Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Brentwood, CA
Students enrolled: 486

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Independence High School 5

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. It is an amazing option for high school students. My daughter starting at this school at the end of her 9th grade year and it was the best thing that could have happened to our family. The staff is loving, caring and best of all devoted to the students. I feel like we hit the education lottery and with student to teacher ratios climbing with each passing year in public schools, the small student ratios in each class is fantastic!! No longer is it just a school where troubled students are sent. They offer a dynamic program to the students, as parents we may only get in a private school, but even better. We can really see where our tax dollars are really going, to the students. If this school is ever an option for your child, run not walk to enrollment. Good Luck!!!!!!

Independence High School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a community member
The teachers are great at this school. They truly are about each young adult being successful. Failure is not an option. Encouragement and reinforcement is a priority with this school.


Independence High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
They help struggling teens,single moms etc. get their diplomas !!!!

Independence High School 5

Posted August 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Independence High School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a student
I used to attend this school, though i did it more for the ability to intern while attending high school then for any other reasons related to my learning, and i can definitely say this school was a great opportunity. Less then 6 years later and i'm working at a fortune 40 company as a highly paid engineer with a real career. Just wanted to make the point that this school can be great for students who normally excell at school but might be better benefited from the individual attention and greater freedom this program provides.


Independence High School 5

Posted May 03, 2007
- a parent
I took my son out of high school 'Brentwood' in 11th grade in dec. 2006. There discipline is way to hard on student when they have a hard time learning and teacher are not caring at all. Made my student hate school and had no self esteem. He's in independence high and love's it and self esteem went up attitude is wonderful plus he is working that the other school would not let him have a work permit. Teachers are caring and also get one-on-one attention if needed. They get the same education as a regular high school does, but they do it at home. They don't let student get away from doing there work or there work permit is pulled. They are on top of thing and communication with parents is excellent. If your student interested in independent study please let them go. School is different, but great school and staff.

Independence High School 5

Posted January 29, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Independence High School 5

Posted February 11, 2005
- a student
Independence High School is a very different school in the district. Teachers there actually care about there students. The one-on-one attention is providing the students the attention and the attitude to succeed.


Independence High School 4

Posted September 23, 2003
- a community member
Independence is a great school for students who feel that they do not fit in with the district comprehensive high schools. Students feel welcome joining the school, the teachers are flexible with assignments. Overall this school is one of the best schools in the district. I would recomend all students interested in Independent Study to come to Independence.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independence High School
929 Second Street, Brentwood, CA  94513
(925) 634-2589
Last modified Independence High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independence High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top