Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I am so happy to be the new principal of Robert Louis Stevenson Elementary School. I am impressed with the entire staff, thankful for the support of the parents, and love the enthusiasm of our students. I look forward to continuing the amazing programs already established and sharing some of the programs I started at my former school. - Christina Desiderio
October 11, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 115 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


R. L. Stevenson Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are so dedicated, caring and experienced, my son learnt so much since he started 5-hour per day's kindergarten program, he only knew letters and numbers before he started, and now he is a 2nd grader advancing in math and reading.

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
I am so grateful for the school teachers, my son advanced a lot since he started the kindergarten program, he is in 2nd grade now, he loves learning and sharing, and he is advanced in his academics. Thank you!


R. L. Stevenson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
R. L. Stevenson provides a wonderful school experience for its students! The principal, teachers and parents are all invested in making the school the best it can possibly be, and do such an amazing job. My children are eager to go to school every day!

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a 4th grader and has been in Stevenson since Kindergarten. The teachers and staff are dedicated and caring to the students. The front office are welcoming and helpful despite having many demanding and sometimes very impatient parents to deal with.

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The "Peaceful Playgrounds" program, the focus on helpfulness at the weekly morning assembly, and the PTA's Kindness Committee all combine to make compassion and empathy a big focus.


R. L. Stevenson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Stevenson elementary has always been a wonderful school, but since the addition of our new principal, Mrs. Desiderio, I can say that it is truly exceptional. She has made the school more welcoming, more fun, and more focused on technology, science, and overall academic rigor. The PTA and booster club provide an extraordinary number of "extras" that simply aren't in the district's budget, and the arts program is fantastic and continuing to grow. Simply fantastic across the board!

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I am so thankful for Mrs. Line and Mrs. Bauer - they are both fantastic and have helped my son so much this year....I'm seeing the spark and love for learning that has been missing the last couple of years! I haven't met the new principal yet, but my son always has nice things to say about her - he seems genuinely excited about things she does/says. Great year so far!

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Perezpedia, thank you for taking your time in focusing on my daughters education and helping her out during anything she doesn't understand.


R. L. Stevenson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I'm so pleased with Robert Louis Stevenson Elementary. It has exceeded my expectations for teaching my daughter what she has learned to date. Also, I'm very thankful towards her current teacher, Mr. Parezpedia for taking him time in helping her during anything she doesn't understand the first time. I highly recommend this school and thank all the staff for putting so much into our students and keeping them safe and secured where we could have a piece of mind. -Tina (Nairi Yerkanyan's) mother.

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I love all of the opportunities that our students have at Stevenson. Thank you to the staff for your love and care in teaching our kids. Thank you to the parents for all your efforts in keeping our school's amazing arts, music, and dance programs going. Stevenson Rocks!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

R. L. Stevenson Elementary School
3333 Oak Street, Burbank, CA  91505
(818) 558-5522
Last modified R. L. Stevenson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
R. L. Stevenson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 115 reviews. Top