Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Burbank, CA
Students enrolled: 179
 

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
Sad state. PTA meet put an exclamation point on things. Leadership is weak, but the PTA is a disaster. The PTA Board has zero professionals or business leaders. Just a bunch of school-moms with loud opinions and bad ides. They dont even speak english. Really awful that these people are running the place. The Principal continues to remain clueless and these unskilled PTA people are taking her for a ride. The PTA President, Vice President, Secretary and all the other PTA Board people need to be ashamed of their conduct. Need to be thrown out if this school has any chance at improvement. Bad news. 1 star.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 2

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
The school is failing, but blaming the Principal for everything is unfair. She is new and should be given at least 2 full years before being judged. I feel equal blame should be placed on PTO members too. As mentioned by others, the PTO is a disaster. Except for Art Mayer the rest are just bad. Sorry, but how do these people serve on the PTO Board when they can't even speak or write high school level English? I am no expert, but I at least know to self-assess. (Mind you, I am also an experienced manager in a major corporation). These people are just pathetic but still want to be PTO leaders? Saw them in action yesterday and it was a sad situation. The School will do better if the Principal has the wisdom to take away all authority from the PTO and set up a truly professional Board with solid parishioners and local civic and business leaders. Burbank USD has some very good schools. If SRB does not fix things quickly, it will go bankrupt. If the Principal wishes to make quick positive changes, she can start by making the PTO irrelevant or installing a new PTO. SRB is very convenient for me, but i am honestly thinking of moving to the USD school.


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
This was once the best Catholic school in Burbank. Today, it is a very weak and very poorly managed school. The Principal is new and inexperienced and has made many poor decisions. Since taking over two years ago, she fired all the experienced Teachers and replaced them with weak and inexperienced Teachers. Most of them lack basic teaching credentials. This was a much better School under the previous Principal. Dr. Rosena was a good Principal and a good lady who was well liked by everybody. She ran the school for over 25 years and it was a good school with great morale. Yes, she grew old and yes her son was not a superstar, but Dr. Rosena was a gem. It is sad to see her being disrespected and attacked after three decades of service. The focus should be on building a good School for the future, not criticizing the old leadership. Many things need to be improved. Just 8 students in class 8. Sad. Weak academics with no extras. No Computers. No Spanish. No PE. No Music. Just empty promises. And a lot of penalties and special fees that are a drain for two-kid parents. A new start is crucial.
2 people found this helpful

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Enrolling my children at St. Robert Bellarmine was the best decision I have ever made as a parent. My children are thriving and are happy. Their grades are better than they ever were in public school, and they truly feel part of the SRB family. Mrs. Ronan is an amazing principal. She has brought parents together and challenged us all to be our children's first educators. She is a deeply spiritual leader, expects excellence from our teachers and students, and has put us an an upward path as a school. I feel so blessed to be a part of this community.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
The changes srb school have been fantastic. The new principal has made some tough choices for the betterment of the school. Before I had to drop of my daughter in the morning with no one there to receive her. I personally witnessed the teachers arriving at 8 am or after, but for students have to be there at 7:40 am. At the end of school kids ran to the cone zone with no real supervision. Only the the parents working the zone were there. Now all teachers have to walk there kids to the zone and wait there until all kids from there class get picked up. The teachers that were there became complacent-set in there ways. Not willing to change-and we all know change is good. The level of new teacher's coming in are second to none. Plus srb will become an a credited school. Remember, Dr. Rosena even had her son working there and was caught sleeping on the job. The teachers had it pretty easy. If I pay money to send my daughter to a private school - I expect what I pay for. The attitude was worse than public school. So I agree , changes had to made. Thank God for Mrs. Ronan


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
The new principal has turned the school upside down in a few months time, forcing many good teachers to leave for unknown reasons. My child's experience as well as mine, has been very unfair and unsatisfactory with this new principal. She seems to have an egocentric and controlling behavior over the school, running it to her liking and ideas, and not for the benefit of the school as a whole. The staff under her turned from the usually happy faces to distressed outlooks. It saddened the entire school, and erased the smiles they used to have. Many parents have decided to pull their children out and move them to other schools because of these uninvited changes. God bless this school, "In His charity". (Please note the teacher quality has changed and a 5 star rating was given to the old and still current teachers that served until the end of the 2013-2014 school year. )
4 people found this helpful

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
This school used to be good. However, it is in a crisis. I would rate the principal minus 5 stars if this system allows me. She is terrible. She forced out many good teachers.
6 people found this helpful

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
Very good school. My child feels very welcome and learns more because there are less kids so more attention from the teachers for each student.Never had a problem with the teachers or staff members. I highly recommend this school to all parents and students.


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
School is very unorganized. Some teachers are cold and stubborn. Old books and old ways of doing stuff not realistic in today's world. There's other choices, don't waste your time here. Focus isn't as much on teacher competence, better tools, but more on fundraising and mass.
4 people found this helpful

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
Great School - teachers/staff are great and always willing to help a child and a wonderful family environment.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School
154 North 5th Street, Burbank, CA  91501
(818) 842-5033
Last modified St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top