Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Shore Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
This is my sons last year here as he is in 6th grade. We will miss it dearly.

North Shore Elementary School 1

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
Principal plays to clique favorites. Small town groupies rule. Bathrooms are filthy routinely. PE classes are rare. Core curriculum is basic emphasizing rote learning. Socialization dictated by the most rude children. Teachers do not engage with students one on one. My child was given a failing grade. She took the STAR test and scored 85 - 100% in the same subject they were failing her at.


North Shore Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are truly awesome and the admin. staff are patient and helpful every day.

North Shore Elementary School 5

Posted December 27, 2008
- a parent
I am mostly impressed by the dedication and hard work of all the teachers. They take their work very seriously and work on their off times more than other teachers.

North Shore Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2007
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Many extra programs for the kids. There are lots of music programs, plays, talent show, etc. Each teacher my children have had has been really receptive to talking with me about my kids and has put in great effort to teach my kids. The teachers are quality people in a good working environment. The more you involve yourself at the school, the more knowledgeable you will be as a parent. North Shore welcomes and encourages parental involvement. My kids love their school and I am extremely pleased with it, as is my husband.


North Shore Elementary School 4

Posted June 05, 2007
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! They offer a large amount of activities in the arts areas including a wonderful music program (strings and choruses!) The teachers and support staff go over and above to insure that all students succeed. Parent involvment is greatly encouraged though not many participate. The principal is welcoming, encouraging, and a good disciplinary guy. The location is awesome, right next to the lake! Much of the curriculum is connected to the history of Big Bear and the surrounding area, which is a wonderful experience for the kids. Overall, it is a wonderful school and highly regarded in this district.

North Shore Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
I do not like this school. Academically it is so so. Teachers are so so. There are some good ones mixed in though. Principal does not follow through with teacher issues. No support for unique family situations. Overall I give them one star.

North Shore Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
Overall, I like this school. The quality of the academic programs is under where I believe it should be, but I believe that is due more to parental involvement than the school's lack of trying. I do feel that the children are safe at the school and that most of the staff tries very hard to help the children excell.


North Shore Elementary School 4

Posted May 17, 2004
- a parent
My two children have been here two years, from 1-2 and from 3-4. I rate this school above LA county, and am unsure why its rating is so low. The teachers are great, we are allowed to help in class any time we want, both are kids are straight A's and are very happy there, its tough to leave the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Shore Elementary School
765 North Stanfield Cutoff, Big Bear Lake, CA  92315-1887
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (909) 866-7501
Last modified North Shore Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top