Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Crescent Avenue Christian Elementary School

Private | K-6 | 49 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buena Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2013

My daughter has just graduated from 6th grade after 7 years at this school. We had planned on my child attending public school until we found this school and saw the value in their program. The teachers give each child individual attention and care. Kids are supported at every step in their education. Families are very involved and work to make events special and meaningful. Student of the month awards target character. My child learned advanced educational skills but also learned about God's Love. Everyone working there is invested in the kids. It's a small school with a big heart and we would encourage any parent concerned about their child's education to see the program. It has been a blessing to us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

I absolutely love this school. The environment is great as are all the teachers and staff members. My daughter has attended Crescent Avenue Christian Preschool (CAPS) for 1 year and she has learned a great deal. I would definitely recommend this preschool to anyone looking for a place to enroll their child/children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

I LOVE this school. My daughter has attended here since Kindergarten and she adores going to school each day. The teachers are incredible as are the administrators. This is a school where the staff show that they love what they do each day by passing their joy on to the children. Included with the unsurpassed curriculum are things of the past in public schools like p.e, recess, art and music. This school turns out the most well-rounded, well-adjusted and happy little ones once their elementary school career comes to a close. I wouldn't change a thing about Crescent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

This is such an amazing school! The teachers are so loving, caring and committed to giving the students the best education possible. I have 2 children enrolled here and a 3rd who will be attending in the future. This is a school teaches children Christian character in a safe loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I have a daughter in 5th grade attending CACS. She loves it so much that most of the time I cannot get her to leave. The family environment makes it a great place to spend time and the teachers always encourage the children to achieve their highest goals. I would recommend this school to anyone who values that their children learn an advanced education coupled with the teachings of the Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I have two kids attending CACS. They love it and we love it. This school is like a family to us. The teachers, the staff and the parents are great. We all work together to create a great enviroment for our kids, where we can show the love of God by sharing and helping each other. The combination of a Christian education and strong academics make this school a great place for kids to grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

My son just finished Kindergarten and my daughter is enrolled at the pre-school. The school provides a great academic base for the kids. The SAT Achievement Test scores are impressive. But the greatest thing about this school is the tremendous love and spiritual guidance that the tachers and staff provide. I never expected that from a school. They provide a great environment for Christian families to meet and develop friendships. We have become really good friends with teachers, staff, and other parents. I would recommend both the school and the pre-school to anyone looking for a great school to reinforce Christian family values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I am a parent of third and kindergarden children and are very pleased with the school. The academics are great and the teachers too. They are truly christian and live christian lives. Both my sons love their teachers and enjoy school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

My daughter is enrolled in the Crescent Avenue Christian Preschool program. She adores her teachers and peers! I am a teacher in the public schools, and I have been extremely impressed with the education my daughter has been receiving. Not only is she receiving a quality academic education, it is being delivered in a loving, Christian environment by teachers who know their curriculum as well as the needs of their students and parents. I do not know if they are all certificated teachers, although I sometimes doubt if being certificated makes any difference in being a 'highly qualified' teacher. I am very involved in my daughter's school. I recommend this school to any parent looking for a wonderful, nurtering school for their children. The director of the program is also extremely involved and knows all the students (and probably parents as well) by name. The director makes sure the students have experiences which would not otherwise be available to them by bringing fieldtrips to the school such as magicians, mobile farms, and other excellent presentations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 26%
Hispanic 30% 52%
Two or more races 12% 3%
Asian or Pacific Islander 10% 11%
Black 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Loretta Scott
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of the nazarene
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5600 Crescent Avenue
Buena Park, CA 90620
Phone: (714) 527-6673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Futureland Montessori
Buena Park, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT