Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Big Bear Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Big Bear Lake

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $209,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2013

As a previous BBMS student I do feel the need to inform parents intending to send their children to this school of a few things. Yes I did feel the staff was genuinely looking after the best interest of the students, but the staff can only do so much. Especially for students who are new to the district, or for those of us who were more interested in the arts than sports or student government, the students at this school can be unbelievably cruel. I and all of my friends, and our siblings after us, experienced first hand the dark side of the clique-run social system, as well as the strong community biases held against those youth who are more eccentric. Since my graduation in '09, the administration has only worsened, making drastic cuts to the arts, music, and foreign language programs. I loved my teachers in this district, and the few friends I managed to make are lifelong, but these things do not make an education. My experience at Big Bear Middle School was nothing short of damaging, and the district policies are only getting worse.


Posted August 3, 2010

The school has a serious bullying problem that needs to be investigated by the school board. Unfortunately their opinion is boys will be boys, while children are being taken to the hospital. This is not a good school, and these other reviews are probably put there by the teachers themselves.


Posted September 19, 2009

My children were in the Walnut school district and it was one of the highest. I see the homework that they get here and it does not compare at all to what they were learning. I'am not very happy with that. The teachers are very nice as is the staff at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Great school, great principal, great non teaching staff. These people REALLY care about their students. They hit 800 API on the most recent STAR test, no surprise. If your child needs help, they offer Intervention AND support during the day. Way to go Principal Chamberlin - you are running a tight, sharp ship!!!! We will miss BBMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

The best most funest most awsome school. Gratest teachers ever to wlalk the earth and the best schol to ever be planted on earth. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

This is my first experience with middle school. I was very apprehensive about sending my child here. But it has been a fantastic experience. The teachers have been very helpful and the extra curricular activites well organized. The curriculum could be more developed and comprehensive. It would be nice if they added more outside projects which would encourage community/parent involvement. Other than that I have been very pleased with the administration, teachers, support staff and the other students. I feel fortunate that my child attends BBMS>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I have been a parent in the 'best' of LAUSD over the last 16 years and am new to the area. I am more than impressed with BB MS. I have extensive compliments to many areas of the academics and the overall programs, teachers, admin, environment, etc., and am continuously impressed on a regular basis as weeks go by. This is a wonderful environment overall for the stress filled 'MS years'. I now have my 6th child in MS and can not rave enough about this school; only wish I known about it a very, very long time ago. The small community has exceptional teachers, admin support to extend the children a certainly, very well kept secret of a remarkable MS experience for the children and parents alike. I have no hesitation in extending my absolute support of BB MS to anyone. Kudos A+!(and thank you BB from our family!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I was very concerned about BBMS, after talking to some parents who had opted for home schooling. There was talk of mean teachers, mean kids, I was really worried. My daughter started in September, and is very happy with her classes and teachers. This was such a relief for me! I know there are problems at every school, but so far, we have had none. My only suggestion for the school would be more after school activities, otherwise, so far, so good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2004

My daughter attended the middle school many years ago. She is now in her second year of college and doing great. I thank this school for the oppurtunity that was given to us to beable to communicate with each other. Today, I feel that because of the parent/student conferences, it opened up our relationship with each other so that now she feels she can come to me and tell me anything she needs to, weather it be good or bad. Our relationship today is wonderful and I give the credit to this school and the facilty for making that possible. Its not easy today for the kids or the parents and with good help from the schools it makes it that much more possible for you to help your child to suceed in todays world.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

819

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

819

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
32%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
40%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females66%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students55%
Females55%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students49%
Females42%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females61%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students40%
Females34%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students48%
Females41%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students71%
Females66%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 26%
Hispanic 30% 52%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:47 am
School end time
  • 1:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dena Arbaugh
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (909) 866-5679

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41275 Big Bear Boulevard
Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Phone: (909) 866-4634

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Big Bear Elementary School
Big Bear Lake, CA


Big Bear Christian School
Big Bear Lake, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT