Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Vista Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 502 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

We are new to this school with our oldest starting Kindergarten. As first time elementary school parents I have to admit I was nervous. Mrs. Emery and her staff have been amazing the communication between the teachers and the parents is great. Our son loves school and every day when we ask how is day was, the response is always, "Awesome." It is wonderful to have a school with teachers that you and your child love. Looking forward to all our years with Valley Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

I'm a 6th grader here in Valley Vista. I came here in 1st grade to 4th. I moved to Japan because I'm a military child, and came back in 6th grade. I honestly think its a great school. The teachers are great. They teach us things we need to know. We learn to be responsible,respectful, and safe. We also have fun. It would be nice if we had some clubs after school. Also more time for fun classes such as art,PE,music,language class, ect.


Posted September 8, 2011

This is my daughters first year at this school. My daughter is in Ms.Casares class. I have nothing but good things to say about this excellent teacher. My daughter has been learning a lot in her class. Overall she could not have had a better teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

This was my sons first year at valley vista going into the first grade now he will be going into second grade! For his first grade teacher he had Mrs. Casares she is an amazing teacher, she has taught him so many things it's unbelieveable! I would recommend her if your child will be attending the first grade for 2011-2012 school yr you will not be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I am a STUDENT at Valley Vista, in my sixth grade year. K-4th grade was everything I could have hoped for; good teaching, excellent, professional teachers, and an utterly fantastic principal. However, in fifth grade, I started a new year with a new principal. The teachers and academic quality have stayed the same(notable in every aspect), however, the leadership of the new principal? Disasterous. She's less involved, much less nuturing, nothing like our old one. I feel at home at Valley Vista, I don't want to be anything but a viking, but I can't help but feel like I'm talking to a a stranger in our new principal's prescence. (sorry for grammar mistakes, bad keyboard)


Posted May 17, 2011

They do not pay attention to your child's work or study habis...even if your child cannot spell...somehow your child passes with flying colors...total injustice to your child's future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

My daughter is in Mrs Phelps Kindergarten class and she loves it, I have nothing but good things to say about the principle and the staff at Valley Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Be aware of your child's teacher. My daughter is eight years old, and have difficulties with the principal and two teachers. Take the initiative and be a active parent in this school with your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My child will be starting second grade at Valley Vista next year. The teachers and staff have made my family feel welcome at all school events. My daughter has received an excellent education beginning with Mrs. Phelps in Kindergarten. Even though Ms. McKearney is moving on to another school site, I know that I can trust the teachers to continue to make this school a second home for my daughter. Her academic, emotional, and physical needs are well met at Valley Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

My children started going to this school last year. I use to have my children in private school and was worried about the transition and larger class size. All of the staff and teachers are great. The principle stands outside when school is out to be available to parents. Although the class size is larger, teachers communicate actively with parents which made the transition easier on the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Important note - it slipped my mind that I had written a negative review - I did not end up taking my child out of Valley Vista. Mrs. McKearney stepped in and arranged my child s agenda accordingly and it shows my son s overall testing scores continue to improve and Mrs. McKearney continues to work with him to improve his work habits. It is most comforting to know my son is not being just pushed through but rather getting much-needed individual attention on top of the principal s already busy schedule. This school cares greatly about our child s overall rating scores, which is most important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

Unfortunately, no matter how hard I try to communicate with the school and teacher this year, I get no feedback whatsoever. This school continues to give grades of 2 or 3, just to push the child through the grade and move on. It is a shame our children are subjected to this and please, keep very close touch with what and if, your children are actually learning at all and homeschool them on top of this school if you want a chance for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

Awesome teacher for 5th is mrs.Mistry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

My son had to be held back so we transfered him to Valley Vista. It was the best choice for him. The teachers are extreemly dedicated and the school is a place which nutures student creativity. My son is doing great! Keeping good contact with the teacher and being invoved in school activities inspires your children to excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I have a child currently enrolled at Valley Vista and I have been satisfied with the dedication the teachers have for the children. My child is experiencing a difficult time with language arts and there were two teachers in particular who addressed me with immediate concern about my child. We are currently working with my child as an individual, to become a more proficient student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I have 3 children that are now in their 5th year at Valley Vista. My family couldn't be happier. The teachers have been & remain very involved with my children's academic & personal success, even as they have moved to the next grade level. My FAMILY's experience with the teachers, principal and the administrative staff at the school has been great. The school has a very active PTO what works in conjunction with the staff & parents to bring music, art, sports, science, reading and other fun programs/activities into the school for the students. Due to some re-zoning, we are currently out of this school's zone. My family choose not to move because we are all very happy where we are and would not think of leaving Valley Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My two boys attended there last year and its their first time attending a public school and this was a huge dissapointment, my kids came out without any knowledge and bad habits, I have never been so discouraged before my kids learned nothing, the teachers were not involved as I have previously experienced, I am transfering them out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

My child has been attending since 2001. I was puzzled by previous bad reviews. I've never seen a more hands on and involved Principal in my life. I believe she cares deeply for the children and wants only the best for them. I do wish this school had an everyday music & art program. A foreign language class would be nice too. Also an everyday PE class. The level of parent involvement could be better. The PTO board has done a fantastic job, but they could use more help. Finally, the teachers at Valley Vista are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

We have been very happy with the staff and instruction at Valley Vista. I am disappointed that the school district does not offer extracurricular afterschool activities; they do at most of the schools in the district! Valley Vista School and parents have asked for it. The school hands out a packet of info in September to all parents and weekly newsletters and flyers to the students. It is the parents responsiblity to read those. Great job Valley Vista!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Principal does the bare minimum. Not any organization at the school meetings and dances--kids running wild, screaming, outside and inside. Not very many extra things for the kids, just the requirements.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

833

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

833

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females52%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state43%

Math

All Students69%
Females65%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females57%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females86%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner78%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females67%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%

Math

All Students83%
Females86%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females68%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females63%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students61%
Females65%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females63%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%

Math

All Students67%
Females63%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 51%
Asian 15% 11%
White 11% 27%
Black 5% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carmen Emery
Fax number
  • (619) 479-7024

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3724 Valley Vista Way
Bonita, CA 91902
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 479-7171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bonita Learning Academy
Chula Vista, CA


Lee Elementary School
San Diego, CA




St. Michael Academy
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT