Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Buena Park, CA
Students enrolled: 663
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


James A. Whitaker Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a community member
What I like most about James A Whitaker School is the family atmosphere. The teachers, office staff & their principal demonstrate a tremendous amount of care for the students & their families. Its evident in all the ways they make learning possible and their commitment to helping the students beyond their academics. Everyone takes a deep interest in the students & their families by providing opportunities for self-development, parental training, safety & even by helping families get food when its needed. Thank You & Keep Up the Good Work!! We truly appreciate your sincere efforts!!

James A. Whitaker Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
My two boys attend this school and we love it! My boys are challenged every day and their teachers are kind and compassionate. One of my boys even attends a small reading group for extra help, while the other child attends an enrichment class to provide him with more challenging concepts. They really evaluate every student and help all kids reach their potential!


James A. Whitaker Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful. They are very dedicated to their students.

James A. Whitaker Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 02, 2009
- a parent
i think its a great school.They have many teacher teaching a grade.Also i might add they have fun activitys for the kids

James A. Whitaker Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 14, 2009
- a parent
Very satisfied with the shcool,Teacher Quality and the Extracurricular Activities! Go Whitaker Sharks!!


James A. Whitaker Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 06, 2009
- a student
This is a great school! I recommend Miss. Doucette for any sixth grade student. She knows the real meaning of school and does an excellent job of teaching!

James A. Whitaker Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 28, 2007
- a teacher
Whitaker power! Ask us about it. We are helping students to build their skills in academics, and citizenship. I love working at Whitaker because it's about the kids, and building them up to face the world.

James A. Whitaker Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2006
- a parent
The principal is really involved with the children at this school. She rewards good behavior and treats them with respect. I love the fact that they have so many programs to increase reading levels including the kindergarten book bag program. The children enjoy reading their books in their bag every week.


James A. Whitaker Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
Whitaker school is all about the student. The administration and teachers truly care about kids. Mrs. Hay is the best principal. She takes the time to know her students and their families. Assistant Principal, Mr. Santiago, grew up in Buena Park and knows that students need more than just a good teacher. They need to know that someone cares about them as people. All students at Whitaker school not only learn, but love to learn. Teachers constantly challenge their students to go above and beyond the required skills, and the children respond. This is a school that inspires life long learning. All children attending Whitaker are fortunate to be part of such a caring and dedicated 'family.'

James A. Whitaker Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2004
- a parent
My kids teachers are very excllent in teaching my kids in learning and they encourage that they can do better in what they do and acheive. They look out for each child as a individual. The teachers and the principal are excelent to lisnting to the parents suggestion to help the child. I say about Ms.Mellano, Ms.Kang and Ms kertella I have a lot of assoiation with. Congrads to these people.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James A. Whitaker Elementary School
8401 Montana Street, Buena Park, CA  90621
(714) 521-9770
Last modified James A. Whitaker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James A. Whitaker Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top