Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fox Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This year is our first year at school. Our daughter was enrolled to kindergarten class. Transition from preschool was very smooth and easy. Our daughter had no problems with adaptation. Every day she is excited of her school experience and waiting for the next lesson. Kids are free to seat on the carpet and play developing games and toys. Teacher knows the job and able to keep children's attention and interest in learning. At first sight, school is well equipped. And, what is the most important, here is a great enthusiastic community, many volunteers and after school activities.

Fox Elementary School 4

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
I said below what a hard time we had a Fox. Today we went for our first day and it was Awesome. They did a remodel and landscaped, looks very nice.I had a good feeling after leaving and my kid was so happy at pick up, so I'm looking forward to a great year.


Fox Elementary School 3

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
To the response below. Don't judge parents how have negative review to this school. Not everybody has a chance to volunteer and participate in school life. Parents who volunteer simply has time to do it and some don't. And it doesn't mean your child have to be left behind if you parents struggle to keep with need. We went from kindergarten through 5th grade and saw great teachers who really care and some who simply do nothing. This school deserved 3 stars.

Fox Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
At Fox, we have parents who are doer & parents who are complainers. If u take an active role in your child s education, u will get so much out of this school. This school is a hidden gem. Credit goes to the hard work parents do to offer free extracurricular activities for kids, either in a form of financial assistance and/or volunteer hrs. Teachers have a leg up at Fox b/c they have parents that make their job easier by essentially being their unpaid teacher s assistants. These parents are the heart & soul of this school. You don t have to be a rocket scientist to figure out that teachers are more responsive to these parents who support them. You can call it favoritism but I say they earn that right. Just think from the Teacher s perspective if all u do is complain & think they s/b able to wave a magic wand. How would u conduct yourself in that situation? The principle is great too. Always found him to follow through on his words. To the parent who said her son s classroom was disgusting, sorry but it s not that difficult to make a fuss. Don t pat yourself on the back by saying u were the first to complain. Words are easy but hard work makes a lasting impression.

Fox Elementary School 4

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
As with any organization, there's a percentage of team members who are highly-motivated and inspiring and who try to propel the students above the CA average. There's also a perecentage of teachers who are simply doing their job - teaching the standards - which is what some parents want. Depending on your objectives (academically rigorous vs. standard), the teacher you get, and the abilities of your student, your experience will vary. We expect above-average academics given the demographic of the school and our experience has been generally good so far. Could it be better? Sure, there's lots of room for improvement in every California school. On the upside, this school is a gem in lot ways...boutique size, good school community of talented and involved parents, generally strong test scores, school-wide activities give children many opportunities to be exposed to different areas of learning: Science (Science Fair), Performing Arts (Foxtravaganza), Gardening, Recycling, Music programs, Art, Read-a-Thon, and more. Principal may not be a powerhouse administrator, but he does interact well to the students and he tries to teach them concepts like responsibility, kindness, and respect.


Fox Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
I found the leadership unresponsive except to a certain few families. My child's teacher spent far too much time texting during class hours and showed favoritism to certain students while being blatantly rude to others, especially special needs children. The curriculum was not age appropriate. The level of preparation for the Star test via sample tests was tantamount to cheating. The Star test is supposed to be a benchmark test not one in which children spend weeks doing sample tests in preparation.

Fox Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
Fox school is a wonderful public school. I have two children who attend there, and so far they have both had a great experience. The teachers they have had are extremely dedicated. The huge amount of parent involvement and active PTA have made many programs available to the students that would otherwise not be available because of budget concerns (e.g., art, dance and music classes, tutoring). One of my children does have special needs, and unlike some of the other reviewers, my experience has been very positive. I have not had to fight to get services for my child and have felt that the school team wans to ensure her success.

Fox Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2012
- a parent
We have a second grader and a kindergartener. The education offered by this school is excellent. Very involved parents also round out the exta-curricular activities - gardening, dance, and science. I highly recommend anyone moving to the Belmont area to go to Fox.


Fox Elementary School 2

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
Sadly, Fox has gone downhill in the past few years that our kids have been there. Some of the teachers are strong, but there is only so much they can do when the classes have grown so big. Sadly, I don't think things will get much better. The community will weaken due to the move away from school boundaries. Those in Hallmark and Skymont should be fine, but those down the hill will be scattered between the expanded Nesbit and perhaps the other schools. The planned expansion will take away much of our lovely fields. Chris M. is very personable, but I wish he were more aggressive in advocating for Fox at the District level and pushing out many of the teachers that have been there for 30+ years and lack zip. The aftercare (aka Calamity Corner) is horrific.

Fox Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
If you have a preschool child w/special needs and have to deal w/the Belmont-Redwood Shores School District, do NOT enroll your child in Fox's morning special day class. The teacher lacks integrity-she says one thing and does another. She will smile in your face and reassure you that your child is in good hands but it's not true. Friends of ours sent their child to this program and had the most negative experience with this teacher. If we experienced what they experienced, we would have pulled our child out also. This teacher showed a lack of concern for their child's health/well-being and showed a lack of respect/consideration for the child's parents' concerns. Instead of apologizing to these parents, she defended/justified her actions-unbelievable! The worst part is that when these parents expressed their concerns w/the Director of Special Educ, this director defended/justified this teacher's behavior! The director made patronizing remarks to the parents such as, "I'm sorry that you feel that way but WE FEEL...blah, blah, blah". Basically, she didn't care how the parents felt and had no concern for "their concerns"-b/c of this, we are not sending our child there either.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fox Elementary School
3100 Saint James Road, Belmont, CA  94002
(650) 637-4850
Last modified Fox Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fox Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top