Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Berkeley High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 29, 2016
- a student
It's all about luck. Some teachers are amazing, and some don't even want to be teachers.

Berkeley High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 29, 2016
- a student
Students in IB develop different sickness from the stress that they are put through with homework. I have friends who have dropped out because of the workload.


Berkeley High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a student
Students that are introverts or have learning challenges will not get any help or special attention. Pretty much left to fail.

Berkeley High School 2

Posted January 29, 2016
- a student
I am a current student at Berkeley High and it has been really hard. Teachers could care less about my thoughts and opinions in the classroom and discussions are rare. I mostly learn from packets, textbooks, and worksheets. I'm in IB and the kids are competitive and close-minded. Everyone only cares about themselves and their own grade and don't really care about what they're learning, as long as it gets them into a prestigious school. Dominant students get A's and introverts or students with learning challenges don't get any attention. If you are looking to send your child here, I would suggest looking to a smaller school if they genuinely love to learn and appreciate community-like learning.

Berkeley High School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Berkeley High is amazing in so many ways. Students are able to find such interesting classes: afro-hatien dance, video production, computer programming, forensic science. My kids (a junior and a sophomore in AC) have had an amazing experience overall. The principal is very engaging with the students and very communicative with parents. The staff, counselors, and volunteers are very helpful. Many of the teachers are excellent. The down sides are that it's an enormous school, so you really need to watch your kids on powerschool and communicate with them about typical high school problems (drugs, feeling lonely, trying to fit in, and so on...). If you advocate for your child, they will come out of Berkeley High being independent and worldly.


Berkeley High School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
BHS is diverse; racially, economically, immigrant and intern'l (children of foreign scholars, expats), whose mastery of English is developing. This nuance is not reflected in the test scores, but it is one of the things that make the school and community rich and amazing. The extensive offerings of AP, honors classes ensures that the smart kids that test well of all backgrounds will be engaged and challenged. The sports, arts, and language programs are beyond belief in the many opportunities from beginner to advanced levels. Each year, 100s of college admissions counselors from all over the US and foreign arrive to meet with and recruit BHS students. Our student has attended both private and public schools, and I can say that BHS offers a world-class private school education for free. The extra taxes that Berkeley homeowners pay ensures class size reduction, full-time librarians, field trips and more. It's very easy to get involved at the school as a volunteer, so you can see for yourself. It's a large school and at first very confusing to sort it all out, but after 2 yrs, I can say that we're thrilled with the academic and citizen of the world experience our student is receiving.

Berkeley High School 4

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
BHS has many students from outside the district who are there without permission and contributing to overcrowding. They do help raise test scores, so...there you go. They are mostly in IB and AC. The school has many good, committed teachers, and are terrific examples of their profession. The principal is an excellent communicator and seems to really care about the well-being of the school community and stakeholders.

Berkeley High School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughter is a freshman . I am a retired teacher (from another school district) and really impressed with the leadership, the extensive programs offered by Berkeley High school and the amount of parent and volunteer participation. I just attended Back to school night and the quality of the curriculum and the teacher koowledge and organization of the curriculum was outstanding.


Berkeley High School 1

Posted June 22, 2013
- a student
I thought that this school would be good because it was near UC Berkeley. But it is not. The teachers here give out packets and the students do drugs.

Berkeley High School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a community member
I've heard great things about this school! I know someone who used to teach here and has spoken highly of the small school movement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berkeley High School
1980 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA  94704-1463
(510) 644-6120
Last modified Berkeley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berkeley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top