Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
The one thing that makes this school awesome is the staff! The teachers are super. The principal is very aware of her school and dedicated to making it better each year. My son is in third grade and has struggled in certain areas. The staff has come together to help him be successful. The teachers are very supportive. The only thing the school could use more of is parent involvement.

George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been in Washington Elementray since Kindergarten and is now a 3rd grader. This has to be one of the best schools in Burbank. The teachers are fabulous. Mrs Zenian , the Principal is wonderful and very forward minded. Not to mention they have one the largest Environmental gardens in Burbank. An outdoor classroom for my child! I wish more parents would get involved with the garden committee and the PTA though. The parents of this school are quite uninvolved.


George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
I've had 3 kids in this school - and I still love it. Ms. Clausen the principal is so nice and the staff are so helpful, lovely and friendly, and surprisingly for an LA School - They never smell like a freshly burnt cigarette. This is an amazing school which I highly reccommend.

George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
Washington School is dynamic,engaging, and prepares the students for the real rewards and opportunities in the future. The diversity demonstrated at the Olympic Dance celebration was educational and fun for all involved. Ms. Zenian, the new principal, is extraordinary because she is open to ideas and willing to provide individual assistance to parents, teachers, and students. The school has one of the most beautiful landscapes of all the Burbank Unified Schools with a large garden, an academic garden program, a big yard with lush trees, and a lovely grass field. As a California Distinguished School for some time now, Washington provides excellent support and guidance academically from its teaching staff. In fact, the substitute teaching staff also goes above and beyond with their lessons and pedagogy as evidenced by Ms. Santanastaso who substituted for Ms. Lincoln in 2nd grade this past year. The school is small, warm, and a wonderful place!

George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
Washington is a very nice school- especially for LA County. I feel that the teachers and principals have been honestly dedicated to helping in my plan to mainstream my son, who is worked his way out of SDC, into a full inclusion class without extensive Spec Ed services. This means, so far, his 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Hernandez and his 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Petersen have maintained patience and diligence in calming him and redirecting him, when necessary. Because of their commitment and faith in us, he has been able to reach greater heights. Therefore, I believe that this school will support each child as an individual. The parent community is friendly, too! Lastly, I noticed upon entering the school from another in the area, that Washington promotes American patriotism and that was very important to me, as well. This is a safe school for your children!


George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
I love Washington Elementary School. It has high standards and the teachers are excellent. The school has a wonderful respond to intervention program in which children are given the opportunity to excel in their academics.

George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
I love this school. Ms. Clausen, the principal is excellent. My daughter started going there in Kindergarten in Mrs. White's class and she learned a lot. It wasn't just a play all day kinder, they actually had homework! She is now in the 1st grade with Mrs. Hernandez and the the level of commitment has not changed. All the staff is fully commited to make sure your child does well and if there is an area that needs improvement, they won't wait to the last minute, they let you beforehand so that changes can be made. The PTA is very active! They have made accomodations so that no one feels left out and all suggestions are taken seriously. I love this school!!

George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
My kid's in grade K with Mrs. Roberts class. She is a wonderful teacher, my kid loves her. The school is wonderful, the staffs are helpful and friendly, but the campus does not look so nice especial the fences and at the childcare building..


George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2007
- a parent
The principal and teachers are warm, supportive and proactive. It is an excellent school.

George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2005
- a parent
The teachers at Washington work hard to provide excellent programs for the children. The school is kept up beautifully and is a model for other schools because of it high academic standards and warm, caring staff members.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington Elementary School
2322 North Lincoln Street, Burbank, CA  91504-2625
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (818) 558-5550
Last modified George Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top