Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Malcolm X Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 535 students

Our school is best known for our integrated Arts and Academics program.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 22 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2013

My child is in kindergarten at Malcolm X and so far I have been very impressed. Her teacher is very, very good. Every day she comes home with some new tidbit she has learned at school and has made leaps and bounds in reading, writing and math. There is huge amount of parent involvement. It seems that the kids in her class who need extra support receive it. The PTA is very active and funds a lot of extra programs for the school and does not seem clique-y at all. My daughter has music, dance, gardening each week. There is no official P.E. but the kindergarten teachers take turns teaching it. Unfortunately, I don't have an opinion of the principal because I have never had the opportunity to interact with him. When we toured Malcolm X the principal did not come out to talk to our group. When I asked I was told that he didn't participate in tours. Seems like a missed opportunity for him to make a good impression on prospective families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

I am a parent at Malcolm X Elementary and think the school has a lot to offer. The parent community is very supportive and welcoming. Many of the teachers are excellent and absolutely committed professionals. However, our personal experience with the teaching staff has been mixed. I also feel I cannot give this school a high score in large part due to my experiences with the principal. As noted by another reviewer, the current principal is not a strong leader and not very "present." Based on my personal interactions and observations of him--he does not demonstrate strong leadership and does not seem to want to roll up his sleeves and deal with things directly. He has been unresponsive and/or dismissive of issues I have raised and does not seem to have a very good handle on what is going on on a day-to-day basis. It seems that he delegates a lot of responsibilitiy to the teachers and his aide/secretary, and shows up for school events (but is not an active participant/leader). I really think this school could be amazing with the right leadership--but it does not have that right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

My child has attended Malcolm X for several years. It is a terrific school. Malcolm X was named a California Distinguished School for 2012, so there is no need to rest on achievements of 20 years ago. The school is achieving great things right now. The principal is now in his 3rd year. He had difficult shoes to fill, as the previous principal had been there for more than 20 years and was somewhat of a legend. He has done a fine job. The staff is wonderful and truly work together as a team. There is very strong parent support. Last year the school's gardening and cooking programs were threatened with a zeroing out of funding. A parent group got together with other affected Berkeley schools, came up with a bold plan that was presented to the school board, and stormed the school board meetings with droves of kids and parents. They got the needed funding for another year. We feel very fortunate to be able to send our child to Malcolm X Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

I am currently attending SFSU and I am proud to say that I am a product of the nurturing of MX. I truly believe that I wouldn't have made it to college if I wasn't taught at MX. I started kinder back in 1998 or 1999 and I had recently moved here from Mexico. I didn't speak English do it was extremely hard for me to follow instructions, however, Ms. Cannon went out her way to find a tutor and mentor who would work with me in class. The teachers at Malcolm x are committed and are passionate about providing the best quality education to each individual child. By 3rd grade, my English and Spanish were at par. I am glad I took part in all the social activities there like the walk a thon. I played major roles in annual plays. I learned civil engagement and responsibility there. This school is great for children that are destined to give back to the community and participate in the arts. I recommend this school without a doubt. I am proud that my MX class mates are now attending prestigious colleges all over the states. We have all stayed close because we were taught to value one another at MX. Also, the experience for children is even better if parents committ to participate.


Posted November 4, 2009

This school is great! We feel so blessed to be able to have our children there. It has a wonderful program of arts and academics with a social justice focus, but above all else, the principal and teachers are all very committed and have excellent skills in working with a diverse group of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Malcolm X is a superb elementary school, easily matching or outmatching any of the private schools in the area. We now have a fifth grader and a first grader, and each has had a good to excellent teacher every year without exception. The offerings at Malcolm X are amazing: along with academics, they have dance, drama, art, PE, gardening and cooking as part of the regular weekly curriculum. And Principal Cheryl Chinn works miracles to support the teachers and the programs through tough economic times. It's also great to have the urban kids all growing up together. In the early grades, the relationships are sweet and the kids know each other just as people. When culture and race start dividing the kids more in the middle grades, that deep familiarity with each other really works against fear-driven stereotyping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Excellent teachers and staff! Wonderful community - diverse, vibrant, and inclusive. My kids are getting a great education here and they love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It brings beauty, art, knowledge & so much to South Berkeley...where there are more less fortunate children who don't have much else to look forward to. Malcolm X Elementary School is a shining gem in a hard environment - it is HOPE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Malcolm X is a terrific school in every way. My daughter, now entering fourth grade, has had skilled, caring, inspiring teachers every year. The curriculum is rich, there's lots of creative, collaborative teaching going on, children are educated as whole, developing persons, parents are involved and welcomed and school feels inviting, safe and fun. Hurrah for principal Cheryl Chinn and for Berkeley's commitment to public education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Love this school. It's got everything you want for your kid, plus a lot that you might not have thought of. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

We moved our first child from a local private school to Malcolm X when he was in third grade, primarily because we have three children and the financial burden of the private school was too much. After four years attending MX, we still absolutely adore the school. The teaching staff, principal and families are truly amazing. There is such a positive, upbeat energy about the school, you can't help but love it. The school educates the whole child and doesn't gear it's curriculum to prepping kids for the State tests. The children are exposed to drama, art, dance, music, gardening, cooking on a weekly basis. I always tell people that if I had the money, I would pay to go to Malcolm X.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

MX is extraordinary. Students get a great education in a vibrant, diverse environment. My first child to attend MX blossomed and thrived throughout his years there. My next child to attend MX is in his final years there, and he too is thriving. Both kids have enjoyed MX and consistently scored high in the standardized tests. This combination of enjoyment and performance attests to MX s integration of arts and academics. I've had issues with the school but over the course of six years and two students, it's unrealistic to expect that every program and teacher will be perfect. Credit for this school starts with principal Cheryl Chinn. She s highly competent and dedicated. Under her stewardship, MX has developed a skilled staff. The PTA is also strong and that s critical, because even at schools with excellent facilities, teachers and funding, students need parents that are involved Schools can t do it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I always love the opportunity to rave about my son's school, Malcolm X Elementary. It's a warm and inviting place. The teachers seem to love working there, love working together, and love working for/with their principal, Cheryl Chinn. My [son] has had great or really great teachers each year so far (he's now in third grade). The community of parents is diverse in every way. Many families are involved in the school, and there are numerous ways to be involved. I have made great friends, and so has my son. There are many special classes: art, music, dance, drama, gardening, cooking, library.... The teaching, as much as possible given state standards and the terrible overhang of test scores and No Child Left Behind, is innovative and individualized. I am so happy with my carefully made decision to send my son to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

Everything you read here about the excellence of Malcolm X is true. Our daughters are now finishing their fifth and final year, and for them and our family it has been enriching to invest in the excellence and diversity of Malcolm X. Parental involvement is exceptional. We believe that no private school could have given our daughters as much educationally and socially as this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Malcolm X Arts and Academic Magnet is simply a fantastic school on every level. Our daughter is in her second year at Malcolm X and we could not be more impressed. The principal and teachers are top notch and super excited about their work. There is a strong value of excellence among the teachers. The school's focus on and integration of arts into all elements of the curriculum strengthens and bolsters the academics. Parent involvement is extremely high with committees bursting with energy and getting great work done. After-school enrichment activities are terrific. Malcolm X has started a super innovative school/neighborhood Collaborative that maximizes resources available to the school and involves many local arts organizations in programs. The school also created a fantastic campus Arts and Grounds Master Plan in 2007, a blue print for creating wonderful public art on campus involving our kids. A very special A+++++++++++ place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I have to agree about the kindergarten program here. It is at least as good as the private school programs that my older children attended. The art, dance, drama, music, gardening, and cooking classes are a wonderful part of the curriculum. The field trips have been a lot of fun, and the parent-teacher community is warm and inviting. I had also worried about the size of the school, but my daughter has blossomed and acts like she has ownership of the school. The afterschool program (X-Plus) is superb, with amazing projects for the kids. My daughter learned book binding, paper mache, mask making and much more. The school has a diverse student body and has had wonderful multi-cultural PTA programs. I give this school my highest recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

The school seems crowded to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I have a kindergartner and second grader (who started in K) at Malcolm X. Their teachers have been excellent -- very aware of each boy's individual strengths and weaknesses, and taking those into account in working with them. My older son does very well academically, and I feel like his teachers are working to keep him challenged. The school's arts focus is woven throughout the curriculum. I also like the level of parent involvement, both in the school program itself and in the afterschool (X-Plus) program. The PTA has organized afterschool classes that offer things like sports, martial arts, chess, circus, and ceramics. And the diversity of the school is a big plus -- many different types of kids and families. My one complaint is that I wish there was more supervision on the yard during recess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

The teaching staff is wonderful, the school events are not to be missed. My child graduated with good academic skills and a performing arts background that gave him confidence. The 'extra' classes of dance and drama are particularly good, especially in the upper grades. The teachers work very closely with each other to ensure that students are taught the same curriculum in the same manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

I tutored at Malcolm X for three years and have never quite seen anything like it. If you want you child to have an appreciation for the arts, this is the place to take them. The teachers were wonderful to work with and the school is extrordinarily clean. There are lots of on-site afterschool programs, and the parents seem pretty involved. Its on the berkeley-oakland border so the group of kids is mixed: ethnically, culturally, and financially... but the kids seem to get along well. The school is BART accessible and it even has a garden that the children get to work in. I would send my kids here in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

888

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

888

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females80%
Males68%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females78%
Males66%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females78%
Males69%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females85%
Males69%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females85%
Males80%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females79%
Males84%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females77%
Males55%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females82%
Males72%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students64%
Females73%
Males58%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 22%
Two or more races 16%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 6%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Distinguished School (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Ashoka Changemaker School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:20 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Alexander Marcos Hunt
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (510) 644-6297

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts Integration
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Green Team
  • Peace News Reporters
  • Peer Conflict Managers
  • Recycling club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Willard Middle School
Longfellow Middle School
Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1731 Prince Street
Berkeley, CA 94703
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 644-6313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sankofa Academy
Oakland, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT