Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
There are some amazing teachers at Buena Terra. The current principal is excellent. I'm so glad my kids have been able to get such a great elementary education there!

Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, staff, and principal are involved and great. There are opportunities for all kids to learn at their own pace and encouraged to exceed district benchmarks. The PTA is very active and have many events throughout the year. I wish more parents would join and volunteer because there are a few people who do a lot! Overall, Buena Terra is a great school in a great community. With options of private school and others, we are happy with the choice to have our daughters attend Buena Terra.


Buena Terra Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
The principal started a new program of SOAR cards given to students caught exhibiting good behavior. They collect these and get to buy items at a store.

Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
The school offered many family events that gave us the opportunity to get to know the other families our son will be in school with for the next 12 years. The teachers were dedicated and put a lot of work into making the year successful. My son has excelled in kindergarten and I look forward to him entering first grade.

Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
Even at a preschool level and having an IEP, my daughter received masterful and nurturing instruction from Mrs. Arnold. Her vocabulary exploded, upon building a relationship with Mrs. Arnold, and her assistants. Mrs. Arnold challenged my daughter, but used a respectful nudge to help her in reading, writing, and math skills. She already knows how to write her entire name, does basic adding and subtracting, she can read plenty of sight words. She is constantly trying to write sentences at home! Her imagination and attention to journal drawings is evidence of what her classroom teacher challenges her with. My daughter took a kindergarten readiness screening exam and she passed all the questions with flying colors! The SST meetings made such a huge impact in my daughter's early school experience and she will be well-equipped for the demands of kindergarten and first grade. We are so grateful such a supportive Principal and the Student Success Team, and for helping my daughter meet all of her IEP goals, and exit out of the program! My daughter is so enthusiastic about coming to Buena Terra ready to learn!


Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2015
- a parent
We are new to Buena Terra and we love it! The administration is wonderful, office staff is so friendly and the teacher is fantastic. Mrs. Kojima is an absolute gem. Intelligent, caring and friendly. I feel totally confident in the way she teaches and cares for my daughter. This school should have a 10.

Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
My kids started at Buena Terra in 3rd grade, its a wonderful school then the 1 school prior. Awesome staff and principle!!! Mr. Cole was an awesome principle he was always involved with the children all the activities. My kids and i were terribly sadened Mr. Cole was retiring..Mr. Nguyen the new principle has also shown excellent involvement with the children and my kids have had nothing but greatness to say. Id like to say your 6th grade teacher staff awesome teachers they surely make 6th grade science camp alot easier for us parents who kids rarely spend time away from home. Our office ladies wonderful as well a pleasure to have caring and interacting with on a daily basis. The speech teachers as well all are awesome, very kind and sweet. My son had the pleasure of being with the speech therapist for almost 3 yrs she very encouraging and patient she helped my son overcome his complex he had from his speech. Overall my experience with all the staff teachers and principals has been amazing couldnt be happier that my kids are Buena Terra Eagles!!! Thank you for all the love,support, hard work and dedication you show to our children.

Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Buena Terra Elementry is one of the best in Buena Park. My son started here in Kinder and is now in the 2nd. In 1st he had Mrs. Moeller, One of the sweetest, kind hearted, Patient people I have met.


Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
this school is wonderful place .my daughter started kindergarten last year,she so happy with her school nd teachers.alwaz excited to go to school.teachers are very helpful ,kind nd so gud not enough words to say.communication is so gud.my daughter learns a lot in a year.im so thankful to the teachers miss.S nd miss.N.We r so happy we send our daughter to this school

Buena Terra Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
My kids have had amazing teachers so far. The principal is so involved and really cares for the students. Buena Terra has a huge amount of parent volunteers. When we moved I chose to keep my kids at Buena Terra instead of moving them to the school labeled as the best in the district because of all the teachers and parents.

Nearby schools

Buena Terra Elementary School
8299 Holder Street, Buena Park, CA  90620-2957
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (714) 228-3220
Last modified Buena Terra Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top