Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Page School-Beverly Hills

Private | K-6 | 36 students

 
 

Living in Beverly Hills

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $900,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2013

My daughter has just started school at the Beverly HIlls, Page Private School location. I am not only impressed with schools cleanliness, academics, teachers and staff, and the principal. I love it! My daughter LOVES it and we are looking forward to a phenomenal academic progression for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

My 2 year-old daughter has been enrolled in Page for only a few months and I absolutely love it. I am amazed at everything she learns there. I love when she randomly starts singing her ABC's, the days of the week, or tells me something I didn t know she knew; such as shapes and colors. The teachers I ve met are exceptional and clearly care about the students. It works great for my family and look forward to enrolling my second daughter as soon as she s able.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

As the last reviewer mentioned, this school works out for some families, and for others it does not. and that may not be the school's fault. My child has attended this school for more than 3 years and while it is far from perfect, - some teachers are definitely stronger than others, overall it is a good educational nvironment. What I find is that the parents and families often expect much more from a private school for their children simply because they are paying. They expect children to simply excel without getting involved themselves. The parents are often highly competitive among each other as well without regards for the kids. The school is very small, so I see parents who dislike something about a teacher's methods share opinions and air grievances publicly without giving the teacher a chance to even explain or work with their child. When you choose to diminish a teacher in front of your own children, whether you are right or not, diminishes the role that teacher has to be able to successfully teach your child. Private school unlike public school provides parents with a choice, but I feel the parents are always responsible in the end for their child's academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

For some families this school works out....for others it does not. I am a former grade school teacher, high school teacher, junior college instructor and a retired college professor. Academicallly, in part, I hold a Masters Degree in Teaching from the Whitworth College Graduate School in Spokane, Washington, and a Doctorate Degree. For the last 40 years I worked as a teacher and in educational administration. My son went to Page Private School in Garden Grove, California, for five years, and in retrospect, it was a big mistake enrolling him at this school. He subsequently transferred to another private school wherein he did good academically, and loved his teachers/environment. Page has an absolutely excellent teacher with Mrs. Baylock. However, other faculty members are most questionable. (I formally filed complaints with the Calfifornia Department of Education concerning two "teachers" who were then team teaching my son.) As aforesaid, for families....this school works out....for others...it is not the case. In my opinion, Page Private School in Garden Grove, California, is far from being a good school and I would not recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

My daughter is no longer in this school for so many reason's she is now in 6th grade and has nothing good to say about this school. She does mention alot that her 1st grade teacher Mrs Blaylock was rude to her students and was not helpful and would get irritated when one of the children would ask for help. She had no patience in teaching her students. I think the reason is because she is too busy attending to her 2 kids that also attend that school. She should be fired!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I had 2 boys that attended Page in Garden Grove and I absolutely felt that the teachers and principal care deeply for the students. My youngest was in Pre-K there and I believe the core they set for him has helped him to exceed in Kindergarten this year. I was very sad when my ex decided to take them out of Page. Would recommend to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I am not pleased with this school, the 3rd to 6th grade only has one teacher and maybe another part time teacher. Its terrible, the principle does not care or call back when you have an issue. I could go on about this school but I am spending time now looking for a descent private school with a good curuculum. They are finally closing the upper elementary portion because its not working. The only good thing is that the teachers were nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

I absoulutly love this school , my son attends the Garden Grove campus. Their classes are small and well organized. Pricing is high but the student / teacher ratio is wonderful and well worth the premium. Campus is small and secure, the teachers are caring and take pride in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

Administration have a lack of responsiveness. Overall school practices are far behind the curve. Public schools and faith based schools are quickly leaving this organization in the dust. Beware and do your research.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

I am very disappointed with this school, the prices are ridiculously high. They charge double for everything. When we signed up my 3 year old daughter they failed to mention all the additional fees that are not included in the tuition. The book fees for a pre-K student are higher than what you would pay for books at a Cal state University!!! However the school and curriculum is ok for a Beverly Hills school, definitely not worth the Money! We will be taking my kid out next year, books and fees should be included in the tuitions monthly price, it is already high enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My child has attended Page Private School since Pre-school and now she is in 5th grade. We are so happy with the changes: New Director, upgrades in the office and playground. My child loves going to school every day. staff is all very proffesional and loving to all kids. Older kids are also very loving and respectful to smaller children. We love this new envoronment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I called the corporate office of Page because I had some concerns about certain issues at the school - issues I never even got a chance to discuss because I was told that the president does not speak to parents, he pays people to speak to the parents so that he doesn't have to. This type of attitude is prevalent in both Hancock Park and Beverly Hills campuses. Decide for yourself if you want to send your child to a school with this type of callous attitude. My child has been at both campuses and I will be taking her out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Our child, currently in kindergarten, has attended Page since Pre-K. The teachers he has had (and their assistants) are wonderful, warm-hearted people who truly love children. We are pleased with the balance of academics and playtime. He is also enrolled in an after-school basketball program once a week, and can now dribble with the best of 5-year-olds! We checked out several schools prior to placing our son at Page, but none accommodated our schedule. As full-time working parents, the extended before- and after-school hours are crucial! We love the fact that our son can read! We were so pleased when he read us his first book, Nat at Bat, several few months ago. That was completely the result of what he learned in school. Now he is learning clock time and counting money, and reading Dr. Seuss at night. Cons: small, crowded campus & not inexpensive. Overall: Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2006

The school is located on a busy intersection. The director not only dresses inappropriate,he is also the least educated person in the entire school. Take a tour and you will see for yourself! I am looking for a different environment for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

I don't know why they keep the director of this school. I love the rest of the staff everyone is nurturing and loving. This school has great potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Owners of the school need to realize that if they charge so much money, they need to provide quality education to students. This one of the requirements for the public schools, and Page is suppose to be better. With changes Page has a great potential. I hope owners read these comments and learn from their mistakes. I am taking my child out this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

I loved Page for pre-k and kinder, but after that it's not great at all, in particular based on the cost. I do not know if the teachers are certified; there is no way to reach the owner or main office as the principal doesn't allow it. Many of the teachers do not speak English correctly - during my second-grader's Parent-Teacher conference, the word 'leaf' was mis-spelled on the black board as 'LEAFE'! This is not the foundation I want my child to receive. My child has difficulty understanding her teacher's accent; there are no after-school activities; the summer camp is a joke...greatly promoted but none of what is advertised is actually done. The good teachers have left and those that are left do not have the experience or skill that is needed and are overwhelmed by too many students and no Teacher's Aides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

My daughter attended this school for PreSchool and for Kindergarten. I found that it gave her a strong foundation as it was a very academic Pre-School. If your child does not respond well to repetition and structure, this will not be the place for them but if you want a place with strong foundation in rote letter, number and basic preschool fact learning this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

Page school is a great daycare center. It's very convenient for parents that need somene to take care of their children all day long. If you are looking for a school with high educational standards, qualified administaration and teachers, come in take a tour, and see if this school is what you are looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Wonderful facility, great approach to education, warm & welcoming staff, ... looking forward to starting Fall 2005!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 31% 6%
White 25% 26%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Charles Vaughan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

419 South Robertson Boulevard
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 272-3429

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Gan Chabad School
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT