Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benicia High School 3

Posted July 18, 2014
- a student
Benicia High School is an average high school. Its not completely run-down like those in inner cities though not as great when compared to other towns. Most students are completely unmotivated towards the virtue of public education and unwilling to act mature for their age. The latter is not helped by the teachers' visible despondence. 'Let kids be kids.' is conventional term greatly endorsed by the school body. Maybe its that 'laid-back' ambiance this small town produces. I am speaking from a student's view when I write this statement; therefore, my words should provide insight yet are subjective. So take these comments with a grain of salt. The students are truly unmotivated to learn. They rather talk about gossip, sports & other topics in television, social media, and drug use which seems predominant in this high school community. All these aspects provide an hindrance towards education. Sadly of all, there is neither academic discipline nor 'segregation'. AP & Honor classes do not help. It is clear that intellectual integrity and distinction are not celebrated here. Only menial athletes are exalted.

Benicia High School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The director of special education, Carolyn Patton, created a lot of conflict and did not know how to implement special education services in Mount Diablo School District. She had to leave Vacaville, to go to Mount Diablo, and she only lasted there 2 years.


Benicia High School 3

Posted April 13, 2011
- a community member
Having to relocate and need to find a good school for my 7th and 9th grader. Please give me your input on how good or bad the schools are in Benicia in 2011. Since I have to rate the school and have no idea, I'm going to give it a fair chance by selecting 3 stars. Hope someone out there can help me out! The last four reviews didn't sound so good.

Benicia High School 4

Posted February 25, 2011
- a student
Part 1: BHS offers great AP/Honors classes. Most of the teachers are good and there are a few that are absolutely spectacular, however there are also a fair amount of teachers who do not teach and who are there simply to get paid. The school board is making many negative changes, such as combining English classes and cutting down on early-bird classes. They waste money by sending hired officials around the school to make sure there is an objective written on the board for example. The majority of the problems come from the school board, not the teachers nor the students. Most of the students are genuinely good people, however there is a substantial drug problem. The school is a relatively safe environment, I have never felt threatened nor afraid of being harmed. The lunch food is not good, it is all precooked, prepackaged, unhealthy garbage; nothing is actually cooked and prepared at the school like it used to be.

Benicia High School 2

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
BHS has seen its glory days. Make no mistake: This District's emphasis is STRICTLY on API results and teaching to "THE TEST" is directed there, period. Teachers are sadly under-resourced. There are some gems, and there are a few too many (you know who you are) that should have stepped away from the blackboard some time ago. Thanks to tenures they still teach away, in spite of failing to inspire. The administration seems blithe to the hostile element which exists on the campus, and there are issues there. Probably with more funding and stricter winnowing out of problem students, BHS could match a social environment closer in excellence to it's apparent API score. For now however, the disparity is glaring.


Benicia High School 2

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
Our school needs to get its priorities straight. This week we had Every 15 Minutes. Its a program that is supposed to convince us not to drink and drive. My problem is that the school probably spent half their budget on a useless re-enactment of a car crash, which was horribly acted. I can Garuntee 90% of the school lost interest and screwed around. Those funds could have been used to keep all of our fun classes from being cut. The students hate this school.

Benicia High School 1

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
If Benicia High School is such a great school that everyone likes, then why do they put up chain link fences to keep us in? Were not animals. Everything that used to be great about the high school is gone. The only thing left is the open campus, which threy plan on closing next year while im a senior. The campus is filthy, the bathrooms are constantly locked, and the lockers can be opened by punching them. Finding and buying drugs is as easy as buying lunch. They have cameras looking at the lockers yet they claim no responsibility for stolen objects. Lets not forget about all the class they plan on cutting next year because of budget problems. Instead, they spend what they have on fencing us in. This is coming straight from a BHS student

Benicia High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
It has a wonderful Special Education Department!


Benicia High School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a student
It was a great school coming from a person who moved away from Benicia and wen to the East Coast. The myth that east coast schools are far better has been proven wrong because unlike here, teachers of BHS are very caring and know what they are teaching.They also have a grerat fine arts program and good academics program.

Benicia High School 3

Posted September 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benicia High School
1101 Military West, Benicia, CA  94510
(707) 747-8325
Last modified Benicia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benicia High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top