Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saint Finbar School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Don't be misled-A number of the teachers and the many teacher's aids are not acredited, not do they hold degrees. The school advertises that it offers arts and music, but the reality is that the students only get about 45 minutes per week. The classrooms are HUGE, with over 35 students per class. I took my 2 children out after two years. The principal initiates no extra activities, simply coasting from year to year. It's all window dressing.

Saint Finbar School 5

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
Saint Finbar was immediately welcoming to my children and our entire family. The Principal is genuinely caring, very involved and knows everyone's names. He assembles outside with the students at the start of each day. The school secretary is extremely helpful and always with a smile. The kids at the school are very nice and polite, and we haven't encountered any bullying. My son loves his teacher and wants to work hard to reach classroom goals that she has set. He is more applied than ever. The parents are very involved and are welcome on the campus. The Parish and school work together wonderfully. We love that the school has fully fleshed out art, music, science and language programs. We only wish we had found this school sooner!


Saint Finbar School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
St Finbar Is a great school !!!!! Very happy to be part of this great community.

Saint Finbar School 2

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible. Most of the teachers aren't credentialed and there is much slamming, yelling and impatience in many of the classes. One kindergarten teacher is exceptional, however the rest of the teachers should be replaced.

Saint Finbar School 2

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
The school has dedicated, committed teachers. Teaching quality is above average. Discipline is a challenge, especially if children are the victims of bullying by other children at the school. Only in extreme cases does the administration get involved, and pressure is put on the victim's family from the administration to conform or find a way to deal with it on their own. This often puts the child and its family (and in some cases the faculty) at a disadvantage. Moreover, the students witness that the bully's behavior remains for the most part unchallenged, which then emboldens those with a proclivity to bully. The principal in particular has claimed repeatedly that no bullying occurs in parent meetings. It does occur as it would at any other school. Ensure that your child can handle themself in bullying situations before sending your child to this school.


Saint Finbar School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten at St Finbar and his teacher exceeds my expectations on a daily basis. She responds quickly to our requests after hours and its clear she genuinely enjoys her job and cares for the kids and their success. The class size is small and allows for hands on with each child, her learning plan is challenging for the kids both in class and in after school work. The leadership at the schools is exactly where it should be, front and center. He knows everybody s name, both kids and their parents, and he runs a tight ship. The kids love him and it s very clear by all the opportunity created for the kids that he is leading an amazing program. If you re looking for a tight knot community like school where not only the kids but also the parents receive support then St Finbar is for you.

Saint Finbar School 0
no rating

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
St. Finbar is a school whose principal works hard towards the overall development of your child, whose faculty is commmitted to teaching and also safeguarding your child, and whose parents are very interactive in their children's lives and very involved in meeting the school's goals. At last night's PTO meeting, the principal presented results of the ITBS testing, which clearly graphed how St. Finbar students are well above-average academically. Each year, these results are studied to prepare a curriculum that addresses the students' weaknesses and hones their strengths (details will be posted on school's website). Then one of the parents, a local police officer, spoke about his work experiences relating to school bullying. He introduced and gave advice about tech-bullying or e-bullying prevalent in schools today. A teacher also gave a mini-training on the safety of children. St. Finbar is a strong school intent on giving your child the best experience.

Saint Finbar School 0
no rating

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
Saint Finbar is a great school if you are looking for a quaint, structured environment for your child. My child is encouraged to thrive and express her uniqueness. The teachers are wonderful and the children learn academics, art, music. They also start to learn Spanish and French in the 3rd. grade. The extra curricular activities offered are drama, chess, piano, violin just to name a few. They encourage respect, discipline and honestly and contain a diverse background of cultures within the school. In addition, you do not have to be Catholic to go to the school, it is open to all.


Saint Finbar School 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
We have had a fabulous experience in our years at St. Finbar. There are ample opportunities for extra curricular activity offered throughout the year. The children are challenged in every way and rewarded for their hard work and academic excellence. There were some problems in our class early on when there were a couple of kids with behavioral and academic deficiencies...but now that they have moved on, our school is thriving. The new building is going to be great. We love St. Finbar!

Saint Finbar School 4

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
We have been at St. Finbar for several years and it is fantastic! The teachers are great and all children are recognized for their strengths and given opportunities to shine. Some reviews varied from ours but there are people who don't see that their child has learning disabilities or behavioral problems and they need special educational help and are better served being in public education. But for average and above average kids this is a great place to learn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Finbar School
2120 West Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA  91506
(818) 848-0191
Last modified Saint Finbar School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Saint Finbar School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top