Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
2 kids in school past 5 years. Like any school, you get what you put into it. I volunteer in the yard and no different than other schools- no fights!!! Teachers and Principal always readily available.So work with them! All highly experienced. More diverse demographic than other schools, which I honestly prefer. My kids have friends of varying socioeconomic levels. Parent involvement and the amazing school district really make a difference. They have PE several times a week, library, music, band, an award-winning garden club and Art in Action. Electronic whiteboards in all the classrooms and are purchasing more ipads for the class. District Science teacher and now Math teacher to develop curriculum. Spanish program has provided some more cultural enrichment and next year they are starting a recess program that emphasizes conflict resolution and inclusive play. I would not hesitate to recommend this school and have known parents transfer kids to this school from others in the district due to bullying! Again, you get what you put into it. If you work in partnership with your teacher and Principal, you will reap the benefits!

McKinley Elementary School 2

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
Just hope your kid is not bullied. If so then you can forget getting any support from administrators. All they did in our situation was to punish the victim than deal with the bullies. Academically the school is OK. Nothing to right home about. They have some really great teachers and some really bad teachers. They also seem to have many new inexperienced teachers so beware in getting the new one. I also noticed a few "lemons". Good luck I would probably pick Lincoln if I had an option.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
This is an excellent school. Our K,1st and 2nd teachers very like a family to the kids. Grades 3-5 get less warm&cuddly and more responsibility, homework, preparation for STAR tests, etc. The principal Ms. Valerio is extremely dedicated - knows every child and every parent. She is the one standing outside at pickup time routing kids to their parents making sure everybody is safe. It's very easy to get a hold of every teacher, the principal and the secretary (that said, try getting Lincoln principal on the phone and good luck with that!). This school is rated 8 out of 10. Lower test scores are simply result of more lower income kids compared to other Burlingame schools. Check out test scores by subgroup - they are pretty much identical across all schools.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
McKinley is a phenomenal school with an excellent Principal and staff. With the addition of the new Annex building, the campus is newly landscaped and looking better than ever. In the 5 years my kids have been at McKinley I have never heard of fights breaking out or "random people on the premises" nor are children "bused in" (where would they be bused in from? BSD doesn't even have buses!) There are some very special things about McKinley, the Harvest Festival, father/daughter dance, Founder's Day, our beautiful garden and of course the amazing parent community (I could go on). Go Bulldogs!

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2011
- a parent
McKinley Is an amazing school with an excellent staff. The school has a very diverse population that is just wonderful. The curriculum is challenging and the teachers are very collaborative. They have soccer coaches that come once a week at lunch, The Physical education has implemented a program for recess coaches and this provides the older students a leadership role. Have I mentioned how awesome the parent community is. We are a big family at McKinley.


McKinley Elementary School 1

Posted November 03, 2011
- a parent
Very bad school which is really a bummer for this area. Nobody cares. There are random people on the premises, multiple cases of kids clothes theft, nobody watches kids, nobody cares about education. I can speak only for K-2, but chaos is there, fights!! and swear words!! and it doesn't seem that things change for older kids. Stay away! Really, it is not worth it.

McKinley Elementary School 2

Posted September 05, 2011
- a parent
This school is not what you would expect from a Burlingame school. I would not recommend moving to Burlingame for this school. It lacks good leadership. The focus is not on education. The playground is wild and needs better supervision. Many kids are bused in and that might be one of McKinleys problems. My experience is that problems are covered up rather than addressed. This is very frustating.

McKinley Elementary School 3

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
McKinley delivers the state mandated basics to the children, but as another reviewer stated, little else is taught. Science, technology and music are weak while the art program is taught by volunteer parents. Kudos to the parents for filling these needs! Also, the Spanish immersion program is like a school within a school with minimal integration between immersion and non-immersion students. It's unfortunate because everybody can benefit socially and culturally from having both curricula at one school. Communication from the school and the teachers is minimal and inconsistent (website and newsletters are often missing important event dates), which makes it difficult for parents to actively stay involved in their children's education and social integration. There is, however, a strong sense of community but that is only the result of an involved and caring group of parents. The teachers are good, but as a whole, the school needs a lot of improvement.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2011
- a parent
Parents are really involved, Teachers are really happy to be there and the Kids are having a blast and learning at the same time! My daughter is in kindergarten and loves to go to school everyday!!

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
McKinley is the ideal school. It has an old fashioned aura, strong family influence and a principal who puts the children above all else. Her leadership is strong and sincere. Her staff and teachers love their jobs. The difference at McKinley is the kids are on the forefront of everyone's mind. EVERYTHING comes back to the well being, academically and otherwise, of each student. What is happening at this school? Learning and loving it! Respect, caring and high standards for ALL.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McKinley Elementary School
701 Paloma Avenue, Burlingame, CA  94010
(650) 259-3870
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
McKinley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top