Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Luther King Middle School 4

Posted May 10, 2011
- a community member
MLKMS is wonderful. Teacheres respect students. Students respect teachers. Probably I would say Martin Luther King is the best school the whole of Berkeley. The Cons ( bad things ) I would say is If like you live in El Cerrito or anywhere else you might have a hard time getting your child in. Because what I have heard is that you have to live in Berkeley to go to this school.

Martin Luther King Middle School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
Very good academic program and teachers and staff who care about the kids and their community.


Martin Luther King Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
King Middle School is one of the finest public Middle Schools anywhere. It is home to the Chez Panisse Edible Schoolyard and has may other enriched programs. The teachers are outstanding and deeply committed. No chatter about avoiding one or another, which is common at other schools. Teachers and administrators are active, engaged, caring and effective. The math program is outstanding with an honors option in all grades and multiple supports for kids who are struggling. Drama is another star program. King has the great advantage of diversity among students - is about 30% Black, 30% Latino and 40% White and Asian. It is an extremely calm and friendly school, with large groups of mixed race friendships. Current principal is outstanding and parent community strong. Families move into the King district -to access this school. Lucky to have it.

Martin Luther King Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
Great School and great extracurricular activities.

Martin Luther King Middle School 4

Posted March 07, 2009
- a student
I enjoy going to this school. Although at times I feel intimidated, it has great extra curricular classes. Also, i love to go to the garden and kitchen. It's always a pleasure waking up and Garden/Kitchen day is that day.


Martin Luther King Middle School 1

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Martin Luther King Middle School 1

Posted December 16, 2008
- a student
I do not enjoy being at this school at all. I feel quite uncomfortable in the atmosphere because there are so many people. I would rather go to Longfellow Middle School (also in Berkeley) because I prefer small schools and I've heard great things about it.

Martin Luther King Middle School 5

Posted June 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Martin Luther King Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
Martin Luther King Junior High School is a very good school.

Martin Luther King Middle School 5

Posted December 30, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King Middle School
1781 Rose Street, Berkeley, CA  94703
(510) 644-6280
Last modified Martin Luther King Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Luther King Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top