Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walt Disney Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burbank

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $439,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

We had the same thing happen with our child at Disney as below and the new Principle did the same thing, she favored the bully. There is a reason why she was removed from Jefferson and it aint good. As far as Disney, it is a depressing title 1 school. THE TEACHER HERSELF CLAIMS HER SPANISH IS NOT AS GOOD AS her assistant teacher. I told her I didn't want my child to play with the bully and she let the bully keep on hassling her. She is not present at play time when bullying happens. Kids talking in class while the teacher is teaching a lesson and the teacher says NOTHING. After 3 months I was finally told that my daughter JUST started repeating things in Spanish, teacher dIdnt communicate this to me AT ALL until then. She really didn't seem prepared to help the parents help their children to learn Spanish. Yes, after 3 month at Disney, boy did our kid fall behind. Beware All, of this school/immersion course. We are now taking the steps to repair from all the things this school did not teach. Our new teacher asks "what did they teacher her there?!" There are many other people who are on an exodus out of this school. If you're interested in immersion go to Franklin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

teacher and stuff good. I am not happy with the new pincipal at the school. my kid was suffering from bulling and didn't unkownledge the situation. She only thinking about herself. Her work is selling herself saying she is what the school needs for her education in busness, when she is incapable to make any decisions, talk down to other parents and helpless in all circumstances , very unconfortable, so much that i have the need to chnage my kid to another school so i can find a principal for caring and competitive, for my security and my child education. as all parents we look for the best..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Disney is on the map to achieve more than just recognition but a standard for all the rest! Go Disney!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Disney is a dream come true for our first school for our daughter she just started kindergarten and she loves it! The teacher and the staff care are amazing,and so are the fellow Disney parents! THANK YOU ALL!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

The office staff greets you with smiles and a helpful attitude consistently. The teachers are cooperative, kind, and motivated. It is one of the smallest schools, but that is what gives it that small community charm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My daughter loved all her teachers at this school so far. The new principal is doing a great job and getting to know all the families. There is a sense unity and dedication amongst the parents who do their share of volunteering. My kid comes home singing and brags about her music teacher here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

Disney Elementary School has such great feeling of family. Every child is well known by the staff, each teacher and staff member really takes the time to get to know them. You can call in to the office, or walk in, and they will know which student you are there for. The feeling of a family school community is awesome! They have a really wonderful group of teachers. They are fun and outgoing, and really strive to make learning fun and interesting for the students. The school has classroom studies, outdoor studies, physical activities to keep the children moving and beautiful school gardens on the main playground and in the kindergarten playground as well. There are after school programs that are run by outgoing, fun staff that are always creating new activities for the students. Overall, there is so much that is offered by this school to it's family of students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

Great neighborhood school with a wonderful community spirit. The diverse student population and easy access to teachers and administrators make Disney a stand out among other schools. Everyone seems to get along and have one common goal...the best education for the students!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

This is great little school. The Staff is wonderful and the teachers are all pros. Even with budget cuts the school API keeps going up and it was recognized as a California Distinguished School. Love that third flag!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

My daughter is in this school from Kindergarten now she's in 1 st grade.She enjoys in this school,I really liked this school so far.She had a really good teacher in Kindergarten and now her 1st grade teacher is an Angel..I kike the way they teach and also in decipline...they are not much into sports but they are good in music..my daughter has learned a lot in this school and I'm very greatful for that..lets see how this continues..so far so good..I would recommend this school any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

We were blessed enough to have recieved a new leadership (administration) team in 2007. They have brought our school to places we had only dreamed of going. They are incredibly supportive of our kids and of us as parents. Our test scores have sky-rocketed. Our kids are excited to go to school every day. The culture of Disney has changed completely. I count my blessing every day that my kids are lucky enough to go to Disney.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are the best supports and educators of our children... The PTA is so awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

this school is great and the teachers are very nice ( especially Mrs Aron ) will always have a especial place in our lifes for her. she took the time to help our daugther and we such good communication with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I pulled my son from this school this school year. He is now thriving in an alternative setting. Reflecting on his negative experience at Disney, I can honestly opinionate and say the staff was insensitive to the fact he was a new student struggling to make friends and be accepted and they failed to support him in any way. The Principal exhibited a bit of concern for him, but when it came down to it, she just wanted to punish him and disregard the bullies behaviors. His teacher complained that he couldn't find the appropriate textbook in his desk and criticized him in front of other students. He was scarred by this. There was a gentleman by the name of Mr. Bugby who showed much consideration towards him. But on the whole, I think they missed the big picture with him. He was struggling because he needed consolement and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

I was not happy with this school. My son only went there for 5th grade but had a terrible time getting along with other students. It took until the last month and a 1/2 before the Principal finally tried to help my son. I was also not impressed with his teacher either. Overall, not a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I am afraid that my views about walt disney elementary are not good.The principal is great but the rest of the school needs a lot of work. Open your eyes busd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

This school is recovering from a previous principal that was not parent-friendly at all. The new one is so much better! I'm looking forward to great things as my student goes through!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

Excellent! Top notch principal, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

Our school is dedicated to teaching the children to achieve their best. It is a Title I school with one of the highest API scores in our district, compared to regular schools. We believe ALL children can learn and achieve and succeed, regardless of their background. The teachers are caring, knowledgeable and dedicated to improving their own skills, in order to teach these wonderful children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

849

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

849

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females60%
Males37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females70%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females48%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females83%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females71%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females71%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females76%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females66%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students42%
Females38%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 60%
White 22%
Asian 5%
Black 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
English language learners 24%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sandra DeBarros
Fax number
  • (818) 558-4664

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1220 West Orange Grove Avenue
Burbank, CA 91506
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 558-5385

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT