Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leconte Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
This school a really nice community for kids, parents, and teachers. It is now the designated elementary school, district-wide, for Berkeley's Dual Immersion Spanish/English program. The new Principal is great and teachers love their kids and are responsive to parents. I was skeptical about BUSD at first but really think they do a good job!

Leconte Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2011
- a parent
I am a proud parent to a Le Conte learner. My son has been attending Le Conte elementary since kindergarten. He is a second grader now. We are in the dual-immersion program. He REALLY loves his school and actually likes to go to school. I have met some pretty amazing parents, kids and teachers. Principal Wilson knows all the kids by first name, she truly loves her job and it shows.


Leconte Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
A great small public school with an amazing principal and a fantastic dual immersion program.

Leconte Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 29, 2009
- a parent
Pros: -Great Principal -Nice Playground/yard area -Great teachers. Dedicated and talented teaching staff (mostly...that's public school) Cons: -A couple weak teachers -Slight racial tension (normal urban school levels) -Anemic parent involvement (though strongly improving) Overall synopsis: I'm happy with the school. The staff and involved parents are dedicated to creating a positive learning environment for all. Unfortunately, a number of kids there seem to be quite unsupported by their families and show up for school unready to take advantage of it. Every kindergarten class will have kids who have been read to every day sitting alongside kids whose parents have never read them a book. The staff does a fantastic job of serving those very different groups. If you are involved in your child's education, this could be a good school for you. If you expect the best but won't work for it, go private. I have never second-guessed my decision to send my child to LeConte.

Leconte Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
I love the level of commitment, involvement and caring from the principal, the teaching staff and the kids. The parent community is incredible. We are the best kept secret in the district.


Leconte Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
There is some truth to a feeling of segregation between dual immersion and regular programs at all the TWI schools, my experience at LeConte is that most of the teachers in both programs are very good with only 1 or 2 exceptions - out of 15 teachers (similar proportion is true at many Berkeley schools not just the ones with the TWI/English divisions). So yes I know 2 boys have had one 'bad' year each in our total 8 teachers so far (3rd and 5th with experience in both programs). I think LeConte has exceptionally good K, 1 & 4-5 teachers and actually a high level of integration of the 'tracks' by 4th grade through mixed am/pm classes. The mix used to be 1 TWI and 2 english tracks so that dynamic of limited cohorts was reversed and sometimes it just doesn't work for a child - but no disaster!

Leconte Elementary School 2

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
What a disaster. While it appears that the dual immersion program here is good and well-supported, the rest of the school is a mess. Our child has had a terrible experience here, and we hear the same from other parents in the English only track. We have a teacher we like, but there is chaos in the class and lack of supervision on the playground. Because Le Conte has the lowest scores in the Southeast Zone and a less-than-desirable reputation, it is the last choice for families in this zone, unless they are requesting the school because they want the dual immersion program. That means that the English-only classrooms are the dumping ground for this zone. Additionally, because there is only one English-only classroom per grade, there is no possibility for moving kids around when you get a class with a bad group dynamic. Sad.

Leconte Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Leconte Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Leconte Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leconte Elementary School
2241 Russell Street, Berkeley, CA  94705
(510) 644-6290
Last modified Leconte Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leconte Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top