Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

436 students|Benicia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Robert Semple Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
I love this school! So glad I moved to this neighborhood. They encourage college and school spirit daily and the new principal, Mrs. Thompson & Miss Dutrow have been WONDERFUL.

Robert Semple Elementary School 2

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers seem to not care much about their students. They are visually underpaid and therefore working more than 1 job which severely minimizes their availability for current students and parents. I wouldn't recommend sending your child to this school. I have brought up concerns about my child early on, only for teachers and administration to brush me off because they are too busy.


Robert Semple Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I have a first grader at this school. He really enjoys his class and his teacher. The library program is a great tool for the students. I am glad there are programs like second step and others to help children that need a little more attention. the science night was a great experience. Ms. Chapman is a great instructor. The school is lucky to have her. This is our first year. The only bad thing i would say is that parking, pickup and drop off are extremely difficult. Also, I wish children had full recess periods instead of the quick 15 minute recesses so that the children could participate in an organized sport. My son doesn't get the energy out that he needs to get out so that he can do better in class.

Robert Semple Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2011
- a community member
I went to Robert Semple K-5 it was the best years of my life. The staff was amazing & very friendly. When i got to 5th grade i could not wait to go to BMS (Benicia Middle School). i have had the worst years of my life here. at least the elementary schools were great, its a bummer the middle school and high school isnt!

Robert Semple Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2011
- a parent
We love our school and our teachers. The parents are wonderful and pull together for the benefit of our children. Great community!


Robert Semple Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
My son has completed Kindergarten and Grade One at Robert Semple. I simply can not imagine a better experience. Both teachers were absolutely fantastic! They have provided him with an excellent academic foundation. He is reading far beyond his grade level and his math skills are great. Both teachers treated their students with love and respect and had an uncanny ability to bring out the best in each child. The school is very family oriented. Parents are welcome in the classroom and younger siblings are able to come with you to volunteer.

Robert Semple Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
Robert Semple is a community school in every sense of the word We are truly a family. Every parent, child, teacher and support staff work as a cohesive unit. Semple Rocks and has been selected a CALIFORNIA DISTINGUISED SCHOOL for the third time. GO DRAGONS!

Robert Semple Elementary School 4

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
I love the school! The 4th grade team is very very wonderful, I wish all the staff was as good. The principal is not great. I really question how he got the job. Very family friendly and the kids are happy.


Robert Semple Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Our staff and parents are very caring and supportive. Our kids give great hugs and warm smiles

Robert Semple Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
My son has been to 3 of the Benicia schools now. I just love Robert Semple, and due to a change in demographics my son now has to go to Matthew Turner. Just because MT has more money in their students and parents certainly doesn't make them a better school. On the contrary, Robert Semple was awesome. It was a family type atmosphere with an awesome, involved, principal. Every event they sponsored was well done, the entire school was friendly and helpful. I recommend Robert Semple to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Robert Semple Elementary School
2015 East Third Street, Benicia, CA  94510-2206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (707) 747-8360
Last modified Robert Semple Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top