bosco High School. It is situated on a huge, beautiful campus in Bellflower, surrounded by residential neighborhoods. The original reason I wanted my boys to attend is because it is the best school in the greater Long Beach area in terms of academics, where more than 98% of graduates go on to college. Both of my boys were involved in extracurricular activities, one in athletics and another in fine arts. The interesting thing about this school is that in addition to being academically superior, Bosco also has great athletic teams, having recently won the state championship in football and wrestling. My boys loved Bosco, and made wonderful friends there. If I had more male children, I would not hesitate to send them to Bosco. It was a wonderful high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

This school is really great in a response to the post before mine anywhere you go will always have favorites on anything from academics to athletics. St. John Bosco is a great school and really prepares you for what is to come and in a response to the students earlier post about homework not counting you could have one student who breezes through the homework get credit, do bad on tests and have a B. On the other hand you could have a student that struggles turning things in but aces every test get a D so i really think Bosco is a fabulous school and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2014

This school has to be one of the most overrated schools I have ever seen. The discipline here is an absolute joke, all of the "athletes" can get away with any thing short of murder. The majority of the kids are horrible who care more about their sports then school( they claim academics comes first but if you are smart and clever enough you can see this is false). This brings me to my next point, they are more concerned with sports than anything else!!! The thing that gets me the most is that in math your home work doesn't count toward your grade and the teachers don't look at your work so you don't know if you are getting the lesson. So I will say this, Bosco is better than St Anthony's and other public schools(which isn't difficult to achieve) combined with the horrible kids, questionable learning practices, and the over emphasis on sports makes this school the most overrated school that brings in more praise than it rightfully deserves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2013

My two sons graduated in the last two years and are now in college. They are both successful college students who were well prepared for higher education. They made many wonderful friends at Bosco and enjoyed their teachers tremendously. It is a supportive and warm community that is truly unique ... my third son also will attend Bosco ... we love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I have three boys, all of whom have different personalities, strengths and weaknesses. Each has found a place to be himself at Bosco. The school is large enough that boys of varying personalities can find friends, but not so large as to be overwhelming. There really is something here for everyone should your son choose to get involved. Academics are excellent. The teachers want each boy to succeed and all a student has to do is ask for help to get it. Most importantly, at a time when society is so permissive, I know that my sons are being taught about what is truly important - Christian values - rather than what the media values. Lastly, it is very easy for parents to get involved in the numerous school activities and "keep their finger of the pulse."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

St. John Bosco High School has been an excellent choice for my son. I think we have found the best of all worlds ... big enough to offer many activities and options but small enough where he can grow and become the best he can be. I am thrilled with the academic, religious and involvement opportunities that are available. I find the administration, faculty, staff and coaches to be approachable and willing to help out with individual concerns. The campus is absolutely gorgeous! I was impressed to learn that preparation for college and assistance with discerning and selecting the right college began almost from day one. We are glad to have found a strong "partner" in a school to assist in preparing our son for his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

2002 graduate- This school was mediocre and did nothing to prepare a lot of my class mates for college. Thank goodness for my college and law school. Now, I will happily donate to my post-secondary institutions and never give Bosco a dime. Overpriced and overrated. Don't send your kids there.


Posted June 7, 2013

A lot of the kids that go here are really bad. Cussing every other word, treating other kids badly, and just running around just being careless. A lot of kids don't seem to care about their classes or whether they have to go to summer school or not, the teachers are good and want to help, but the students dont seem to put much effort into learning and paying attention in class. Also, it seems that at this school the major and main focus is sports, they proudly boast that 85% of students play at least one sport.... But the thing is, they make so much money off sports and athletic programs but they cant even fix the wooden bleachers in the gym, which are extremely wobbly, and other spots that need repair around the school. On the topic of appearance, the school smells bad, like oversweaty athletes and something spoiled.. yuck. But not everything at Bosco is negative. There actually are kids who want to learn and do great things. Other than sports, there's a great drama program and excellent band program. For me, it just seems like the negatives slightly outweigh the positives and I slightly regret picking this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2013

This school is very good for students academically. Unfortunately, this school has a lot of bad students that get away with everything because they are good athletes. This lowers the morale of other students. They put sports first. My son is still enrolled and I won't transfer him because he is a senior but I will not send my other son there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Please parents do not send your child to this school. It was so bad that I had to transfer out and go to a public school. This school does not care about their students. They say they do, but it is a total lie. There are much better schools than this one. Even the public schools in the area are much better. The faculty doesn't know how to discipline the troublemakers and actually give detentions to the students who want to learn! It makes no sense. So parents, if you're thinking of sending your child to this school, please think again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2011

Currently have a sophore son attending this school. My son couldn't be happier & is excelling in academics and campus life. It's been said before & it can't be stressed enough...being a Brave IS like a second family. The comraderie between classmates is awe inspiring. These young men, whether in the classroom or during a game in atheltics count on each other like one would a brother. This is the best choice I ever made regarding my son's education & future. It is money well-spent. High recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Everyone, students faculty and staff get a great education that prepares you for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Great atmosphere for developing young men of strength and character!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I love our school because our students aren't just 'students' - they're family. Our administration/faculty/staff/coaches/Salesians are the most caring, compassionate group of people that truly make our school more special than the rest! Our students are well-rounded individuals who have very bright futures ahead of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It provides a great education for life and our students consider it a second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

greatest school ever, coming from a person who no only attended but is now sending their kids to bosco
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I am graduating in 2010 from Bosco. It's pratically like my home, away from home. These 4 years in Bosco were the best years of my life. Especially Miss Tracy's 2nd period of sophomore year. i'll miss it ! go Braves !
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2007

All my sons attended this school. My third son will graduate this spring. Great school, great environment. Will miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
White 27%
Asian 13%
Black 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paul Escala
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • All boys
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13640 Bellflower Boulevard
Bellflower, CA 90706
Website: Click here
Phone: (562) 920-1734

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bellflower High School
Bellflower, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT