Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bellarmine-Jefferson High School

Private | 9-12 | 320 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burbank

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $405,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

This school is getting too small to the point where they have to take in a lot of exchange students to sustain themselves. There is a lot of talking in class making it hard to concentrate if you care about learning. They give detentions if students are late for school.Why is a child punished when they don't drive? I get late for class, but late for school? The principal is rude and is not up for parent ideas. Ms. Thompson, Mr. Napier and Mr. Bergen are great though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

I have to say, this is a truly wonderful school. The faculty, staff, students, and parents are friendly and easy to work with. I enjoy going to work every day. The new principal has made some great strides so far, really reaching out and getting involved with as many things as he can. I would highly recommend this school for anyone who is looking for a supportive, personalized setting, quality instruction, and an environment rich in Catholic tradition.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2013

To me Bell-Jeff is not just a school its my second home!! Idc what other people say. This school really helped me a lot in life!! The teachers are amazing and they care about the students! The activities, drama department, clubs, and sports here are great!! The prep rallies, multiple events, and multiple dances are extraordinary, and plus the Area is amazing!! I mean the public library is there next to you, gas station, the shopping mall, shopping stores, the Cinemas, restaurants and etc!! Plus the Area is very safe because you have the police and fire department next to the school and a friendly neighborhood, and the counceler is amazing!! Without him I won't be in a university because Bell-Jeff is high standard and colleges look at us!!! My friend had a 4.2 when she graduated from public school but she wasn't able to apply to college because of the standards ! So Bell-Jeff is amazing especially the retreats and masses!! I love Bell-Jeff and I am proud that I am a graduate of Bell-Jeff!!


Posted June 4, 2012

Most of the teachers are lame and the school need to hire more qualified ones. I am glad there is a new principal and I hope he will uplift and bring a lot of changes in school. The favoritism is so obvious and the upperclass counselor is so weak and can easily be manipluate and intimidate. He choose valedectorians blindly without the overall considerations on what other students contributes to other school activities. It's so pathetic that the recent valedectorian coudn't even pass any AP exams. It is a joke. It's not worth to spend that kind of tuition for sub standard school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

f you want to go to Bingo that's run Fairly, Don't Go Here! (On Tuesday Nights!) It's Unethical for Volunteers to play Bingo on the night they're working, and to Top it off, they're being given FREE Papers! That means THEY DON'T PAY $ TO PLAY! So, that means that the Paying Customer is geting Gypped, while the Volunteers are getting a FREE RIDE! SO WRONG!!! Also, the Big Money Pull-Tabs they sell there are being opened First by those who are selling them. In most Bingo Establishments that's not supposed to work that way!! Even if they're paying for them, they're getting first dibs before the regular paying Customers! It looks Shady on the occasion when one of them Wins $! When you're selling them and playing them, it's a Conflict of Interest!! I've also seen with my Own Eyes things that aren't Kosher!! To me and others that are on the same page, they agree that this place is Run Unfairly!! Since this is a Catholic School, maybe they Should Go to Confession!!! It's great that they got rid of sis cheryl! :)


Posted June 24, 2011

There is going o be a new principal at Bell Jeff. He is an alumni that would like to change the school for the better. There are many changes coming for the next school year. New teachers, coaches, and staff. The school is going to change in one of the most positve ways. This school was not bad it just needs work, work which is being done as we speak. This is a great school for those who are looking for sports such as softball, basketball,and volleyball. We also have a great eduction system. This year has been a challenging year but at the end of the day i have learned a bunch, thanks to many of the teachers work and dedication to us, the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2011

Parents, save your money - this school is not even close to a college-prep school. Unless changes occur, such as cleaning house and replacing teachers who are just there for a paycheck, students will not be ready for the academic rigor and challenges that is expected from them in college. It is unfortunate that this school only has a few excellent teachers who really motivate the students to want to learn, the majority do not care and their standards of teaching is low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

The standards of this school is very low, beginning with the lack of Administrative leadership from Sr. Cheryl, Principal, followed by the continous numerous discipline issues with the school and unending detention served by students, along with the lack of professionalism from teachers toward the student and parent whose teaching standards are mediocre to low - all reflect a lack of pride and core value within the school environment . It is unfortunate that there are only a few outstanding teachers who know how to teach and motivate the students to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

This school has really gone down hill in the last five years, maybe even more. There is horrible leadership under the principal. She is condescending to parents, faculty, staff and students. Academics are mediocre and in no way are students prepared for college. Although some teachers are great, most sit behind their desks and do nothing. I don't blame them! Many teachers are far overworked. This school has such great potential to be what it used to be, but in order for it to get there, Sister Cheryl needs to go!


Posted September 8, 2009

Bell-Jeff was a poor choice for us. The school was an open campus with students roaming the halls un-supervised. The principal 'Sister Cheryl' did not want to take a leadership role and had a 'hands off' approach to the educational concerns of parents. For us it was a wasted year of tuition and i would not reccomend this school until significant changes are made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

Bellarmine-Jefferson High School is over all a great high school. Despite what others might say, this is an excellent school full of activities and teachers that inspire them. Bell-Jeff is not bad at all and I love it here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2003

Bell-Jeff is so amazing! It has many activities for students and parents to get involved. The activities include sports, academics, and provide help to the less fortunate.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 21% 1%
White 19% 26%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
Black 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:40
School Leader's name
  • Michael Stumpf
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • ACTS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

465 East Olive Avenue
Burbank, CA 91501
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 972-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT