Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Beverly Hills, CA
Students enrolled: 593

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of two children that have attended Horace Mann over the course of a dozen years, I have seen phenomenal growth from increased API scores over 920, to award winning science and debate programs. The sense of community continuously grows, with parent participation in the PTA over 80% school wide.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
My son and we love this school. Amazing stuff.Awesome principle. Great activities for kids. Education program is very interesting.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
I have two children that attend Horace Mann. One in elementary and another in middle school. The administrators are amazing, responsive to parent inquiries and they go out of their way to find solutions. Overall the elementary teachers are highly motivated and engaged in the curriculum. They participate in the many events, activities and programs that are available. The middle school has a handful of great instructors that overshadow the other instructors that are really performing at the top of their field. There is a tremendous sense of community and commitment from the parents. The PTA is incredibly involved with all aspects of the school. Good participation from students, parents and teachers at events and activities. There are many educational opportunities and activities: Science Olympiad Team, Debate Club, Teacher to student tutoring, Peer to Peer Tutoring, Counselors, Horticulture Club, Garden Club, Chess Club, Dance, Monthly parent and student Educational Nights, Bedtime Stories, Monthly Movie Nights, Restaurant Nights, Halloween Carnival, Musicals, Benefit Concert, Cafe Night, Year End Party and much more!

Horace Mann Elementary School 3

Posted June 22, 2012
- a parent
Horace Mann is a good school, but I don't think it's worth relocating to Beverly Hills just to be in this school district. The school is satisfactory when it comes to academics, but don't expect any bells and whistles here. The music program is good, but languages aren't taught at all until middle school. This totally ignores the fact that younger children learn languages better and rapidly. Kids learn the basics of math and language arts but I can't imagine it's that much better than some of the average/better schools in LA. The principal and teachers in elementary are very nice, but many parents are unhappy with the middle school and find options to leave by that time. Parent involvement is really ridiculous. Most parents at this school are happy to just drop their kids off and do not much else. Unfortunately, this means a few parents do all of the volunteer work needed for the school. Overall, I'm satisfied with where we are with the school at this point, but I'm always on the lookout for more creative outlets for my child.
1 person found this helpful

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
New Principal beloved by parents, staff, and students (charismatic & dedicated to making school a better place). Expect a strong formal PUBLIC education. Kids are learning & happy. Economically, this part of BH district struggles most & works hard to fundraise & educate kids. In 2011-12 many parents unhappy w/ some Middle School Math. Too many families tutoring! Admin. vague about how they are fixing issues & tenure keeps those who urgently need professional development. Student Body diverse, Persians, Israeli s, Koreans, & French; few Latinos or African Americans. Parents friendly, unpretentious, & hard working. Emphasis on ethics. Kids are respectful & learn discipline. Many community service opportunities. Lunchtime Chess Club, Dance Club. Also Science & Gardening Club. Teachers in lower primary grade levels coordinate & follow similar curriculum. Not true in 5th grade or some middle school classes and cause for concern. School needs better curriculum coordinator. Opportunities to volunteer exist with PTA but rarely inside the classrooms. School slated for major construction soon to improve outdated facilities and re-do middle school.


Horace Mann Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and staff are exceptionally involved, caring and attentive.

Horace Mann Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Horace Mann is a wonderful community K-8 school. My grandchildren attend K and 2nd grade. As a three year volunteer I have had a chance to work with the wonderful, caring teachers. There is a real sense of community and giving to others. There are many fundraisers for the less fortunate which are always well supported. Horace Mann deserves to be considered for America's favourite school!

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
this is the most educational school ive seen in my whole life, when i was a little girl i kept on moving and changing schools, i wish i went to horace mann.............


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2007
- a parent
This school has a warm, family like feeling that is lacking in other middle schools in the district. The Principle is accessible and the teachers and the front office top notch. We are very happy with everything except the fact that the school does not offer STAR Program.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann Elementary School
8701 Charleville Boulevard, Beverly Hills, CA  90211
(310) 229-3680
Last modified Horace Mann Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horace Mann Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top