« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Brentwood, CA

Contact this school

850 Second Street
Brentwood, CA 94513

(925) 634-3521
(925) 240-0735
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Liberty High School address.
February 01, 2014
Everyone is family! I love liberty so much! There is a program/club, spot, class ect. for everyone! I'm proud to be a Liberty lion. I love my teachers and friends, even the administrators.. I have always HATED school with a passion!!!!! I am a freshman and for once I love it!!! I enjoy getting up and going, I feel accepted and wanted. My family also loves liberty! Can't think of a bad thing to say. If anyone says liberty is a bad school is for a 100000% fact they are lying and they probably don't attend Liberty at all. Simple as that. There is not one person at my school that doesn't have friends. We make sure of it!

- submitted by a student
August 22, 2013
Great school, I was able to meet all the teachers at open house, they are all doing to their best to see our children succeed.

- submitted by a parent
October 02, 2012
This is an excellent school. All the teachers of my daughter are outstanding. She is a senior and ready to go to college. This school has empowered her with knowledge and high level of education.

- submitted by a parent
May 17, 2011
I love this school! And all the people including teachers and students are very friendly!

- submitted by a student
October 13, 2010
It's a great school for the arts, music and drama. All the kids seem to get along no matter what "group" they belong to.

- submitted by a parent
no rating October 24, 2009
My student came to Liberty as a junior and we were a tad worried about transferring him at such a critical time; however, these fears were needless as the counselling dept., and faculty bent over backwards to make sure he had a smooth transition. Also, it's a two-way street. You have to be involved in what is going on at school and not expect school to do everything with 2,000+ students. When you make it your business to stay on top of things everyone at Liberty works with you. As far as rude students, what school doesn't have their share of those???

- submitted by a parent
September 19, 2009
I attended Liberty High School for a total of two days. Just from that small amount of time, I can honestly say that this school is terrible. The only thing that I liked about it was the counselor who helped me find an alternative to that school. The other students are rude, judgmental, and cruel. I met one nice girl and she agreed that a lot of the students there are not good people. I was extremely disappointed with the teachers as well. They have no concern for their students, at least that was my experience. I highly suggest not attending this school if you want a good education and a welcoming environment.

- submitted by a student
no rating March 09, 2009
The people at liberty are great. Such a great school

- submitted by a student
November 03, 2008
Liberty is an excellent school, and I'm grateful to say this because I am a student there. Though our football team isn't the greatest other sports such as wrestling and girls volleyball make up for it. We also have great academies that let us (the students) explore and learn in many ways other than sitting in class taking notes. Now, I'm not saying that Liberty doesn't have any flaws, we do, our school is older and some teachers don't have as much passion for the subject being taught as their should co-workers, but the students truthfully make up for all the flaws. Liberty High is a crucial part of the little city. It definatley shows that Liberty makes a difference every Homecoming when the stands are filled or when the opening night of a theater production. The school has spirit and is amazing.

- submitted by a student
June 16, 2008
Overall Liberty is a great school. Of course like any other schools it has its faults, but I can honestly say that both my daughter and son really enjoy going to this scool. There are some great teachers that are very passinate about their jobs, great programs; and if you really want to get involve there are ways. The students have spirit and pride in the school with great academies and drama group.

- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating June 13, 2008
All you parents complaining about your students failing, thats not only the teachers responsibility to contact you but your sons/daughters as well. Liberty is a very educational school but your children actually need to go to school not ditch and pay attention. Its not the teachers fault that your children want to go to burger king and eat instead of going to class and learning.

- submitted by a student
May 21, 2008
Liberty was an above average school as recently as 5 years ago. It is now on a downhill slide, as is the WHOLE district if you look at the stats, due to inept, over dominate, over paid district office managment, that tells the disconnected school board how business should be done, while the community lies silent. Liberty had soaring scores in 2005 partly due to things like an innovative literacy program, once highlighted in the news, that became invisible due to managment changes shortly after. It has suffered under an underfunded 4X4 block schedule shoved down its throat by the superintendent after lying to teachers. It is currently embroiled in several lawsuits so I would say...look to the district for answers on why Liberty is not where it should be.

- submitted by a community member
March 28, 2008
Liberty High School is a disapointment in education, we recently moved here from out of state, and my son was promised a great education. We enrolled at Liberty expecting nothing but the best for our son and were presented with a faulty faculty, terrible administration, and very rude students. The violence that these students commit goes under the faculties noses and when alerted to these problems administration does nothing. Additionally all the money goes to football and cheerleading. Football has been losing for the last 3 years and the money needs to go somewhere else. The drama department however, is well deserving of this money, and so are many other sports such as tennis, golf, and other activities. Overall the school is faulty and I can see this school landing in the governments hands within a matter of years.

- submitted by a parent
March 17, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
January 04, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
December 04, 2007
Liberty High School is one with great opportunities for your children to grow and learn the tools for success as they become young adults. Although the 'small town' feeling has slowly disappeared over the last few years, students and their families are still able to take pride in its history. There are many teachers who have dedicated so many hours of their personnel time to the future success of their students.

- submitted by a student
November 17, 2007
i went to liberty from the fall of 2002 through the spring of 2006. my experience there was a good one. i see a lot of parents dissapointed with teachers for not contacting them when their kid is late to class or is getting a low grade. high school is a time to grow up, its up to your child to do well, show up on time, and not get into trouble. its not a teachers job to pass children its their job to give and education and if your child is not passing its his or her own fault. liberty high is a great school with a stellar leadership program, performing arts, sports and plenty of clubs and activities. look a little into the school and the teachers before you complain about it too much

- submitted by a parent
September 26, 2007
Liberty has problems. The greatest of which is leadership. The Athletic program has suffered greatly in this vacuum. The Campus is in disrepair and crumbling while the Board puts forth Bond issues to the community for new school construction (last 80+ million $ issue failed at the ballot box). Sad to see a once proud school allowed to die.

- submitted by a teacher
June 04, 2007
I also am a student, and have found my educational experience to be disappointing. Liberty does have a dedicated core of teachers who care about students. However, if the student is not lucky enough to get them, the 'counselors' are inattentive and unhelpful, and the administration plays favorites and punishes faculty who speak out against the system. The 4x4 block schedule is only helpful in the event that a student is involved in neither the AP program, which is difficult to participate in, nor the performing arts program, which is absolutely stellar,despite setbacks. Overall, I found my academic career to be quite lacking.

- submitted by a student
April 03, 2007
Overall, Liberty has been a disappointment. Your child has a 50/50 chance of getting a teacher committed to your child's education. Communication with administration is poor. Teacher communication is also unreliable- maybe it's the administration that sets the example. Liberty had a top-notch football program in 05, this year was a very disappointing season. To date Liberty doesn't have any football coaches (and it's not lack of applicants)while the other two high schools are well into spring training.

- submitted by a parent
October 04, 2006
I think that Liberty High School is a great school! Some of you blame the teachers because they haven't gotten in contact with you because your child is failing...but think about it...that is not their responsibility...it is your child's. And if you have a problem with the programs and extracurriculars...you can change it. Yes it would be wonderful if freshman were allowed to take advanced placement classes. So do something about it. There is always something to change. Liberty is a great environment for our children...and if you want to change it for the better...than by all means get involved and make this great school even better!

- submitted by a student
September 01, 2006
I'm dissapointed with Liberty too. Teachers do not get in contact with you, especially when your child is near failing. I did however meet a wonderful math teacher who was on top of it. She contacted me immediatly when necessary and replied to my emails almost immediately.

- submitted by a parent
August 25, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
March 31, 2006
The scores are stunning at liberty. Very strong. You can't argue with that. There must have been many good things going on there in the past few years to produce increases like that. Of course, it isn't perfect but take a look and compare it to other schools around. Learn more about the school. Get more involved. Schools need parents to be most successful and liberty has a long running track record of mediocre parental involvement. Just my 2 cents....

- submitted by a parent
January 10, 2006
Classes are overcrowded. Teacher communication wtih parents is minimal at best. Parent Teacher conferences are reserved for problem children. My child received an 'F' in a class and the teacher did not once reach out to me even though he had my e-mail address from a previous e-mail I sent asking him to inform me of any problems with schoolwork or behavior. Teachers do not post homework out on ParentConnect which would be a very useful tool if teachers participated by using it as intended.

- submitted by a parent
November 22, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
October 18, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 10, 2005
I am very disappointed with this school. We originally moved to Brentwood because of the schools. Yet, they have fallen far behind from where they were 4 years ago. If your child is not in the 'in crowd' with sports, forget it no matter how good they are. The teachers are disappointing as well.

- submitted by a parent
February 17, 2005
This school is a disappointment. Our ninth grader needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. The Jazz Band teacher is distant and unavailable to the needs of the children. The class size has double and my child still shares books with his classmates. Thank goodness this town is building new schools.

- submitted by a parent
August 24, 2004
I am not a parent but a student. I have been going here for 2 years. Some kids do break the rules. The securtiy has been tighter lately. All my teachers have been fun to work with. Is a blast at school.

- submitted by a student
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Liberty High School
850 Second Street, Brentwood, CA  94513
(925) 634-3521
Last modified Liberty High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Liberty High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top