Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Malcolm X Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 535 students

Our school is best known for our integrated Arts and Academics program.

 
 

Living in Berkeley

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $451,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 22 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

Malcolm X is simply amazing. I feel honored everyday that my children are able to attend a school with both a strong arts and academic focus and such a wonderful teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Malcolm X is a wonderful school with a diverse community of students, parents, and staff. We have had consistently great teachers for our three years there so far. When you talk to parents at other schools, you almost always hear them say there are one or two teachers at the school who are less than wonderful. I have honestly never heard such a complaint at Malcolm X. I really appreciate the music, art, and gardening pull-out programs my kids get, and that the class sizes for the lower grades are kept at 20 kids. Overall we love Malcom X!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Malcolm X is a fantastic school. What sets it apart are three things: (1) the quality of the teachers; (2) the involvement of the parents; and (3) the quantity and quality of the "extras" (music, arts, dance, drama, gardening, conflict manager program). In addition, Malcolm X does a fantastic job teaching kids kindness, emotional management, and other social/emotional skills. It is a big, beautiful physical plant (including a 4,000 sq ft garden and a great rock garden space for climbing, plus a large yard, lots of grass, great playground spaces.), with large classrooms and community spaces. It is a large, diverse school, but it also has an intimate community feel because of all of the involvement by parents, and the dedicated, communicative staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

We just started at Malcolm in September with a kindergartner and we couldn't be happier. Looking forward to the next 7 years (when our younger daughter goes through, too!). Malcolm was our first choice (Berkeley has a lottery system) and we have already had our expectations surpassed. They put a huge value on diversity and understanding, and every teacher and the principal are highly involved. Already there have been several community events and my 5 yo feels like part of something larger than herself (the whole point, I think, of a public school experience). Nothing I would change. People are saying "within the confines of a public school" and I don't know what they mean. We wouldn't rather be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Malcolm X Elementary has been a great fit for our son and by extension - our whole family. By incorporating various arts practices like painting, cooking, and gardening into the academic curriculum, Malcolm X creates a unique and balanced approach to learning that engages students wholly. Recently, the school has implemented a new learning module called "Toolbox" that helps support social/emotional growth among students. We've all benefited from these 'tools" and continue to discuss and use them at home. Great community-minded school and supportive learning environment. We love Malcolm X!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I have a new kindergartener at MX. The transition to a big school from a small preschool was an adjustment, but with the gentle beginnings that MX does to fit the kids with a balanced group of classmates & a teacher who is a good fit for the child really helped. Only 2 months into school & my daughter is blossoming into a confident new reader while making many friends. The school is large, but the close knit community of very caring, friendly & generous families make the school seem cozy & homey. The parents really go the extra mile at this MX to make the experience for all the best it can be. The extra school activities at MX really bring a lot to the table by engaging the students in a variety of ways. I love that teaching comes in many forms to hopefully get the educational material to sink in one way or another depending on the child's learning style. MX is also doing a wonderful job in fostering kindness & understanding between the students. It warms my heart to be in the classroom & see the children actively lifting each other up with compliments, completely on their own, without coaxing. The children are sweet, challenged & fostered here at MX- so happy to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Malcolm X is an amazing school! Our son is attending kindergarten there this year, and we have been highly impressed with every aspect of the school, from the teachers, to the staff, to the community, everything about the school has exceeded our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Malcolm X Elementary is a fantastic school! Our son likes it since the very first day. We were, like most parents probably do, worried about the transition from preschool to kindergarten, but the teachers did a great job to make the kids feel "home". What I really like about Malcolm X is the diversity of students, and that it is really a lively place for many people, be it children, teachers, or parents. Everyone does his or her best to make this a wonderful community. There are also many ways for parents to get involved. I think within the limits of a public school, people at Malcolm X do everything possible to make this a great school, and a great place to be for our kids. What I love in particular are all the activities beyond the core curriculum, like music, cooking, gardening, drama, etc. that make being a student at Malcolm X an unique and wonderful experience. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My daughter is in her 4th year here (she started here in first grade after completing kindergarten at a charter school that closed abruptly) and I have been consistently impressed by the quality of the teachers, staff, and parent community. Everyone here is committed to kindness, inclusion, diversity, and treating the kids like human beings. In addition, you get the benefits of the Berkeley Public Schools gardening program, plus art, dance, drama and music. The parent community is quite active and does several fundraisers a year to make sure that the school has enough funds and supplies. My daughter is thriving here and I couldn't be happier. Can't think of anything that would improve it except for maybe a bigger budget to bring the cooking classes back (CA state budget cuts), the kids miss them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This school is a great school I think. When we moved to Berkeley, my daughter was sent to the 1st grade here. School has many PTA enrichment programs for the students. In addition, teachers seem very helpful and nice. My daughter has homework everyday, which keeps her in the right track and good studying habit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My daughter just started kindergarten here at Malcolm X but what I have seen so far is great. Her teacher Ms. KC is very sweet, patient, and dedicated. My daughter gets to do dance, music, gardening, and PE mostly due to the excellent PTA. She loves the 1-hour after school enrichment classes such as Fairy Tales Dance. I really love the school-wide Toolbox program which encourages emotional development. My daughter uses her "breathing tool" and even reminds me to use it when I get upset with her. There are a lot of community building events - potlucks, PTA meetings, etc. Unfortunately my daughter isn't excited about school but I blame that on the nature of public school in America these days. Kids should be running around, playing, and learning more organically but I digress. As far as public schools go, Malcolm X seems great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Great community, very active PTA, excellent teachers and staff. It's getting pretty big and community events have to be limited to one grade or we don't fit in the auditorium. Amazing integration of arts and different learning modalities into curricula.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Malcom X is a great school. Although on the physically large-side it has it's advantages (great garden, performing arts program, lots of friends to choose from, etc.) and disadvantages (4-5 classes per grade, intimidating for those that require quiet attention and intimate spaces). Overall the teachers are excellent and work closely together. With a long history of excellent management, the staff is charismatic and caring. The parent community, if you choose to get involved, is very engaged. It's a Berkeley public school so all those wonderful and negative elements apply too, but by in large - thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Our daughter is a fourth grader at Malcolm X and has truly blossomed. She has been supported while being offered challenged at the same time. The teachers have been very sensitive to her as an individual (a special shout out to her 2nd and 4th grade teachers -- thank you!). We are impressed by both the focus on core curriculum as well as enrichment. The gardening program is irreplaceable (where else would kids eat a 'weed burrito' -- a weedo -- and swear it was the best food ever!). When we saw the school first we were concerned by the size. But, we've never felt other than welcome and part of the commuinty here. The parent involvement is one of the best things about the school (always wish I could do more -- thank you room parents and other parent-volunteers!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My son is in 1st grade, and I absolutely love this school. He started here in Kindergarten, and I can still remember my eyes filling up with tears during the Kindergarten open house when we were still deciding which school was going to be our first choice. I was filled with tears of joy as I saw the amazing community that the school had. I was impressed by the commitment and dedication of all of the school teachers from every grade level. I am moved to tears during every single school event because there is just so much love and community throughout the school. I am so grateful for our experience thus far, and can't wait for my younger two children to begin school here at Malcolm X.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Malcolm X is a wonderful elementary school and is about more than just high academic standards. Malcolm x is dedicated to providing a rich variety of experiences including (arts, drama, dance, music, gardening and cooking) to each student. It also has a multicultural student population. The school teach's all students conflict resolution skills. I am so happy my daughter is fortunate enough to go so such a well rounded and loving school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

This is an excellent school! This will be our family's 7th year at Malcolm X, and we have had almost entirely positive experiences. Teachers and staff are experienced, loving people who want to be there. Classroom conditions are right for kids to learn. The variety and quality of "extras" like music, art, cooking, gardening, drama, dance, etc. are wonderful. The community is inviting and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

We love this school! The teachers are dedicated, the community is very involved and loving. The arts programs are fantastic- drama, dance, and music. And the garden space and teacher have created a special place and connection of my daughter to nature. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

The passion and dedication of the teachers, principal and parents is truly outstanding! The commitment to non-core enrichment curricula (music, cooking, gardening, drama, etc) rivals private schools. I am thrilled at the anti-bullying policy that has engendered respect between students and an effective conflict resolution approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

I am a grandma of two students at Malcolm X and volunteer in the school. The teaching quality is exemplary. Artistic expression is highly valued. The teacher's high moral and cooperation with each other makes a big difference. This is a school where teachers want to work and it is reflected in their teaching.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

888

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

888

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females80%
Males68%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females78%
Males66%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females78%
Males69%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females85%
Males69%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females85%
Males80%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females79%
Males84%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females77%
Males55%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females82%
Males72%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students64%
Females73%
Males58%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 22%
Two or more races 16%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 6%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
English language learners 11%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Distinguished School (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Ashoka Changemaker School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:20 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Alexander Marcos Hunt
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (510) 644-6297

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts Integration
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Green Team
  • Peace News Reporters
  • Peer Conflict Managers
  • Recycling club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Willard Middle School
Longfellow Middle School
Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1731 Prince Street
Berkeley, CA 94703
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 644-6313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sankofa Academy
Oakland, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT