Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Realm Charter Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Darden, Has supported my son and provided such amazing care to my son, that he has become such an incredible young man. Mr. Darden is kind, beyond patient and a champion of my sons education. I am so grateful for him. What an excellent Teacher/Role Model!

Realm Charter Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers have high regard for the students abilities and promote excellence by supporting the student with staying on track with their own goals. Each student defines success for themselves. The teachers discuss strengths as much as they do weaknesses.


Realm Charter Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My son does about an hour and a half of homework a night, except for weekends and test days/weeks.

Realm Charter Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The idea that the m ore mistakes you make the closer you are to mastering your task has changed my child's attitude about school. My son has a higher tolerance for his mistakes and does not easily give up or get frustrated.

Realm Charter Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Students are held accountable by their peers and staff in a way that allows them to repair ruptures in relationships and grows their self respect


Realm Charter Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The curriculum and extracurricular activities offered at the school enhance the understanding of various groups and allows students to feel compassion and develop compassion for others.

Realm Charter Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Students are in charge of their education and held responsible by facilitating their own parent teacher conferences. Explored in those conferences are the students goals, what the student needs from staff and parent to achieve those goals and barriers that student has control over.

Realm Charter Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My son attends this school and I LOVE the way he has developed as a student and has become a more social, confident human being. I Love the organization, the open communication between students, teachers and parents. The atmosphere is once of acceptance NOT tolerance and there are ample opportunities for the students to step out of themselves and explore other interests and cultures. GREAT school! Excellent STAFF!


Realm Charter Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Terrible! I mean terrible don't send your children to realm when I walk. Inside of there I don't feel as if I am at a middle school it feels like I'm at a day care. Since also about 75% if the students are latino so about 25% of the time teachers student staff speaks Spanish. At that school they don't learn standards. The school had about 30 $2,000 computers but can't afford to give my son a class that feels like a class all of the classes are super deformed because the school wasn't meant to be a school it's an old abandon warehouse. My saids he never heard teachers curse so much because teacher curse at that school with no hesitation. The students about 50% of them are there only because they were super bad at there old school and there parents thought it was the school but it was really them. So they send them to realm. Also the school is tiny there is no freedom for the kids. Final verdict don't send your child here it's terrible terrible.

Realm Charter Middle School 3

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
We going to move back to CA and I'm looking for good school for my first grade and sixth grade boys and I think this will be the best for them

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Realm Charter Middle School
2023 8th Street, Berkeley, CA  94710
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (510) 809-9800
Last modified Realm Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top