Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Private
Berkeley, CA
Students enrolled: 107

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Berkwood Hedge 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
BH is a small independent school in an urban neighborhood with an emphasis on hands-on learning. The teachers at Berkwood Hedge are flexible and responsive to each student's learning style and needs. Curriculum is built as a series of in-depth studies, and teachers use a variety of learning materials and tools. The school is also geared toward social and environmental justice issues. It's is a diverse place composed of families of all backgrounds and structures.

Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Berkwood Hedge since Kindergarten and is about to graduate from 5th grade. This school has really helped her blossom into a confident, happy child. The children at this school learn to care for and respect one another. It's an extremely nurturing environment. The teachers are wonderful in every grade.


Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and staff at Berkwood Hedge really "get" kids. It is also evident that they like and respect each other as colleagues and collaborate across the grades. The size of the school means that everyone is known by name and valued for their individual gifts. The new director, Love Weinstock, embodies the mission of the school, has been embraced by the community, and is bringing her special touches to an already excellent and established institution. And the parent community is full of interesting, kind, inspiring individuals.

Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
I am just bubbling over with gratitude that a school like this exists and that my son is part of this engaging and wonderful community. When looking at schools, we had quite a bit of concern about kindergarten being dubbed as, the new first grade . We wanted our son to be challenged but not pushed. We liked the idea of education being, not so much the thrusting in of information ie. memorizing multiplication tables) or learning for the sake of learning, but we felt that education should be the bringing out of what is already in the child. Berkwood Hedge has already kindled my son s interest in learning. He tells me things in Spanish. When we go to the library, he beelines for the non-fiction juvenile section for books on insects. He wants to know what is at the center of our planet and he makes drawings of other solar systems that we ve never heard of . Where blocks were once used for building towers, he now builds ships creating triangular bows. He s learned that Zev is a boy s name and it comes from a place where people speak Hebrew. He is learning in a truly organic fashion he has no idea that he s learning and he enjoys everything that he learns.

Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
Berkwood Hedge has provided an wonderful community for our family. My sons are starting their 3rd year at the school and their academic and social growth has been incredible. We have found the teachers and administrators, including the former and new director, to be incredibly thoughtful -- they are passionate about educating kids in engaging and creative ways and also foster the warm, respectful community at the school. We really feel like we made a great choice in sending our kids to Berkwood Hedge.


Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted October 08, 2011
- a parent
We have been at this school for three years now. Berkwood Hedge creates a truly unique learning experience for the kids by providing a small, supportive and nurturing environment for young learners. If your goal at the end of elementary school is for your child to love going to school, believe that learning is enjoyable, and preserve his/her natural curiosity and joy of discovery, this is the school for you. I also love the diversity of the school, both racially and economically, which is quite uncharacteristic for the majority of private schools. If you go visit the school, you will immediately sense how at home the kids feel. It is truly a unique school with a strong sense community and clear set of values.

Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
I think berkwood hedge school is amazing! I have absolutely no complaints. My daughter is thriving there! It's a wonderful environment and has a very involved, caring administration and teachers.

Berkwood Hedge 5

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
I could not be happier with the quality of the education, the teachers, and the community at Berkwood Hedge.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berkwood Hedge
1809 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA  94703
(510) 883-6990
Last modified Berkwood Hedge is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Berkwood Hedge Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top