Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Burbank, CA
Students enrolled: 596
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ralph Emerson Elementary School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This school could be a solid 4 star if it had the right leadership and a 5 if they had a bigger PTA rather than the same handful of people getting overworked and underappreciated, and disrespected by the principal. As long as you are a person who doesn't evaluate your child's education then you will be fine. If you have ANY issues the principal will NOT listen. This is based not only on my experience but more than 20 people I know who have had the same experience. I highly recommend you interview the school principals before you get into a Burbank school and be sure to ask important questions like how do you handle parent's considerations for class placement, and if there was an issue like misplacement of your child how would things work to change that. What about split classes? I am not talking for frivolous reasons I mean true learning issues. As for the teachers it would get a 4 1/2 stars. Handful of amazing teachers! Amazing Kindergarten teachers and 3rd grade teachers. Please consider the principal's attitude wisely.

Ralph Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2010
- a parent
We considered sending our daughter to a private school. After much research and debate we decided to go with Emerson. We are thoroughly impressed with the teacher quality and level of caring. There is active parental involvement, which is a huge plus. Barring any serious changes, we won't hesitate to send our second child there as well!


Ralph Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2010
- a parent
All three of my children have attended this school for several years and absolutely love it, though my oldest promoted to middle school last year. It's a wonderful neighborhood school. The principal, Ms. Acuff is kind and understanding, loves children but runs a tight ship.

Ralph Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is currently a 2nd grader. I like this school a lot. Everything seems to be intended to promote education and help students to build self-confidence. I am noticing how my daughter's reading, writing, problem-solving and other skills are improving every day. Isn't it what we (the parents) want?

Ralph Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ralph Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
Emerson have wonderful teachers and they are very nice with our kids. Thnaks

Ralph Emerson Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ralph Emerson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has attented this school from K-5 and the school is great. They have wonderful teachers there and I feel my child is safe. I'm not very fond of Linda (princpal). She needs come back to reality and get a grip.


Ralph Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ralph Emerson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
Emerson is the best school. Kindergarten teachers works with their heart and soul and kids are benefited. They have wonderful playground.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ralph Emerson Elementary School
720 East Cypress Avenue, Burbank, CA  91501
(818) 558-5419
Last modified Ralph Emerson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ralph Emerson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top