Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Brea, CA
Students enrolled: 397
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Olinda Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
There is a lot of favoritism and bias. The principal, K. KENNEDY, is horrible. She has offended me, other parents, and children. This principal is not a good leader and should be removed. I know many parents that cannot communicate with her. The teachers lack quality. Every teacher and office administration at this school should be removed. This school needs to be reorganized starting from the top. It is sad when the parents send primary students to outside tutors, reading clubs, mathnazium, and so forth because they know this school does not teach the child. I have taken my children out and placed them elsewhere. My children have learned a lot more and like the new school much better (public school). When you see problems at this school call the superintendent ( although he sits in his office and won't do anything), Skip Roland. Call the media, call the state of California. ..do whatever but let your concerns be heard. Think again before enrolling your child here. Also, if you do enroll your child make sure you observe what is really happening and how things are handled. Be of luck!

Olinda Elementary School 3

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
Our children attended this school for several years, one child K-6. With that being said, there has been a big disappointing change in the vibe at this school since the campus moved from the nice simple tranquil location on Lilac Lane, and shifted to the large expensive state of the art location next to the Brea Sports Park. The vibe has shifted from a nurturing educational gem to a big business. Don't be fooled there is an old school club here among these teachers, they stick together and lobby parents to address the district on their behalf. Many of them attended Brea schools as youngsters themselves and are part of the "Brea Bubble Mentality" - the Brea Way or the highway mode of thinking. We have been blessed with a large family and our younger children are no longer attending Brea schools. It has been the smartest choice in the world for our family. If you are choosing an Elementary school in the city of Brea you will receive somewhat of a quality education... however, one that contains a lot of sticky red tape and politics along the journey. The junior high is deplorable and the high school is like a prison of pompous arrogant adults who couldn't make it in the private sector


Olinda Elementary School 3

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is okay! I've been actively involved with this school, however I have to say there's favoritism and biased among some of the teachers towards parents who volunteer or whom the teacher knows. While there are a number of wonderful teachers, but others existed at the school should not be teaching. For example, he/she does not help kids achieve personal growth nor challenge them as well as understand the learning styles of children. This school is very competitive on API scores among districts and it's obvious! The reason they have a high score is because parents hired tutors, or are affiliated with some type of after school academic enrichment program or club. I feel even I can do a their better job than some of these teachers and I've done so with my kids. No thanks to them! The school could improve with hiring high qualified staff and administrators to lead the path and understand more about multicultural diversity.

Olinda Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
This principal, Kelly Kennedy, needs to be removed and go back into the classroom because she is out of touch with learning styles, diversity, and multicultural students. I have been please with many of the teachers except for a couple that should not be teaching. There is a lot of favoritism and biased if you do not live in the million dollar homes. If you live in any apartments or are thought to be a single parent, your child is treated differently. The only reason why the test scores are high is because the parents pay for tutors and outside learning clubs or associations. The teachers that are exceptional include: Mrs. Dixon, Mrs Walsh, Mrs Heard, Mrs. Hubbard, Mrs. Wellen, Mrs. Howland, Mrs. Maddock, and Mr. Kessell. There are a few teachers that are new so I cannot rate them and I have no exposure to. Also, I do not believe the majority of these teachers could teach at schools such as Laurel, Aerovista, or Country Hills Elementary School. Visit the classrooms and communicate often. This school could do much better with a highly qualified staff and administrator leading the way. The teachers named rate as 4 or 5 stars on teacher quality.

Olinda Elementary School 3

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
it is a good school has great programs but this year they had combine classrooms and this year I seen a lot of struggling in classrooms in my son's classroom were 7 kids for retention and all bilingual. some great teacher but the principal not the best, the school has had better ones. after all it is ok but not like last years.


Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2011
- a community member
I attended Olinda from 1970 - 1978 and credit my success in life to my early education. I still live just up the street and have witnessed decades of excellence & awards coming out of Olinda Elementary.

Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
Olinda Elementary is a great school! I have two children attending the school and they have so much fun while learning a lot at the school. It is a small school and all teachers know all students. The teachers really care for the students educational and social developments. The parents have strong involvements to various school activities and maintain open communications with the teachers. The principal, Mrs. Kennedy, is exceptional in creating and maintaining such great school environments. She is very approachable, and you can always find her at the gate of the school greeting school children on the first name basis at the start of a school day. She often takes up on a broom and sweeps the school ground, and starts a conversation with parents to discuss about the events going on at the school and children s progresses. We feel fortunate and privileged to have our children attend the school, and would like to say many thanks to the teachers and the principal at the school.

Olinda Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 28, 2009
- a parent
Olinda is fantastic. The principal knows every student and does her best to put them in the classroom that is best for them. I think the principal is terrific!!! She knows how to motivate and encourage the kids to do their best.The teachers really care. The parents are nice and low key. Great opportunities for PTO involvement. Very welcoming school.


Olinda Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2008
- a parent
Olinda is a wonderful school with excellent teachers. It continues to be a positive experience for our kids. The principal is fantastic too!

Olinda Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olinda Elementary School
3145 E. Birch Street, Brea, CA  92821
(714) 528-7475
Last modified Olinda Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Olinda Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top