« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Brentwood, CA
Students enrolled: 696
Before care: No
After care: Yes

Contact this school

601 Grant Street
Brentwood, CA 94513

School website
(925) 513-6420
(925) 240-5382
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Marsh Creek Elementary School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
September 22, 2014
I am very disheartened to leave a bad review of Marsh Creek Elementary. After four years and sending two kids here I can only say good things about three faculty members. Most of the teachers we have been in contact with as well as the principal are concerned mainly with saving the school from lawsuits rather than actually helping a special needs child. We have two special needs children and have had to fight tooth and nail to get them the help they are required to receive by law. Principal Dalfonsi is the biggest disappointment. My initial meetings with her led me to think she actually cared... and she does, for the school itself, not the students. This is the classic case of a public school that wants to shovel kids through as long as the meet the very minimal of standards. If you have a choice go to Pioneer or Krey or anywhere else.

- submitted by a parent
August 29, 2014
I absolutely love Marsh Creek Elementary School! Everyone that works here has a heart of gold and I can't say anything bad about them. Mrs. D'Alfonsi knows every student and they get excited that she knows their name. The office ladies are so helpful and always welcomes me with a smile. My son has had Mrs. Fuson for Kindergarten, Mrs. Sweeney for first and has Mrs. Mills for second. He's learned so much from all three of them! I'm happy to say that they have all made a great impression on my son and he strives to do his best because of them. I'm happy to say that Marsh Creek is our school!

- submitted by a parent
October 17, 2012
I am proud to be a teacher at Marsh Creek School. Our staff is at this school because we chose to be here and love the school community. Our families are hard working and are very interested in their child's success. The staff also works long hours to provide the best education for the students. Our API and CST scores continue to grow every year. Go Hawks!

- submitted by a teacher
October 17, 2012
Congratulations Marsh Creek School on the impressive rise of CST scores each and every year! With dedicated staff and caring families working together, our students are on the path to success.

- submitted by a teacher
August 23, 2012
The principal is a mess and lacks leadership. The scores have gone done, and the kids who excel don't get challenged enough, they just get pushed aside. The principal doesn't support her students enough. She should have been in politics because she tells you what you want to hear, yet does what she wants in the end.

- submitted by a parent
April 07, 2012
My son went here for kindergaten and we were very dipleased with the school. I have heard through the grapevine that this school gets all the teachers that no other school wants and after my experiance I totally believe this-though I do know of a few good teachers that work here too/ just more bad than good.

- submitted by a parent
December 26, 2011
I am the parent of 3 children that attend MC grades K, 2nd and 5th. My second oldest child greatly benefited from the reading intervention classes, and another one of my children even placed out of speech therapy class thanks to early intervention. There is even a great after school program free of charge for families in need of childcare that isn't offered at any other Brentwood school in the district. The curriculum is good and if your child isn't being challenged enough, I have found teachers to offer optional extra assignments. A school is more than test scores and the break down of ethnic groups it is about the learning environment and family support. My children are happy and look forward to going to school every day at Marsh Creek.

- submitted by a parent
May 12, 2011
My children have only been at Marsh Creek for 7 months, they transferred from highly rated to schools on the other side of the county. I was a little hesitant with the reviews and word of mouth. However I have found Marsh Creek to be a good school. The teachers are very caring. I like the character/esteem building and reward programs they have in place. There is a large ESL population, but the school seems to have strong programs in place to support that population of students. Marsh Creek has had steady improvement in their test scores. I would like to see improvement in providing a greater challenge to children who are above average. I would also like to see greater parent participation.

- submitted by a parent
April 20, 2010
My child has attended this school for 3 years and we have had the worst experience ever. The teachers he has had does not seem to care when a child has a learning problem. When the issue was brought to the principal he just showed that he did not care about the students' for he did nothing but refer me back to the teacher who informed me that she did not have time for my child who was having a hard time understanding his school and homework. It seems that all the principal cares about is increasing his test scores. I hate that we even moved to this area because of this school.

- submitted by a parent
July 28, 2009
I am very pleased with the school. They have wonderful and caring teachers... Their staff and principal are very friendly and attentive; GO HAWKS!!!

- submitted by a parent
June 03, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
May 22, 2009
Despite the lower rating, I have seen great academic growth in my 3rd grader. Her teacher is WONDERFUL... caring, encouraging and enthusiastic. The school runs rather smoothly and the kids seem to feel happy and safe. This is our first year at MC, and I can only hope her 4th grade teacher is as great as this year's!

- submitted by a parent
no rating August 14, 2008
Though the majority of students are early-English learners from modest neighborhoods, the staff and admin present challenging academic programs, and work closely with parents to encourage and support 'subject' and social learning. Enrichment programs are very good.

- submitted by a parent
August 03, 2008
I feel that Marsh Creek does have strong school spirit and the Principle Mr.Bowen is excellent. My Daughter talks highly of him and I see him interact with the children which is very nice.

- submitted by a parent
June 12, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 02, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating October 31, 2007
Marsh Creek is a great place to watch your child grow and learn. The staff is amazing and the campus is beautiful!

- submitted by a parent
June 07, 2007
Marsh Creek is a new school still ironing out some lumps here and there. I would like to see the Principle more involved and interested in the children, it seems a genereal concensus from most children I speak to that he is intimidating.

- submitted by a parent
January 21, 2007
We have been very pleased with Marsh Creek Elementary. Our son has been attending since it opened 2005/06. Staff has been awesome!

- submitted by a parent
June 20, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 17, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marsh Creek Elementary School
601 Grant Street, Brentwood, CA  94513
(925) 513-6420
Last modified Marsh Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marsh Creek Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top