Advertisement
Advertisement

Maybeck High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Berkeley

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $831,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

When I think of Maybeck High School I think of an old song by Cat Stevens from the 1970 s, If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out. It s a song that encourages and celebrates young people finding their own way in life, wherever their path might lead. The school is unique in the extent to which it creates a safe and supportive learning environment where students can be themselves, develop their interests and strengths, and participate in a vibrant and diverse community. While there is an accepting, relaxed environment that gives students flexibility, the college preparatory curriculum and academic standards are high so students are challenged to excel. Classes are small so students learn mostly through interaction with peers and instructors rather than memorization of lecture material. The seminar-style format of classes enables instructors to understand each student as a person. "Special project" activities that give students amazing opportunities to explore varied interests locally and world-wide. The undergraduate institutions where Maybeck graduates are accepted are impressive and include schools throughout the country as well as all of the University of California institutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

I am so grateful to have found Maybeck for my freshman daughter. Maybeck truly creates an environment where every kid is allowed to be their own person, free to express him/herself as he/she pleases. After spending years dreading school because of constant bullying and uninspired curriculum, I saw her light dim. At Maybeck, she has found her tribe. Everyday she loves going to school and the smaller classroom size allows for the individual attention she needs. She is thriving like I have never seen her thrive. She is exposed to the kind of teaching that inspires kids to actually think critically and she is now a motivated learner. She has great friends and is looking forward to traveling two weeks for the Special Programs where she will be exposed to a new culture and way of living. Words can not describe my gratitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

My daughter started Maybeck this fall as a freshman, and we could not be happier with the school. My daughter has always been high achieving academically, and she finds the classes stimulating and challenging. She previously attended some excellent public and private schools, but she says that Maybeck is by far the most interesting school she has ever attended. In addition to the excellent academics, the students and staff are an amazingly caring community. Kids of all sorts fit in well at Maybeck and it is obvious that the staff is invested in making sure that the kids are emotionally and academically prepared for the future. Check out Maybeck -- it's a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

If you are checking out private high schools in the Berkeley-Oakland area, you should take a look at Maybeck High School. Our daughter was an excellent student in the Piedmont school system but we moved her to Maybeck to start high school. We were attracted by the small class sizes, instructors - including many who have taught at the college level - who seemed incredibly qualified and a community where teachers are willing to earn less to have a diverse student body. We have an older daughter who succeeded in the grind-it-out, AP-Honors, four-hours-a night-homework model but didn't feel it was the best paradigm for our younger girl. We were looking for something better but still offering a quality education. We think we've found it at Maybeck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

My son attends Maybeck High School and it is truly an amazing school. Not only is it academically challenging but it is one of the few High Schools I have seen where the students and the faculty seem to want to be there. It is very small but the students interact with all grades. It is a school where a teenager can be a teenager, where you can be different and it is not a problem. It is supportive and a place where students truly care about each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

My daughter has been incredibly happy at Maybeck and within their caring small community has really come out of her shell both academically and socially. Never a joiner, she is now in a club every day, helping to lead the student activitiies council, loving her teachers and getting straight A's. Couldn't ask for much more for her. The parents are engaged but nicely relaxed about it all, so we like it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I went to Maybeck back in the '90s. What a wonderful experience it was! The big difference here is that the teachers interact with the students as mentors and peers not as superiors. Maybeck opened up the world for me both physically, on trips, and intellectually where ever we were. The school ethos is very liberal, so if you are not comfortable with full on freedom of speech and lots of non-conformity then this awesome and empowering school isn't for you.


Posted October 3, 2009

Energetic & creative in programming, respect toward students and faculty alike, collaborative, small enough to be flexible, encouraging creativity and individual responsibility for learning, not elitist...not MY school, just a school I admire...


Posted September 15, 2009

The best high school in the bay area! Great teachers, amazing curriculum and a wonderful community of students, teachers, staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Maybeck is an outstanding learning environment. The new head teacher (as of 2007) has brought considerable energy and excitement to the school. They have a fantastic group of teachers who joined over the last 8 years and are working alongside stellar veterans with 20-30 years at the school. The school is academically very challenging, but the support students receive from their teachers and peers is outstanding.


Posted March 31, 2009

I have two sons that go to Maybeck High School in Berkeley, which is currently on Bancroft Ave across the street from the CAL campus. This summer Maybeck is moving to a new site on College Ave (St. John's Church). The school is one of the smallest high schools I know of (approx 100-110 students), which creates the environment of intimacy for both student relationships and student/teacher relationships. My sons have flourished there emotionally, socially and academically. There are many talented and interesting students. There are interesting opportunities to travel during a ''special programs'' session in the spring. Right now some of the students are bicycling in Japan; others are in the Copper Canyon, Mexico. Mine are in Hawaii hiking and surfing. There is an emphasis on academics, the environment and bicycling. There are no competitive sports teams, however, if that is an interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

Maybeck is a great high school. It has one of the best english departments in the bay area, and I would recomend this school to anyone. Great location and great community!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2005

very good school. Great mix of acedemics and social/liberal life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 24, 2004

My family were all terribly disappointed by Maybeck and none of us would recommend it to anyone. My daughter, an artist with ADD (who later succeeded in getting into one of the best art colleges in the US and doing very well there), went to Maybeck between 1996 and '99. Despite the avowal of the principal and staff that the school was strong on arts and on individual attention, neither was the case. According to her, the Maybeck students vied with the young teachers in a kind of popularity contest, each one trying to be 'cooler' than the other. There was a great deal of immature behavior on the part of the teachers. The principal did not care to enforce any of the rules we were told the school proclaimed to be living by. Out of her 5 teachers, 2 were professionals. Many of the kids were doing drugs when off campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2003

Great school not only for academics but for the social life of a teenager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2003

Great academics, wonderful teachers, liberal yet srtict discipline. Many field trips and two school wide camping trips a year, plus one Intersession with student's choice of trip, this year one is scheduled to do a full tour of Spain. Extensive tours and classroom sit ins, highly recocmended.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 9%
Black 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2727 College Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94705
Phone: (510) 841-8489

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bentley School
Oakland, CA



West-Wind Academy
Berkeley, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT