Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Of Brea Inc.

Private | K-1 | 23 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brea

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $438,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2013

I graduated from this school many years ago and thought that it was a great opportunity to get real world experience. It sounds weird, but I really think that I learned a lot from the "montessori way" which includes not carrying more things than you can handle and just enjoying sensory experiences. But overall I felt that the diverse environment of teachers and students really helped form me and get me to college.


Posted May 16, 2012

I have used this website to look for a lot of schools along with private school reviews. I saw a lot of great reviews here and one negative so was a little nervous but I think that must be some rogue parent or something because this school was amazing. The staff is wonderful and the school feels truly like a community. But of course, you should check it out for yourself. They encourage you to drop you child off for a day to see if he or she fits in which no one else allowed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

My child has been at Montessori of Brea for about a year and 2 months. We both have had a great experience with them. I found them online when we moved to the area and really loved the great reviews. However, still skeptical, I checked them out in person. When I met with the staff and teachers I realized it was a perfect match for me. It isn't some FANCY private school where they treat you like a client, instead its like a family environment and the teachers and staff work with the parents and students for the best possible outcome for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

my son attended this school from 2003 to 2005 until I pulled him. The academics were wonderful but the staff at this school during this time was not. I would not recommend this school to anyone but I would recommend the Montessori Method of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I walked into the school last week and noticed the children were in groups of two s and three s intrigued by all sorts of learning toys, guided by their wonderful teachers. There was that low hum of conversation that you associate with a very good classroom. The Administrator was also very helpful and caring. It showed by the interactions she had with her staff and other parents. I recommend this school and believe that the nurturing environment is beneficial for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Great School with a good staff. They have a great summer program and keep increasing their extra-curricular offerings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Montessori of Brea is a wonderful school. I sent two of my children here over the past 5 years after hearing great things about the new administrator. The teachers are diverse, the classrooms have a wonderful ratio, and the area is great. I did have some reservations about the accents transferring over, but the students are better exposed to different cultures by learning from a diverse group of teachers who are very well experienced. A+ School! :) I do agree that they could use some more extra curricular activities, but they are in line if not better than other schols, especially for summer programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2007

This is an excellent school that places a strong emphasis on academics. (My son began attending this school three years ago at the age of three. He has read fluently since the age of four and is doing third grade work. This is largely due to the structure and high expectations of the school.) The school also reinforces the importance of respectful and responsible behavior. The small size of the elementary classroom allows for special attention to each child. Likewise, the individual class assignments and homework allows for each child to work according to his/her ability. The school's greatest disadvantage is that there are no extracurricular activities provided. These needs must be met elsewhere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2006

My 3-year old has been going to this school since she was 2. I am impressed with the school's academic offering and amazed at what my child has learned in a year. Her teachers show genuine concern and pride for her development and learning. I find the academic program more advanced than the other Montessori and private schools I've checked out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

This school is really great. I am a graduate from it, and I know. I really learned a lot.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2005

I have concerns about the staff at this school. Although my child has gained knowledge and the academic achievements gained are above my child's age equivalency, I am actively seeking to place my child at a different Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2003

A very good school for academics. As far as sports or extracurricular activities the opportunities are limited. You can enroll in music, dance, or gymnastics for an additional fee. Swim lessons are offered during the summer for an additional fee also. Spanish is taught on a weekly basis. Small class size means greater attention is given to an individual. Test scores for my childs Sat-9 were at one grade to three grades above my childs actual grade level. Faculty genuinely care about the success of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 52%
Two or more races 7% 3%
White 4% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Sri lankan, Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Sri lankan, Vietnamese
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nasreen Ali
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
Fax number
  • (562) 809-2050

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Sri lankan, Vietnamese
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Mulberry Avenue
Brea, CA 92821
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 529-0321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT