Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holder Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
We absolutely love Holder! My daughter is in Kindergarten now (with the amazing Miss Sharp) and will continue on to 1st grade here. This is the main reason we have decided to stay in the area. My husband and I commute a bit further to work but this school and our daughter's education is worth it! Go Holder Hawks! :)

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Last year Holder School got a new principle, Dr. Friedman. He did a really great job in his first year! He is committed, involved and extremely competent. He also brings a sense of fun to the job. Holder is a great school, has great teachers and a great principle.


Holder Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is good. My kid is happy with the teacher and the school. Next year I am planning to send my second kid too.

Holder Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. There are just some things that should be taken into consideration. Like an all day preschool, special education for preschool and up. Fundraisers that you can buy the items online. This way family and friends that don't live near you can purchase too.

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been going to Holder since Kindergarten. We have had the best teachers every year! The office staff is amazing and so helpful! This year we will be getting a new principal and I couldn't be happier!


Holder Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended Holder since kindergarten...He has always had the best teacher but his favorite teacher is Mrs.Attaway.. The staff has always been amazing and helpful...

Holder Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
Previous 2 yrs I'm not satisfied with special education program. But now 2012, I see a lot of improvement, advance techniques is being applied cudos to the new special ed teacher Ms. Carmen Garcia, I appreciate so much your effort.

Holder Elementary School 1

Posted August 16, 2012
- a community member
Unfortunately, this school has a lot of work to do. The staff is very dedicated and want the best for the children, but they are ill-equipped. The practices and theory of this school are outdated and as a result the children are not given the chance to work up to their full potential. Facts: Teachers are given little to no professional development to stay current. When development does occur, one person is properly trained and others then attempt to learn from one person. With little communication amongst teachers, this can be tough. Children have been moved after the first month of school for the past few years from class to class due to poor planning and organization on the part of the administration. The math curriculum, Saxon Math, is designed for home schooling and has received terrible reviews online and by parents/teachers and results in low test scores and unprepared children. "Arts & Crafts" are still highly prevalent and have little to no supplemental value to the lesson. Teachers are not given the tools to team plan, therefore grades given from teacher to teacher vary and can be very objective. Preferable to try to keep you child in another school.


Holder Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2012
- a parent
Great job everyone Principal, Teachers, aides, parent helpers.....they are the "Bomb"....and all they have is fun at learning......lol

Holder Elementary School 2

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
Holder is a great School with great teacher the only problem i have had is the principal (miss. Sandy) she is very judgemental and if you disagree with her your wrong. If a child moves mid year and their frinds or family members are Troublesome she will judge your child by the people around him/her and she won't allow your child to stay in the school on top of that she has talked badly of parents and children in front of of other parents and that is if nothing else in bad tast over all great school but the principal leavs much to be desired

Nearby schools

Holder Elementary School
9550 Holder Street, Buena Park, CA  90620-4209
(714) 236-3840
Last modified Holder Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top