Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Brentwood, CA
Students enrolled: 894
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edna Hill Middle School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
I feel like this school is doing as well as it possibly can with the tools it has been given. Many of the kids are rough, and I hate to send my son into that environment. However, the teachers are fantastic, and go the extra mile to ensure top-notch learning and happy, fulfilled kids. My son's teachers (Mr. and Mrs. Kemper) stay late almost every day and tutor kids who need help. They also come in early in the morning for the same reason. The cross country team takes first every year, and the drama department is awesome. The school is also a philanthropic environment. There's a lot of charity and helping others (food, clothing) that goes on at Edna Hill. Brentwood's been having some problems and it shows, but Edna Hill does its best to make things better. Edna Hill's teachers and principal, Kirsten Job, are hardworking, caring, and creative problem solvers. Honestly, they rock.

Edna Hill Middle School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
the drama program is top notch, the teachers encourage each child's strengths and encourage the child in reflective self-assessment and reporting back to the teachers and parents


Edna Hill Middle School
no rating

Posted January 21, 2010
- a student
It's pretty good...most teachers are great but some of them are not the best. Even with the good teachers some of the kids are not very accepting and there are many fights in the school. I should know I'm a student there. Overall it's okay but it could always be better

Edna Hill Middle School
no rating

Posted December 20, 2009
- a student
Hello. I went to this school and it had bad and good sides. The teachers are amazing, they really do help to make the best of your childs education. Therefore, the people there, the kids, are just horrible. People are out down all the time. These kids have high standerds. Your most likly going to have one group of friends, and that's. ify our child has problems in society, its not the bes school to go to. Im in 8th grade right now, and unfortuantly, this school has casued me to have a district transfer, and so far, it was a great decision! Hope this helped:)

Edna Hill Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
Edna Hill IS a great school! They have received several state and national awards. This school boasts some of the most excellent teachers! These truly caring people do not let our children slip. I do have a bright student who excels, but I know that Edna Hill's high standards helped her more fully realize her potential. The school offers so much to these kids....Edna Hill does stand firm in not letting students who are falling behind or are not following the school's policies participate in special events and social activities, but EH also gives every child the social and academic tools they need to be successful! It does take too long to get through the lunch line, so she packs a lunch...


Edna Hill Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2007
- a student
This is an awsome school.The teachers are great including Mrs.Phillpis and Dr.Boyd..

Edna Hill Middle School 2

Posted May 06, 2006
- a parent
Communications and safty of students are terrible

Edna Hill Middle School 3

Posted January 10, 2006
- a student
I am a kid who once went to this school, so I had a direct experience of how it was like here. Last year, I was a seventh grader there and the school was ok. The teachers were fine, the food was great :) and the general atmosphere was relatively friendly, if not with a slightly old, crusty flaking walls painted over kind of feel to the school. I think the main problem with this school is the layout. The classrooms are all over the place and the bathrooms are nothing short of disgusting. It is hard to get to class on time and it is harder to go to the bathroom with out heaving. But, overall, this school is ok and the teachers are ok. But there are bullies and vagrants here, so kids, keep your guard up, work hard and try to avoid trouble as much as possible.


Edna Hill Middle School 4

Posted July 26, 2005
- a parent
I have nothing but the highest regard for Mr. Prader, Principal at Edna Hill. He has an open door policy with both students & parents. He has zero tolerance for sexual harrassment, racism, gangs and any ofensive behavior towards another student or teacher. He deals with problems swiftly and effectively. No school is without problems - especially young teens! I was very happy with the leadership example Mr. Prader sets for both his staff, teachers & students. He is a very approachable principal for students, which says a lot about his character. Overall, the teachers at this school are very good. In the 4 yrs. my child attended this school, there is only one teacher that I felt was not at standard and not able to effectively teach the subject (Algebra) and many of his students were failing. There is a well-rounded curriculum of sports, music & arts.

Edna Hill Middle School 3

Posted July 06, 2005
- a parent
i had an 8th grader at edna hill and I was pleased with the principal and the young teachers there. Very helpful and did not give up on my son although he had some learning difficulties.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edna Hill Middle School
140 Birch Street, Brentwood, CA  94513
(925) 513-6440
Last modified Edna Hill Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edna Hill Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top