Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Burbank, CA
Students enrolled: 179
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
This school has downhill in the past 2 years. The new principal does not know how to manage a school or hire teachers. The junior high program was once so strong and now is absolutely the weakest point (other than the principal) at this school. The 8th grade teacher is horrible and doesn't plan or prepare the students for high school. The previous teacher did an amazing job and while I understand those are tough shoes to fill, this teacher does nothing! There are no essays written in class, no grammar learning, all she does is talk about her previous school while babysitting these students. The principal is not consistent in what she says and what she does. I do NOT recommend this school! There are a core group of parents who run this school - the principal's fan club.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 4

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
My child has been attending SRB for two years and we are very happy with the quality of the education that she has been receiving. Anyone who is considering SRB should visit the school and speak with the principal and teachers instead of relying on the toxic comments that are listed below. The principal just finished her second year at the school and considering what she inherited, she is doing well. Change is difficult especially when much of what needs to be changed is the culture. While I am not a member of the PTO, I do know each of the members. A previous poster stated that the PTO should be composed of solid parishioners and local civic and business leaders, but that it is not what a PTO is. It is a parent/ teacher organization. A board of directors may be an idea to consider but a PTO is necessary and should be composed of parents and teachers. A major problem is the apathy of the parents. If the previous poster has significant management experience why have they taken no interest in becoming involved or contributing to a solution to the problems that they perceive. They certainly did not assert themselves at the PTO meeting that they attended. Instead of publicly denigrating the Principal and the PTO, why not meet with the Principal or attend other PTO meetings to develop dialogue and contribute to problem solving.


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
Very disappointed with school and specially new principal my son has been attending senses the 3nd grade and this year has been the worst. There is no point in paying tuition if we don't see any difference between this school and a public one, think twice before enrolling your child in this school and spending your hard earned money.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
Sad state. PTA meet put an exclamation point on things. Leadership is weak, but the PTA is a disaster. The PTA Board has zero professionals or business leaders. Just a bunch of school-moms with loud opinions and bad ides. They dont even speak english. Really awful that these people are running the place. The Principal continues to remain clueless and these unskilled PTA people are taking her for a ride. The PTA President, Vice President, Secretary and all the other PTA Board people need to be ashamed of their conduct. Need to be thrown out if this school has any chance at improvement. Bad news. 1 star.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 2

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
The school is failing, but blaming the Principal for everything is unfair. She is new and should be given at least 2 full years before being judged. I feel equal blame should be placed on PTO members too. As mentioned by others, the PTO is a disaster. Except for Art Mayer the rest are just bad. Sorry, but how do these people serve on the PTO Board when they can't even speak or write high school level English? I am no expert, but I at least know to self-assess. (Mind you, I am also an experienced manager in a major corporation). These people are just pathetic but still want to be PTO leaders? Saw them in action yesterday and it was a sad situation. The School will do better if the Principal has the wisdom to take away all authority from the PTO and set up a truly professional Board with solid parishioners and local civic and business leaders. Burbank USD has some very good schools. If SRB does not fix things quickly, it will go bankrupt. If the Principal wishes to make quick positive changes, she can start by making the PTO irrelevant or installing a new PTO. SRB is very convenient for me, but i am honestly thinking of moving to the USD school.


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 1

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
This was once the best Catholic school in Burbank. Today, it is a very weak and very poorly managed school. The Principal is new and inexperienced and has made many poor decisions. Since taking over two years ago, she fired all the experienced Teachers and replaced them with weak and inexperienced Teachers. Most of them lack basic teaching credentials. This was a much better School under the previous Principal. Dr. Rosena was a good Principal and a good lady who was well liked by everybody. She ran the school for over 25 years and it was a good school with great morale. Yes, she grew old and yes her son was not a superstar, but Dr. Rosena was a gem. It is sad to see her being disrespected and attacked after three decades of service. The focus should be on building a good School for the future, not criticizing the old leadership. Many things need to be improved. Just 8 students in class 8. Sad. Weak academics with no extras. No Computers. No Spanish. No PE. No Music. Just empty promises. And a lot of penalties and special fees that are a drain for two-kid parents. A new start is crucial.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Enrolling my children at St. Robert Bellarmine was the best decision I have ever made as a parent. My children are thriving and are happy. Their grades are better than they ever were in public school, and they truly feel part of the SRB family. Mrs. Ronan is an amazing principal. She has brought parents together and challenged us all to be our children's first educators. She is a deeply spiritual leader, expects excellence from our teachers and students, and has put us an an upward path as a school. I feel so blessed to be a part of this community.

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
The changes srb school have been fantastic. The new principal has made some tough choices for the betterment of the school. Before I had to drop of my daughter in the morning with no one there to receive her. I personally witnessed the teachers arriving at 8 am or after, but for students have to be there at 7:40 am. At the end of school kids ran to the cone zone with no real supervision. Only the the parents working the zone were there. Now all teachers have to walk there kids to the zone and wait there until all kids from there class get picked up. The teachers that were there became complacent-set in there ways. Not willing to change-and we all know change is good. The level of new teacher's coming in are second to none. Plus srb will become an a credited school. Remember, Dr. Rosena even had her son working there and was caught sleeping on the job. The teachers had it pretty easy. If I pay money to send my daughter to a private school - I expect what I pay for. The attitude was worse than public school. So I agree , changes had to made. Thank God for Mrs. Ronan


St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
The new principal has turned the school upside down in a few months time, forcing many good teachers to leave for unknown reasons. My child's experience as well as mine, has been very unfair and unsatisfactory with this new principal. She seems to have an egocentric and controlling behavior over the school, running it to her liking and ideas, and not for the benefit of the school as a whole. The staff under her turned from the usually happy faces to distressed outlooks. It saddened the entire school, and erased the smiles they used to have. Many parents have decided to pull their children out and move them to other schools because of these uninvited changes. God bless this school, "In His charity". (Please note the teacher quality has changed and a 5 star rating was given to the old and still current teachers that served until the end of the 2013-2014 school year. )

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
This school used to be good. However, it is in a crisis. I would rate the principal minus 5 stars if this system allows me. She is terrible. She forced out many good teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School
154 North 5th Street, Burbank, CA  91501
(818) 842-5033
Last modified St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Robert Bellarmine Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top