Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Temple Emanuel Academy Day School

Private | PK-6 | 50 students

We are best known for our arts-infused curriculum and academic excellence
 
 

 
 

Living in Beverly Hills

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $900,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

Rating this school is easy. The teachers are smart, energetic, patient, and all around wonderful. My daughter runs to school every morning and doesn't want to leave at pick up. She reading well above her grade level, math skills are exceptional, and many many other great achievements. If there were 6 stars, this school would earn it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

Temple Emanuel was a wonderful school a number of years ago, however, with a large change in faculty and staff over the past couple of years, the quality has suffered. Currently, classrooms are left empty and the new head of school comes across as cold and arrogant. Hopefully, they can regain the reputation they once had. In the meantime, if Jewish education is important to you, I recommend looking into one of the other local Jewish schools like we ended up doing - all with a lot more to offer for similar tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

I strongly advise parents to find another school for their children. I do not trust the teachers and staff here and ended up taking my son out of the school. He came home with sand in his eyes, ears, mouth, and hair TWICE. The second time was so bad I had to take him to the emergency room because he swallowed so much sand. The teachers and staff are not attentive to the children and unresponsive to parents' concerns. If a Jewish education is important to you go to Pressman Academy. Great school and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

TEADS is one of the more unique learning environments a person could find for their child. The teachers and staff work in conjunction with Jewish traditions to create an environment which both challenges each child's strengths and nurtures the individual. I cannot imagine my daughter anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

TEADS has provided such a great experience for my kids. Really great hands-on learning and focusing on the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Great School, TEADS & ECC. A wonderful community to join. Great parents, teachers, and class. We love TEADS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

TEADS is definitely a special place that I feel some parents don't realize until their kids go to another school. Having come from several schools before finding TEADS, my daughter and I have finally found a home. My daughter is in a school where she has a voice and is heard, is challenged and never bored, has friends all the way down to Gesher, learning to speak a third language, and has been introduced to new avenues such as chess, iPad photography, Lego robotics, theatre production and more. This is her second year there and I'm amazed how much she has flourished and the confidence she has gained by going to a school with small class sizes and indivialized attention. She goes to school happy every day and there's isn't much more I can ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My two daughters have blossomed at Temple Emanuel Academy Day School. TEADS is a school that nourishes creativity and individuality. The artistic approach towards academics creates an environment where students are having so much fun, they don't even realize that they are learning. My older daughter learned to read and write both English and Hebrew in one school year, and is now reading above her grade level. Both of my girls are excited to get to school in the mornings and hate to leave in the afternoon. The intimate class sizes are ideal for individual instruction. The kids that graduate from TEADS are confident, well spoken and academically ahead of the game. Five Stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I've never been more thrilled or proud to be a parent at TEADS. All 3 of my children are happy, well adjusted and thriving academically. The personal care and individual attention the faculty gives to each of their students is inspiring and, as a parent, incredibly reassuring. They don't just enjoy teaching my children, they pride themselves on being involved on every level of their respective developments. Sending my children to a reform Jewish environment has afforded them the unique and privileged opportunity to be a part of a God loving institution where they've gained an increased appreciation of their culture, history and sense of identity and confidence. My children have learned to be proud of who they are as secular, Jewish children- while having an undeniable respect and appreciation of all other religions and varied backgrounds. As a parent, I have learned, through TEADS, what it is to raise a child to be his best- both academically and with a keen knowledge of how to love yourself and the world around you. What more could you possibly ask of a school. It's like having a third parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I have had three children at TEADS and it is such a fantastic school. The children are respected and celebrated as individuals, the teachers truly get to know them. The teachers are top-notch, the kids are challenged to do so much. Attend an "Author's Night" if you can and see what the students create, even the Kindergarteners! The school experience is deeply enriched with arts, music and spirituality, and a solid foundation of serious learning in math, science and language. My kids also learned Hebrew and ethics. My kids learned to play chess in first grade as part of their math program. TEADS nurtured my kids on so many levels, while also helping them acquire the tools to compete and succeed in the world post-graduation. Also, such a wonderful, down-to-earth, frendly and involved parent community. Exceeding my hopes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My son went to the ECC and TEADS for Pre-School and had a fantastic experience. The teachers are kind and attentive and really get to know each child. It is a warm, loving and nurturing environment where kids can really take risks and thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My school has the kind of experiential learning that keeps my second grader interested and bringing his excitement and questions home. The friendships formed by classmates and parents are special and long-lasting. My second son, now in high-school still sees his seven years at TEADS as a touchstone of his life and many of the skills he gained at TEADS are providing great returns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Temple Emanuel Day School ( TEADS) was my dream school to send our 3 daughters after we entered their ECC. The day school is the most wonderful, nurturing and academically as well as socially fulfilling place I could imagine sending my children to. Everyone knows everyone and the staff is award-winning and absolutely fantastic. The small class sizes and highly qualified teachers make this gem of a school the perfect place. We are so happy and excited to be able to send our children to a Jewish private school and are lucky enough to qualify for financial help on top of it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Small class sizes and individualized teaching makes this school special; my kids have really enjoyed their experience at TEADS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

If you are looking for an intimate environment for you and your children to connect with an inspiring Jewish community that is loving, kind and extraordinary you will find it at TEADS. Academic excellence and individualized learning are a priority. The best choice we could have made for our child's education. The parents work together with the 1st class administrative and teaching staff to build confidence in our children academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

TEADS is one of the best kept "great school" secrets in LA! It's a small "family" environment, catering to really smart, creative, "out of the box" kids, many of whom are gifted. Everyone knows your kids' name, no one gets lost in the shuffle, teachers are on the case 24/7, administrators doors are always open and parents voices are not only heard, they're essential. Academically, the kids are met wherever they are and challenged to go further. The curriculum is personally tailored to each child's unique challenges and talents. The Jewish education is joyful, liberal and inclusive of everyone. Our biggest challenge is getting our kindergartener to come home at the end of the day. We adore this place and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Best words to describe TEADS: Community, warm, enriching, differentiated learning, out-of-the-box thinkers, joyous, creative, passionate... I have a second grader and a kindergartener who love school so much, when I pick them up, they often beg me to let them stay in after day because they don't want to leave. Both kids are excelling academically & socially. Lots of friends/playdates. Kindergartener reads and does math at a 2nd/3rd grade level. 2nd grader reads at a 5th grade level and does math at a 3rd grade level. I find both their teachers are always very responsive to my concerns/feedback as well as my children's needs. Neither has ever gotten defensive with me. Both teachers have made sure that my kids are learning the basics for their grades while also pushing them ahead with more advanced work. 2nd grade teacher even gave my daughter "creative thinker" assignments (ie list ALL the ways you can use a pencil) to do on her own time. Administration always offers to have private meetings with me and the teacher whenever I have a question or concern. I hear this from many other parents so I'm know I'm not the only one appreciating their personalized approach. We're very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

One word sums up this school - WOW. The academics are stellar (thanks to the award-winning teachers who actually have a passion for teaching), and just as important, this school is teaching our kids how to be good citizens through strong moral and ethical values that will carry them throughout life. My daughter was the new kid in class, and yet she was embraced with open arms by her classmates and all the staff on her first day. Also, it's a really tight knit community - every single staff member knows each kid and vice versa. You get the sense that everyone is looking out for your kid, no matter what. We are very lucky to have found this gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

We have had a wonderful experience at TEADS. Both of my children are happy and well rounded. All of the teachers are caring and meet my children's needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2012

This is a wonderful school, perhaps the best kept secret. Great teacher, loving atmosphere, good academics, and great value system. They really care about every single child, not in words but in action. I feel very lucky to have found them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 26%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Hebrew
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth Certificate of Recognition (2010)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Milken Family Foundation Jewish Educator Award (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Mixed
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sandra Sternig Babcock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 310-409-2942
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Fax number
  • (310) 859-0778

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Hebrew
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Mixed
  • Drama club
  • Puppet
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Accredited by The Western Association of Schools and Colleges and The Bureau of Jewish Education. We are also members of The Educational Records Bureau, Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, Partners for Excellent in Jewish Education, AviChai Foundation, and PARDeS.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Westside Jewish Community Center
Institute of Jewish Education

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$16000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Milken Middle School
Archer School for Girls
Oakwood School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8844 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 288-3737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maimonides Academy
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT