Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Brentwood, CA
Students enrolled: 2,200
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Heritage High School 2

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Heritage is a beautiful school that could pass for a JC. Unfortunately, the quality of the education is lacking. Many teachers are there just for a paycheck and are on their phones or Facebook while they handout busy work in class for students. They will tell the kids they don't care if they are on their phones and don't correct bad behavior and disruption I feel because of no support from the administration and the uninvolved parents. My child showed me a snap chat story that was done during school of kids doing vodka shots IN CLASS. A LARGE number of students show up stoned to class... Yes, these could be problems at any school but Liberty Union would have you believe their schools are fabulous. They are FAILING!! I moved my child to a private school in walnut creek and the 3.81 that was easily received at Heritage dropped to a 3.16!!! Spanish had to be dropped because of lack of knowledge, (received an A at Heritage) and was behind in every subject. If you want good preparation,for college, maturity, involved teachers, less politics, PLEASE move your child to a different school. I finally got smart after my child was missing 3 books after school had been in session 6 weeks!! And yes I went to her counselor (who is dressed worse than any inappropriate outfit a student could wear), the vice principal and the school district. Don't you know... "Common core" was to blame for the lack of preparedness the school had for their students. But don't worry, the athletic department has a LARGE budget to work with....

Heritage High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
My child barely had any for two years. Had a 3.81 GPA. They don't ever seem to assign more than a few problemsassign


Heritage High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
They make students strive to be average. They think by developing a leadership program that is completely sub par to Freedom HS that the students are becoming leaders. Many of these students have terrible reputations and aren't anything kids should be looking up to.... Remember when leadership was truly a SMALL very examined few...maybe you should go back to that and let them truly lead by example

Heritage High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Many students here are rude, foul mouthed, spoiled, self-centered individuals. Their parents are their "friends" and for the most part act like they are in high school themselves.

Heritage High School 1

Posted February 01, 2015
- a student
Do not let the school's looks tempt you. This school has literally some of the worst teachers. Most teachers do not teach, they play on their phone while assigning busy work. The PE teachers make the students preform acts some would consider abusive. Teachers often set up students to fail. Even AP classes, like Human Geography, are set up to do repetitive busy work that causes students too "learn less more" and assign excessively large BS projects that will not help the student learn the material nor pass the AP test. While these may be common issues at other schools, they are pervading here.


Heritage High School 2

Posted September 02, 2014
- a student
More than half of the teachers at this school barley know how to teach or could care less about the grades of the students. Heritage used to be a fun and spirited school, however each year it gets worse. The kids are stuck up and if you aren't in a 'clique' you're looked upon as a no body. Maybe if kids would learn to be kind to everyone no matter who they are we would't have a problem. However the parents and children think they're better than everyone not saying this goes to all because this deffinatley doesn't..however many are like this. If you want to send your child to a school where everyone is a part of the school and the experience is like a big family, don't choose HHS.

Heritage High School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a community member
As a senior at Heritage I must say that the experience has been amazing. The teachers are very helpful and go out of their way for each student, the activities are really enjoyable, the campus is gorgeous and the spirit is like no other. The teachers and the staff are genuine and they really want the students to achieve the highest level of education possible. The school offers many opportunities with career building such as the academies you can take to help decide what you will do with your future. I have been to other high schools before and none of them are as beautiful and clean as well as having friendly staff and students. The students are really like a big family, we all come together and if is such a great way to enjoy the four years spent here. Forever proud to call myself a Patriot!

Heritage High School 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
A great school! The principal is present and helps all students learn. The majority of my son's teachers are helpful and set high expectations for all students. I feel he is in a safe learning environment. The curriculum is rigorous. The school offers many elective classes so that he may express himself and have fun learning. Many parents who have time to spend helping at the school.


Heritage High School 2

Posted May 13, 2013
- a student
Being a student here, and not knowing any other school other than the Heritage schools, it's hard to judge. I will tell you now, if you are a parent, you may not want to send your kid off here. The students are very spoiled, and the teachers will give you packets all the time. Some teachers will actually teach, but it seems as if the students here are pressured into getting good grades, and not getting a "Husky Help wristband". The teachers do not inspire, or seem to care. We are given busy work, and we usually use computers. Your tax money is not spent wisely at this school. I do have some good teachers, however. But students here are pampered, and we are also thought of as children. I want a teacher to be serious about their job, who won't be disappointing if I get a bad grade. They'd teach differently if we fail a test, and not point fingers at us. Other than teachers trying to explain things on a college level, they should simply explain it in a way we can all understand, inspire us, make it simple, and celebrate good grades. This school is trying, but a good school is not made up of "good" students, but good teachers. These teachers don't pass as "good".

Heritage High School 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a student
This schools teachers are the laziest ever, they dont care about you, most of them care for their paycheck, the principal is awesome

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage High School
101 American Avenue, Brentwood, CA  94513
(925) 634-0037
Last modified Heritage High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Heritage High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top