Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Black Pine Circle School 3

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
We were very disappointed and left after several years- so we never made it to the middle school. Although academics were generally ok we found teacher quality very uneven. We found many of the teachers were very weak when it came to assessment and differentiation. The small, cramped facilities are a real minus. When we started in Kindergarten we thought the class was capped at 20 but then they kept adding more students-the classrooms are just too small and just keep feeling smaller as the kids get bigger and move into the upper grades. Classrooms were noisy and crowded. When we started we thought that nice facilities didn't matter, but after our experience at BPC I most definitely think space matters at lot! We had heard that BPC would be a good environment for gifted kids, but that was not our experience. The violin program is quite good and the violin teacher is excellent.

Black Pine Circle School 2

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter went here for two years but we were dissatisfied enough to leave. First, school does not have a good handle on social/emotional issues and bullying/social exclusion seem to be recurring problems. It was definitely a problem in our daughter's class, and five families left out of a class of 19, largely because of social issues the administration refused to take seriously. Differentiation was very limited, and the general attitude of the school was that everyone there was gifted and could be served by the same curriculum. I also thought their approach was not terribly developmental and there was a lot of pressure to have kids reading early, and more homework in the early grades than we thought was developmentally appropriate and more than even schools like Head-Royce. On all of these issues the school administration was not interested in really working with parents, but rather in just explaining why they thought they were right. The middle school program seems better than the lower school program, but we didn't feel inclined to stick around.


Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in 6th grade. This is her first year at BPC. She loves the teachers and school culture. As a parent, you couldn't ask for a better educated, prepared faculty. The middle school isn't very racially diverse; however, my daughter feels like she belongs and is treated well. The curriculum is solid. The first thing a sixth grader learns is organizational skills and accountability. Teachers are involved and more than willing to help a child who asks for it. Their P.E. Program rocks! coach Vince works those kids like Jillian Michaels. My kid is not athletic and is pretty thin. She's learned to do regular push ups, squats correctly, play baseball, run the Cooper, etc. My daughter is performing better at this school than she did at her last public school. She is becoming more of a reader and used to hate writing preferring math and science. She writes poetry now. Since September she's already read, analyzed and written about six major texts like "Call of the wild" , "Green Glass Sea", "weed flower", "Esperanza Rising", etc.. It's amazing to watch her mature. Great school.

Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Or daughter started 1st grade at Black Pine Circle this year. We are LOVING it. The academics are great- the subjects are very well integrated and overlapping, the teachers are fantastic, and the kids spend a ton of time outside. The music and art programs are fantastic as well. They treat the kids as individuals, and it's fun- my daughter doesn't want to leave, and doesn't like weekends because she misses school. We just moved here from out of state, and everyone at Black Pine Circle has been so helpful and welcoming. I think what really makes BPC great, is the staff. Everyone is so dedicated. The staff does a bunch of continuing education/training. Not to mention how fun they are! I really feel like all different personalities will/do thrive at BPC. I highly recommend Black Pine Circle.

Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
Black Pine Circle has been a wonderful experience for my daughter, now in 2nd grade. The cozy, familial environment at the school created the perfect transition from her smaller preschool. Through the eyes of a child, I imagine BPC is comfortable in every way -the physical campus isn't too big or overwhelming (although there is ample room to run around), the classrooms are limited to 21 students (with two loving teachers in each), and highly conceptual academic skills are integrated into fun, hands-on projects. BPC does not have a "rich private school" feel. Parents are down to earth and value diversity within the school and staff. The community is very supportive and the parent body is active at all levels of school affairs. The school has increasingly prioritized financial aid, thus allowing for more and more socio-economic diversity in each classroom. There has also been a school-wide effort, through the diversity committee, to place more attention on LGBT and cultural inclusivity through after school events, parent education nights, and new curriculum in the classroom. I feel so lucky to be part of this community.


Black Pine Circle School 4

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Black Pine Circle is a very good school led by a great principal. our child loves going to school every day and each day is filled with learning and improving. A real plus is its pull-out instrument program taught by two very experienced and patient teachers. It's weekly music class is taught by yet another great teacher. The frequent assemblies offer the students a great opportunity to perform in front of their peers and parents, which REALLY builds up these youngsters' confidence and pride (this we believe is so important to a child's success in their adulthood). Our introvert child is not fazed at all now by performing and talking in front of lots of people. On the minus side, our child feels that the daily math class is taught too easy (at lower grade) and the weekly math specialist class is not that impressive either. But overall we love our school and feel fortunate to have a principal like ours.

Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
My children - 2nd and 5 grade - have been at BPC since Kindergarten. My children have vastly different temperments and social needs - Thankfully, BPC has been a fantastic fit for both. They are thriving and couldn't be happier with their academic and social experiences. Independently they've both reported that "BPC is a great school - filled with great people who really care about kids and their learning!" The best surpirse about BPC is the development of the LOVE of music! Thanks to BPC - both play various instrument and have a passion for all kinds of music. On a family note - BPC is a small, warm close-knit community that embraces all kinds of kids and families. We have been very happy and very pleased with our children's academic, social, emotional, and artistic growth.

Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of a second grader at BPC. We couldn't be happier! The head of school is fantastic--he has a strong vision for the school and what it is intended to accomplish, and he executes it very well (plus, he is a BPC parent himself). The staff has clearly bought into the philosophy and are very good, engaged and creative. The relatively small size of the school makes for a tight community where all the teachers know all of the kids and allows the younger kids to know the older ones, and ask the older ones to learn to mentor the younger ones. Similarly, the small community allows for very good staff/parent communications, and there are a wide variety of activities and roles for parents to play to help (without pressure or obligation) provide the best environment for the kids. The strong music and math programs demonstrate this little schools ability to excel in academics and the arts. We are very lucky that we found this school during the tours. Go visit and see for yourself!


Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted January 08, 2011
- a parent
Our kids, one in 5th grade and one in 7th, have been at BPC since Kindergarten and are absolutely thriving. The academics are unmatched and the community is quirky but welcoming and close-knit. We couldn't be happier with our choice of BPC!

Black Pine Circle School 5

Posted December 04, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I are both teachers and we looked long and hard to find the right middle school. BPC successfully supports rigorous academics, serious arts education, and the essential social-emotional development. They do an exceptional job at making the daily experience for students meaningful, and they create a safe and supportive community at the middle school level - no small task. I highly recommend Black Pine Circle School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Black Pine Circle School
2027 7th Street, Berkeley, CA  94710
(510) 845-0876
Last modified Black Pine Circle School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Black Pine Circle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top