Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A. E. Arnold Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
The principle is not personable at all. Arnold depend upon the parents to educate their children's and give homework as necessary. But the unaware of the state standards that are needing to the addressed at each grade level. I am disappointment and disgusted by some of the teacher how they are teach the kids.

A. E. Arnold Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
My son goes to Arnold, came there in the 1st grade ... They have a great math and reading program ..many people move into area just for the schools . you will have to bring additional supplies to school due to budget cuts .. but that is schools in california


A. E. Arnold Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a parent
We have been generally pleased with Arnold. Staff and parents are proactive and generally engaged with the students and teachers. Daughter just finished K with Ms. Yue and my son just finished with 2nd with Ms. Earley. Both of these ladies are awesome people and gifted teachers who really care. The "three R's" are adequately taught, as are the state tests, no music, however, there is plenty of art, especially in Ms. Earley's class (she taught what I didn't learn until I took Art Appreciation during my freshman year in college)! Lots of mostly Korean immigrant families who don't always speak English, so they tend to stick together, and don't always integrate very well with the other cultures (Latino, Anglo-Saxon, African, etc.) who do seem to integrate seamlessly.
1 person found this helpful

A. E. Arnold Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I love Arnold! The staff are wonderful and the teachers are great! The standard of learning is high. My son has Mrs.Yeh and she is very passionate with her teaching and full of energy. Arnold not only focus in higher learning but also stresses the importance of character building so the kids at Arnold are very friendly and welcoming of new students.

A. E. Arnold Elementary School 2

Posted March 07, 2008
- a parent
The principal and teachers are personable, but I think a lot of teaching is left to the parent. Lots of homework, and a lot of it is not practicing what they learned at school, but must be taught at home. It is also not the best school choice if your child is in need of special education services. They lack use and knowlege of research based proven methods of remediation for specific learning disabilities (a.k.a dyslexia). I ended up having to pull my child from this school.


A. E. Arnold Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2006
- a parent
Arnold is an amazing school. My son is in kindergarten with Mrs. Wu and he is reading and doing math. The children go to music and P.E. and there is a lot of one on one attention. I would highly recommend any parent to enroll their child at Arnold.

A. E. Arnold Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
my child has been going to arnold since k and is now in 6th grade. she has had some wonderful teachers and others who simply teach to the test. students are covered on the things they need to know in order to score well on the state tests. however parents are many times expected to teach the rest to thier children at home. not enough money is allocated for the arts. they only get half the year for music etc. my daughter hasnt yet had an opportunity to be in a play. some years they have it and some years they dont. the principal it a kind knowlagable man who works well with the children. there is lots of parental involvement and it is always welcomed. a very good school that lacks a little in a well rounded experience for the kids due to the consentration on the state tests.

A. E. Arnold Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 04, 2006
- a parent
This is a great school. My daughter was in it for 10 years, and the principal was very kind and supportive. A wonderful school!


A. E. Arnold Elementary School 3

Posted May 06, 2005
- a parent
This school could be a great school, but they real on the parents to teach the children and not the teachers. Not all working parents have time to reteach their children when they get home from work. The experence I have had is the teachers do not want to be bothered with having to time with any child that may need a little extra help. Of course this is just the two teachers I happen to be dealing with in the 5th grade. There are some teachers that actually take the time to help a child.

A. E. Arnold Elementary School 2

Posted February 13, 2005
- a parent
Arnold depends upon the parents to educate their children. They provide many art and performing arts activities, but are unaware of the state standards that are needing to be addressed at each grade level. The teachers teach a curriculum, not children. I am disappointed and discusted by some of the activities and lack of real instruction that is provided. They have wonderful students that could go far with real quality instruction.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A. E. Arnold Elementary School
10051 Bernadette Ave, Buena Park, CA  90620
(714) 220-6965
Last modified A. E. Arnold Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A. E. Arnold Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top