Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Realm Charter Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Terrible! I mean terrible don't send your children to realm when I walk. Inside of there I don't feel as if I am at a middle school it feels like I'm at a day care. Since also about 75% if the students are latino so about 25% of the time teachers student staff speaks Spanish. At that school they don't learn standards. The school had about 30 $2,000 computers but can't afford to give my son a class that feels like a class all of the classes are super deformed because the school wasn't meant to be a school it's an old abandon warehouse. My saids he never heard teachers curse so much because teacher curse at that school with no hesitation. The students about 50% of them are there only because they were super bad at there old school and there parents thought it was the school but it was really them. So they send them to realm. Also the school is tiny there is no freedom for the kids. Final verdict don't send your child here it's terrible terrible.

Realm Charter Middle School 3

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
We going to move back to CA and I'm looking for good school for my first grade and sixth grade boys and I think this will be the best for them


Realm Charter Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at Realm since they opened in the Fall of 2011. We have experienced passionate, high quality, teachers and state of the art education. My daughter has developed a love for learning and taken advantage of extra AP classes in literature & science. REALM offers Mandarin, as well as a class called Studio H, taught by architects that have trained at Harvard & Rhode Island School of Design. Project based learning, design challenges, peer teaching, small classes, exceptional passionate teaching staff have all made REALM a top choice for our family.

Realm Charter Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Last year I took a leap of faith and enrolled three boys in grades 6, 8 and 9. I have never been so happy with a school. The staff and administration are caring and competent professionals who actually "see" each kid. If education for you means more than just teaching to test and if character building and a progressive, challenging curriculum are important to you, REALM is the place to be.

Realm Charter Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
REALM Charter Middle School has given my twelve year old grandson a different view of teaching and learning. The teachers are wonderful: young, energetic and committed. The teachers and staff have many different skin tones which may not seem like something to mention but it is a capsule of how the world looks. People should know that the Executive Director is a smart, forward-thinking man with the belief that all children deserve the best education. The principal is caring and firm and definitely invested in success. I like that the students have different teachers for each subject plus an advisory. I know switching up things is important for a middle school boy, already on the brink of puberty.


Realm Charter Middle School 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent of a 6th grader and we love Realm. What I like most is the teacher communication- weekly emails and we know how well he is behaving by signing in Class Dojo. It's small school with big ideas. They are making the coolest library too!

Realm Charter Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
REALM has provided an amazing opportunity for our family. The teaching and administrative staff is committed to the success of every student, holding students to high standards and not giving up on students who need extra help. They have been available to help my son overcome behavioral challenges, setting appropriate limits and immediately acknowledging his efforts to improve with warmth and confidence in his ability to succeed. The school is welcoming to a diverse student body. The enthusiasm and dedication of the teachers is impressive and they work hard to engage students in the learning process. As a relatively new school, with students coming from a wide geographic area, the process of building community among parents, students and staff is a work in progress, with a committed effort by a team of parents and the staff to continue moving forward in this process.

Realm Charter Middle School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
REALM Charter School is an innovative public school option that we feel very fortunate to have our son attend. It's a dynamic, project-based, small school with remarkably communicative, caring and talented teachers. The school is lively and inviting -- the energy and enthusiasm infectious the moment one walks in the door. The school motto is more than just a phrase, it encompasses the philosophy and attitude of the entire staff: Love / Grit / Action.


Realm Charter Middle School 4

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Now in our second year at REALM Charter School, we are very pleased overall with the teaching staff, admin. staff and the other families. The vision of Victor Diaz is coming to fruition, slowly but surely. And while that road is sometimes rough, it is the intention and that vision that keep us at REALM. I sat in class with my son all day one day last year, and while he didn't like that, the teachers were amazing. They kept their cool when it would have been easy to yell, they clarified understanding, they made learning fun, they adapted their message to a few students who weren't getting 'it'. Phenomenal teaching staff!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Realm Charter Middle School
2023 8th Street, Berkeley, CA  94710
(510) 809-9800
Last modified Realm Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Realm Charter Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top