Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 525 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2009

This school is great. My son is in second grade and love the school. The quality of education is excelent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Stevenson has a great mixture of kids and a wonderful small school atmosphere, that nutures the shy and the not-so-shy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The greatest thing about R.L. Stevenson is their commitment to their PeaceBuilder program. In a world fraught with violent and degrading images, Stevenson teaches our children to be respectful of teachers and each other, to build each other up, not tear down and to take responsibility for their actions. I'm also proud to be a part of their fabulous Friends for Stevenson program, which raises much needed funds to keep their arts and music classes going in this terrible time of budget cuts in our state. These programs are vital to producing well-rounded, happy and expressive kids and are proven techniques in improving math scores. The teachers and faculty are obviously caring and dedicated to our children and to open lines of communication with the parents. I grew up in an extremely good public school district and had always hoped my child would have that same blessing. With Stevenson, I feel that he has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Stevenson School is a gem..I feel so proud and lucky to be a part of this wonderful place and never once worry about my child as I drop her off. It is a warm and caring world full of dedicated staff and loving parents. I have to laugh at those who pay big bucks to send their kids to private school only a few miles away, when right here under their nose is the most perfect example of what the educational experience should be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love Stevenson. The teachers and principal challenge, stimulate and love our kids as much as we do. Our children obtain a sense of community, responsibiliy and citizenship as a result of their hard work and participation. The peacebuilder program is truly a great empowerment tool. Thank you for making Stevenson a place my kids want to go to in the morning and come home bragging about their adventures from at night. Stevenson is a great choice and elementary choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Stevenson has the BEST Teachers, staff, parents and students - It doesn't get any better than this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

stevenson has the best front office staff! and a very caring prinicipal and the teachers rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

because the teachers are amazing and they really care about all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

You couldn't hope for more committed students, teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teacher, kids, staff & parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers and faculty are great. They really try to encourage learning in a fun atmosphere for the kids. Plus we do a lot of great events for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school has the most amazing kids and teachers! We just heard that our state testing scores improved last year across the board by leaps and bounds due to all the hard work! We also have a great number of families who are involved with our PTA and our Families for Stevenson booster association helping us to raise money to keep art and music in our school during these drastic budget cuts. We even have a Green Team dedicate to keeping our school on the forefront of 'Being Green' by recycling, making better choices and building our own outdoor garden classroom for everyone to enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

So far I love this school and my son seems to really enjoy it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I cannot say enough for this school. The principal especially. The principal and staff members out-shine all other schools in the Burbank district. Consistant involvement with students and parents. A wonderful experience for my daughter. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Stevenson is a gift to public education. Not only is the entire Burbank Unified School District one of the best Public School districts I have seen, my children have received superior education at Stevenson. Academic education is carefully presented, given special consideration to those students that require additional time. However, the peacebuilder program has helped to nurture responsibilty on the playground as well. As a public school teacher in a neighboring district, I would be concerned to have my own children at the school where I teach. I am completely confident in this school. It is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Stevenson is a wonderful school! As a member of the community for more than a decade, I can whole-heartedly report that the school is clean, well-maintained, has a wonderful, huge playground, and is such a welcoming environment! Stevenson has had top-notch principals for years, and the current one continues that tradition! The teachers are energetic, caring, and really try to balance the requirements of the state with the reality of kids and how they learn. All kids, with support at home, excel! The PTA and FFS are fantastic organizations that give there all for to the school. There is a true 'team effort' between all the staff and the community. Last, but certainly not least, the office staff are the most professional, kind, knowledgeable I have ever met. Stevenson school is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Stevenson School has alot to offer in the calss room,how ever theres a few teachers who need [to] learn how to comunicate better with our kids weather they are in the class room or outside. Remember the Kids come first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Stevenson has a great team of teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

My kids have been a Stevenson for a few years now and there have been many positve changes in that time. We have a Booster club that raises thousands of dollars so our kids can have art in the classroom and we recently became a CA Distinguised School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

My sons have both been at Stevenson since Kindergarten. Now they are in 4th and 1st grade. I am so happy with this school. We have a very involved PTA and FFS (Families For Stevenson) who makes things like art and music happen in a district that doesn't have funding for that. Our teachers are wonderful, and actually seem to enjoy what they do and create warm nurturing relationships with the kids. We have a wonderful 'PeaceBuilders' policy which encourages peaceful resolutions, respect for self, and respect for others. I could not be happier with my childrens Elementary experience so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

905

Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

905

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females81%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females90%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females77%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females82%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females88%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females91%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females81%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females71%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students70%
Females60%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 49%
Hispanic 26%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 8%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/AN/A
English language learners 9%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debbie Ginnetti
Fax number
  • (818) 841-3435

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 Oak Street
Burbank, CA 91505
Phone: (818) 558-5522

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Brighton Hall
Burbank, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT