Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

534 students|Benicia Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Matthew Turner Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
This is an example of a school that has an entirely incompetent, lazy and snobby staff. They cannot follow simple directions and if there is a deadline, don't depend on anyone in the front office to get on the ball. Most of the parents at Matthew Turner are self serving people who are trying to keep up with the Jones' and are worse than the children when it comes to "clique" behavior. They obviously don't care about their children's education because more people would be outraged that their children barely take home 1 piece of homework each week - even in the higher grade levels. This is great for the parents who have their children enrolled in 10 sports and are banking on their kids growing up to be jocks. Most of the intelligent children I know of - their mothers state that their children are bored in class and they spent a lot of time doing "independent reading" in school. There are many parents who like to feel important so they hang around school and pretend they are of law enforcement or teachers. If you're looking for a school who actually cares about your child's education and future as much as you do, you would do well to consider the MANY other options that Benicia has to offer.

Matthew Turner Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
Teachers play favorites (especially one teacher who teaches in Kindergarten) to the kids with parents who have no jobs and hang around the school all day schmoozing with the staff. Teachers are not aware of what goes on in their classrooms behind the scenes among the children.


Matthew Turner Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
There have been multiple problems including homophobic slurs being tossed around as young as 2nd grade as well as bullying in early grades. There is a "say no to drugs" week, but there is no anti-bullying days or anti-hate days. This damages the integrity of the school structure because if you can't trust the teachers to look after your children while they are there, why send them to Matthew Turner? Your children are not safe in that kind of environment.

Matthew Turner Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
I have one child at Matthew Turner now and another one who graduated from the same school who is now in middle school. The teachers and school staff are absolutely wonderful. Curriculum is top notch, as evidenced by my middle schooler who is not only breezing through middle school but constantly on honor roll. Personally, I have no problems with the strict attendance, test scores, and lots of parent involvement, etc. All of these things help them get ready for their next stage in life. Early foundation is key. If you don't want your child to excel academically and socially, then this school is not for you. Bravo to Matthew Turner!

Matthew Turner Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school. I moved to Benicia for the schools two years ago and I am very pleased with that choice. A bit about my situation...I have two daughters attending this school. Neither of my kids attended preschool so I was a little concerned about their transition, particularly when the Kindergarten days were extended. I found the teachers were committed to exposing kids to the educational experience and exciting them about learning. I would say both my kids have different strengths and weaknesses but teachers (and my wife and I) worked with them and it paid off. Parent involvement both at school and at home is higher than I anticipated. Expect to be strongly encouraged to volunteer if your child attends MT. I admit, sometimes I joke with other parents that 'I don't remember it being that way when I was a kid' but honestly times have changed and I am over it. Although volunteering is an investment and it's not always easy it results in a strong sense of community here and a lot of that is due to the parental involvement. Parents recognize my kids and we recognize theirs, etc. Last I checked I thought that was a good thing and usually really good things cost a bit.


Matthew Turner Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Parents and teachers are very engaged to the benefit of the students. Due to this year's change in principals, I have to rate four starts until the new leadership is established. Past leadership has balanced school funds with curriculum and parental involvement.

Matthew Turner Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2011
- a parent
This school could not be better! Great teachers, great principal. 99.9% of the parents are involved in the extra activities, and a majority of the parents and students come to the extra event held after school or on the weekends. My daughter has learned far more than others her age that are at different schools. If it weren't for this schools performance our only other option would be private school. I would not feel comfortable sending my daughter to any other school in the bay area, and know that she would get the best education possible. Thank you to the staff and other involved parents at this school.

Matthew Turner Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
I have not been happy with this school. Am looking at other options. Teachers are great but to much emphasis on test scores which creates competitive environment in children.


Matthew Turner Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
It's a wonderful school. I have two boys, one now in 6th and the other in 3rd. The teachers are fantastic, and there are lots of supportive parents to help out. We feel very lucky to have this school in our neighborhood.

Matthew Turner Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
I have had nothing but a positive experience for my children at Matthew Turner. We have just finished our first week of the new school year, and the kids couldn't wait to get started! It is definitely not a militaristic atmosphere. There are rules and expectations which are needed to have a structured, safe, learning experience. Any parent who doesn't see the need for this needs to check themselves.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Matthew Turner Elementary School
540 Rose Drive, Benicia, CA  94510-3761
(707) 747-8390
Last modified Matthew Turner Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Matthew Turner Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top