Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonsall Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

I have a student in kindergarten and a 5th grader here. Both love their teachers and are enjoying themselves at the school. My one complaint is that they do have a lot more homework than we did when we were students (ages ago) but that's a reflection of changing social morays rather than school policy. All together, I think Bonsall is a 10 school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My child's school is really Awesome! She loves her teachers and the staff. The teachers have it together and the music program is great too. We are lucky to have music in our school. Thank you to all that help make this school a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Wonderful teachers who care greatly about the children in their class. Principal and VP do an awesome job. Bullying is not accepted and the principal and VP take care of it right away. Front office runs super smoothly and I feel my children are extremely save at this school. My kids thrive in their class and both are grate A students. PTA is wonderful and improved tremendous. So glad my children attend Bonsall Elementary School. Couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Our child is smart off the charts. Teacher calling us at night to follow up. Day care staff is stellar. Office staff is nice and Principal is awesome. Nurse could use a little more focus, really do not need to hear about the negative aspects of the day every time I come in to attend to my child. PTA is horrible to no end. Halloween function ran out of tickets for game play within the first hour! Pancake breakfast runs out of Pancakes an hour before it is over! PTA is the only reason I do not leave 5 stars. School has amazing dynamics set for learning and always goes out of its way to boost the child both academically and physically. I spend many days a week with our child in class and see what a work load these teachers have as well as a lack of budget to support their needs. I find the hand full of teacher I have had the pleasure to work with always positive and reinforcing moral codes. Great school and great location with unfortunate parking design. Just get there early because no one else does! GO BEARS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

Bonsall Elementary is an amazing school. Our daughter started Kindergarten this year and absolultely loves it. All of the teachers and other parents are extremely friendly and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

We are so lucky to have an incredible school like Bonsall Elementary in our community. I love everything about the school, from the teachers, the staff, the parent involvement, the PTA and the students. Bonsall Elementary is only 3 years old, which is absolutely wonderful that our kids get to attend a new, clean and extremely safe school. In addition, the after school care is top notch and affordable. My kids are so happy here-and so am I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

First of all we have a TOP Notch staff! Our teachers CARE about our kids, their education, our school and our community! Our school prides itself on kids with great character and respect for others. We want more for our kids at Bonsall! The parents are AWESOME and volunteer their time to make our school a HAPPY, FUN and SAFE place to learn! Go Bonsall Bears!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Bonsall is a great school! We are very lucky to have people who really care about the kids...from the educators to the parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Although it is a beautiful, new campus, the staff at this school seem to lack both heart and motivation for encouraging students. There is a rush to complete work and an unhealthy focus on scoring high on tests, rather than a depth of understanding. With little to no art, and no music program that we have seen, there seems to be a void in creativity. As for communication from classroom or admin. to parent, it is minimal, at best. We have had our children in lower rated schools, and they received more attention and there was better communication. Also agree with other reviews about the borderline office staff, who generally treat the parent in a condescending manner. Yes, traffic is a nightmare, but as suggested, get there early to avoid the long lines. Good luck, because as a parent, you will have to do much instruction for your child to ensure
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

The teachers are excellent. My children are learning so much each day. Along w/ academics, they're also learning to respect others which I appreciate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The school has teachers and parents that are devoted to the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

The teachers are very proactive and caring regarding my childs education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I feel our school has the best teachers & staff and the children are learning sooooo much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I love Bonsall Elementary School for many reasons. It is a newly rebuilt campus and is beautiful. There are some amazing teachers there who I count as friends. There is a very active and involved Education Foundation and PTA creating great programs that make a difference in our children's lives. We also have a wonderful superintendent and business manager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Great teachers! Well run. Brand new campus. High test scores. Good behavior with the Character Counts system set up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers really take an interest in the children and work hard on a daily basis to provide the best and most comprehensive education possible. The administration is diligent with finding solutions in difficult economic times and is constantly thinking outside the box for Bonsall Elementary. We have a great school and our kids are happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers are caring and the parents are very pro-active. Great administrators as well. Beautiful campus.


Posted November 4, 2009

Best teachers, great kids, pro-active parents, dedicated volunteers, awesome PTA and Bonsall Foundation. Hard working administration and superintendent. I dare you to find another elementary school that can compare!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I love Bonsall Elementary for so many reasons. We are a small town school with such diversity and focus on education. Our teachers are a family and they continue to grow and learn so that our children can do the same! Our staff provides our children with the best education and no child goes without! We have great parent support in the classrooms as well as at every event we have! Our teachers and parents work well together to provide our children with everything they need! I cannot say how much Bonsall has done for our family and all the families in our community! Our teachers take the time to 'notice' our children and work with them in a very specific way! They always meet the needs both educationally and personally , of all our children. We have a great PTA, great Foundation, and one of the best Districts around. Our entire school community works together to ensure the best we can ! We love our school and if you ask any child there, they would say the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I love the close knit community that supports our school and how well our school listens to our needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

897

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

897

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females82%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females89%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females68%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females79%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females71%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Math

All Students80%
Females79%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability41%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females82%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Math

All Students87%
Females89%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state80%

Science

All Students77%
Females81%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 33%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
English language learners 17%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31555 Old River Road
Bonsall, CA 92003
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 631-5205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Academia De Talar
Bonsall, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT