Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
146 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
My child is happy at Good Shepherd and that to me is very important. The students care about each other and are always well-behaved. We look forward to more years in this school.

Good Shepherd Catholic School 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a community member
After touring the school I can say this: it has a great homey atmosphere and environment. It also appears to have terrific and dedicated parent and PTA involvement. What concerns me most is curriculum. It seems to be behind standards. Secondly, would be the high teacher turnover it raises big questions for me. Along with that would be the very low class sizes in the older grades. Last but not least, is the very obvious lack of diversity. I truly wish I could give it five stars but sadly, I can't.


Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
This school is awesome with the new principal. They have an excellent sports program, and every year, the eighth grade puts on a play directed by the eighth grade teacher, Mrs. Widmann. This year, it was The Sound of Music. Also, the music program is extraordinary, and the school got a new tech upgrade, too! Now, every student has a school MacBook pro of their own, and the younger kids get iPads! Excellent School. Bring your children here.

Good Shepherd Catholic School 3

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I am very concerned. On one hand, my child is happy at this school - the children are sweet and sociable. On the flip side - I have to look at the evidence of children who are being tested against other schools - that they are more than a year behind curriculum and critical thinking wise. What are the reasons for this? I know that there is hardly any emphasis on science, critical thinking skills, creative writing or problem solving. The administration needs to look outwards at other schools for standards. Figure out why the country is moving towards common core (for critical thinking skills). And not just inwards. Because standards at the moment do appear comparatively low.

Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Took a tour and fell in love with the school tucked away in this lovely neighborhood....their kids are in some awesome high schools and we can't wait to start in the fall!


Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
We pulled our son out of Wonderland (LAUSD) this year and enrolled him in Good Shepherd. We are so pleased and wish we had done it sooner. The teachers, principal and academics have all been extraordinary, and my son already has many good friends.

Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Love, Love this school! I feel so connected to my child's classwork, staff and principal. Everyone is accessible. My child could not wait to sign up for the minecraft class after school. The athletic director is awesome! My son has been on the football team and the basketball team and has learned so much about being a team player and developed friendships outside of the classroom. His teacher understands him as an individual and works with him to achieve his best academically.

Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Beautiful school! The teachers are so involved and care so much. We have been so happy here.


Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
If you want your children to have a good peer group, you could not pick a better school. I have two kids here and I have to say that every time we take them on a field trip someone comments on how well behaved they are. They are all so kind and thoughtful and the school's emphasis on service probably has a lot to do with it. I really couldn't pick a better environment for my kids. They have made some great friendships here, as have I since the families are wonderful!

Good Shepherd Catholic School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Teachers care, intimate environment, fantastic experience! We are at this gem of a school for the citizenship and morals that are taught and expected from PK-8. Every single child that attends here is so respectful, kind and eager to help...ALL THE TIME!! The academics are top notch, although they come secondary to service. They have small classroom sizes. This fosters a positive, warm environment where teachers and staff are able to focus on the individual students and truly cultivate them as people. The junior high teachers are phenomenal...(other grades too, but it is so apparent in the grade 6-8 students.) The 8th grade teacher has been there for many years and is incredible. The entire eighth grade class got into their 1st choice high schools. The graduating students participate in an annual musical...it's awesome seeing even the boys get involved and play a part! Our kids are so happy here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Good Shepherd Catholic School
148 South Linden Drive, Beverly Hills, CA  90212
(310) 275-8601
Last modified Good Shepherd Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Good Shepherd Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top