Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Buena Park, CA
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holder Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Last year Holder School got a new principle, Dr. Friedman. He did a really great job in his first year! He is committed, involved and extremely competent. He also brings a sense of fun to the job. Holder is a great school, has great teachers and a great principle.

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is good. My kid is happy with the teacher and the school. Next year I am planning to send my second kid too.


Holder Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. There are just some things that should be taken into consideration. Like an all day preschool, special education for preschool and up. Fundraisers that you can buy the items online. This way family and friends that don't live near you can purchase too.

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been going to Holder since Kindergarten. We have had the best teachers every year! The office staff is amazing and so helpful! This year we will be getting a new principal and I couldn't be happier!

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended Holder since kindergarten...He has always had the best teacher but his favorite teacher is Mrs.Attaway.. The staff has always been amazing and helpful...


Holder Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
Previous 2 yrs I'm not satisfied with special education program. But now 2012, I see a lot of improvement, advance techniques is being applied cudos to the new special ed teacher Ms. Carmen Garcia, I appreciate so much your effort.

Holder Elementary School 1

Posted August 16, 2012
- a community member
Unfortunately, this school has a lot of work to do. The staff is very dedicated and want the best for the children, but they are ill-equipped. The practices and theory of this school are outdated and as a result the children are not given the chance to work up to their full potential. Facts: Teachers are given little to no professional development to stay current. When development does occur, one person is properly trained and others then attempt to learn from one person. With little communication amongst teachers, this can be tough. Children have been moved after the first month of school for the past few years from class to class due to poor planning and organization on the part of the administration. The math curriculum, Saxon Math, is designed for home schooling and has received terrible reviews online and by parents/teachers and results in low test scores and unprepared children. "Arts & Crafts" are still highly prevalent and have little to no supplemental value to the lesson. Teachers are not given the tools to team plan, therefore grades given from teacher to teacher vary and can be very objective. Preferable to try to keep you child in another school.

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2012
- a parent
Great job everyone Principal, Teachers, aides, parent helpers.....they are the "Bomb"....and all they have is fun at learning......lol


Holder Elementary School 2

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
Holder is a great School with great teacher the only problem i have had is the principal (miss. Sandy) she is very judgemental and if you disagree with her your wrong. If a child moves mid year and their frinds or family members are Troublesome she will judge your child by the people around him/her and she won't allow your child to stay in the school on top of that she has talked badly of parents and children in front of of other parents and that is if nothing else in bad tast over all great school but the principal leavs much to be desired

Holder Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2011
- a community member
This School is DA BOMB n THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT n THE STUDENTS TOO.I would reccomend this school to ANYBODY!!!!!!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holder Elementary School
9550 Holder Street, Buena Park, CA  90620
(714) 236-3840
Last modified Holder Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holder Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top