Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is top notch. There is high standard of learning and the teachers are very progressive in thier styles and methods.

Franklin Elementary School 3

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
Given that Franklin has some of the best API scores of elementary schools in the area (955 in 2012), my expectations were high. We chose to live in Burlingame so that our children could attend the "good" schools here. However, we were disappointed. I think the teachers were mediocre. They didn't seem excited about teaching. Communication at the higher grade levels was nonexistent. Some of the children at the school displayed bully-like behavior. I question lunch and recess supervision. There are 23 children in grades K-3rd and 32 in 4- 5th. Teachers have no aids, and it seems they need them. I'm disappointed in the use of Everyday Math and don't feel the kids are challenged in math. Science is lacking, but this is a problem at most elementary schools. There appears to be one art teacher for the whole district, so kids get an hour of art every 1-2 months. I'm not impressed with music education either. Gifted students get 5-6 days of pull-out for the year, and nothing else the rest of the time. The principal is very kind and has worked at the school for years. But given the reputation of Burlingame schools and the high API scores, I expected so much more.


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
Franklin is an outstanding school. I have looked at most of the private schools on the Penninsula and I have not found one with a principal as good as Llsa Booth. She is exceptional. The teachers and staff are also outstanding. The community is diverse and devoted. You can't go wrong here.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
The principal, Lisa Booth, is exceptional. Very open-minded, cares for students, friendly, personable... So far, the teachers reflect the principal and excels in teaching, guiding, caring. PTA involvement is very high. Can't get much better than this.

Franklin Elementary School 3

Posted August 15, 2007
- a parent
Most parents are highly educated and affluent. These parents value an education and tend to push their children to achieve. After some time at the school, I have to agree that the school scores do not necessarily reflect the quality of teaching at Franklin. This school is weak in science and math. My child's teacher just glanced over multiplication even though that topic was covered in the Star test. I had to teach my child the multiplication tables. I don't think my child would have done that well in the Star Test without the additional tutoring outside of the classroom.


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
As a parent of two Franklin students I believe that this school lives up to it's great reputation. Parents are very involved and accomplish a lot of positive support through PTA and school channels. The staff is dedicated to the students and lead by a wonderful, kind, helpful principal. I highly recommend Franklin to those looking for a quality public elementary school experience.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2006
- a parent
Its great school I am from Asian community .I love this school. You can really relax and not worry about your kids education any more.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2006
- a parent
Franklin is a fabulous school. The principal and teaching staff are A1 and the parents are very involved. Academically, the school is strong and focused. The teachers are energetic, well-trained and work well as a team. In addition to a strong and financially generous PTA, there is also a district-wide school foundation. Between the two organizations they raise enough money to fund programs the state does not (music, library, music, reading programs, a math specialist, a computer specialist, etc.) There is a lot of school spirit and a real feeling of community. All three of my children went through Franklin and had excellent experiences.


Franklin Elementary School 3

Posted May 25, 2005
- a parent
The strength of this school is a principal open to new ideas and tremendous parental support. The academic strengths are in early literacy, but math and science are weak.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2005
- a parent
We have been very pleased with the overall quality of Franklin Elementary. Lisa Booth and the teaching staff are creative, caring and committed to the students and families of Franklin. The academic program has exceeded our expectations and our child really looks forward to attending school. The parents and families at Franklin are a highlight and make for a wonderful environment of trust and mutual respect. I feel we are very fortunate to be a part of this community and would highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin Elementary School
2385 Trousdale Drive, Burlingame, CA  94010-5704
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (650) 259-3850
Last modified Franklin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top