Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


William B. Bristow Middle School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
My oldest daughter started here in seventh grade. It's not easy starting anywhere when you are the new kid - especially at this grade level. However, the WEB program really helped her adjust quickly. The teachers are great, the office staff, principal and vice pricipals have all been very accessible and responsive whenever I have sought their assistance. They seem to genuinely care about each student. Just as with any school - private or public, there are going to be issues at times with teachers and students that don't see eye-to-eye. But, the staff has always been helpful whenever I've sought their assistance. My only real issue is that the dress code is not strictly enforced - ie. the girls wear shorts that expose their but cheeks if they bend over. Also, the counselor tends to over-involve herself into students personal lives without proper therapy training - she does more harm than good. As with any school, if you get involved as an active parent, your children and yourself will have better experiences overall.

William B. Bristow Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
Bristow is filled with amazing teachers who really provide opportunities for their students from math tutor hours, after school homework-club, after school events ( parrnt info nights, award ceremonies, science fair, spelling bee and dance socials) WEB, Leadership and FOR Club activities. New instant contact email sent home every Monday to keep the parents in the loop. The academics are also top notch and improving all the time. Teachers make contact with parents letting them know when things need to be addressed.


William B. Bristow Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
This school is top notch! The extra programs it offers is amazing:Sports, art, music, etc. So many teachers offer programs during lunch and the math program is amazing. Parents and students were givin Math help times where they could simply drop in for help if they need it. Communication is there if parents would take advantage of what is being offered. Great, well rounded school!

William B. Bristow Middle School 2

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointed with this school so far, communication is poor - from the admin staff who think themselves a human wall keeping parents from the principal, to the foul-mouthed, scantly-dressed students; everything has been a severe let down. Bristow has no GATE, no STEM, nothing! Students are overburdened with hours worth of homework daily. School events poorly organized; I don't feel the principal works well with the kids, leads by intimidation. Office staff, unfriendly, inconsiderate and rude. School year starts 7/30 - a year-round school district, yet students spend a whole 8 hrs at school?! At such rate they should cover more course work, show better grades and offer more electives than most CA schools. But no. I'm already looking into nearby charter schools to get my child out.

William B. Bristow Middle School 4

Posted June 29, 2012
- a parent
My son transferred from Adam's Middle School, which is supposed to be a better school. My experience is that Bristow is the better school. Eventhough Bristow and Adams have appx. the same number of students, Bristow feels smaller and more personal. The Principal and teachers really push academics.The students I have interacted with are very respectful.The teachers are awesome and the Principal is great. Bristow is a good fit for us.


William B. Bristow Middle School 5

Posted May 14, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at Bristow for 2 years and we have had great experiences. Their test scores really came up this year and even made it as one of the Top Calif. Schools. Mr. Cornell (Principal) and Mr. Ovick (VP) are caring and so nice. They have many activities for the GATE students which is great! My daughter and I are very happy with Bristow.

William B. Bristow Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a student
Walking in as a new student in the 7th grade I didn't know what to expect. I found that the other students are really nice for the most part and the teachers are great. Now that I am in the 8th grade the school has become even better. The W.E.B program is amazing and really helps the entire school. The only problem is that they don't have a good math help department, and their drama program isn't the best. Other than that its a great school with many great opportunities!

William B. Bristow Middle School 1

Posted February 27, 2010
- a student
i am a 6th grader at this school and was so scared people would get bullied b 8th graders and thats how it is the office people are always in a bad mood and the teachers are unorganized and mean and 7th and8th graders steal locks and clothes this school needs more organization.


William B. Bristow Middle School 1

Posted June 08, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

William B. Bristow Middle School 1

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William B. Bristow Middle School
855 Minnesota Avenue, Brentwood, CA  94513
(925) 513-6460
Last modified William B. Bristow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William B. Bristow Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top