Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

488 students|Benicia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary Farmar Elementary School 1

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Stuffing 25 kids in a classroom where they can not get their academic needs met is wrong, especially when the teacher is making a salary of $85-95/yr. for 180 days of work per year (look it up on Transparent California...also look up the principal's salary, over $110k while kids are stuffed into classrooms. District superintendent...$200k). To compensate for ineffective classroom instruction, teachers send home mountains of homework to pass the work onto parents. Is this really okay w/ parents, whose property taxes are funding this ridiculousness? Our funding should go first to smaller classes, where kids can actually learn.

Mary Farmar Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2015
- a community member
We have a grandson in Kindergarten 2014-15. He had an excellent teacher who gave him knowledge and experience in all parts of every subject. I helped in the classroom every afternoon, so I know how much the children learned. His homework was not excessive and after he got into a routine, he did it without complaints and still had plenty of playtime after school. Kudos to Mary Farmer.


Mary Farmar Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Despite concerns about the amount of homework, we generally liked the teacher. We did not find that the teacher was an invested in our son as what we experienced after moving and being in other school districts, though.

Mary Farmar Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
We were there just one year, but our son had 16-20 pages of homework a night in kindergarten. We were shocked by this, and he has not had this much at other schools even in older grades since. This is excessive and really influenced him developing a negative attitude about homework. He was excited to get homework at first; however, as they settled in and it got to the regular amount of homework, it quickly became too much. He started to hate school and homework. In kindergarten it is important to develop good study habits and a positive attitude about homework. They failed to do this.

Mary Farmar Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
There attempts to do this may work for some, but also may be counterproductive. They have a lot of homework, which can develop persistence and grit. However, it can also create an aversion that works to the opposite of this.


Mary Farmar Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
They did an okay job with this, but nothing stood out as impressive. The school is not very diverse, and our son was one of the few children that represented diversity. We would have liked to see more emphasis on this.

Mary Farmar Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
They did okay with this, but also noting stood out too much as being impressive related to this.

Mary Farmar Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
We had no concerns with this and they seemed to do well. We also didn't see things that stood out that impressed us related to this. We have seen this in other schools our son attended.


Mary Farmar Elementary School 4

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
We were here just for one year and, for the most part, were quite satisfied with the school. The one major frustration was the amount of homework given to kindergarten students. Our son had 16-20 pages of homework a week. He was in an after school program that helped with homework, but still had to do homework in the evening for 1-2 hours a night to complete it. He started off loving school and enjoying homework; however, he began to really hate the homework over time because of the amount. After moving away, we've really struggled to change this. He is able to do his homework, just has not overcome the dislike of it from kindergarten. It has improved as we've been at schools with better balance.

Mary Farmar Elementary School 4

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with a very involved Principle. There are some challenges when it comes to the 4th grade teachers. I believe that there is a couple, from my experience and discussions with other parents that just need to RETIRE. There were times when my child didn't want to go to school just because of the teacher belittling them in front of the class! I spoke to parents who actually moved their kids out of the school specifically because of these teachers. It seemed like they had a huge power trip . After surviving the 4th grade my child began to love going to school again. So with that said great school, just beware of the 4th grade teachers!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Farmar Elementary School
901 Military West, Benicia, CA  94510-2558
(707) 747-8350
Last modified Mary Farmar Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mary Farmar Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top