Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school that is leveraging technology and innovative teaching methods to support the new Common Core framework. Fantastic community support. Wonderful, caring teachers.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
Great school. Wonderful community, committed educators and innovative principal. My kids love it. Beats any school in the area.


Roosevelt Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
My nephews have been going to this school for the past two years and they have been misarable, we havent changed schools because they live so close and its convinient for my mother to take them walking and pick them up. Let me begin with the teachers are horrible! My nephew in kindergarden has been getting bullied having a kid hit him and scream in his ear all year! He is very opened and came to us for help after letting his K teacher know but nothing was done , we tried talking to the principal and the district and nothing !!!! Its ridicolous , no child should be goig through that on a daily basis. My second nephew was put in a special class we out olus being notify when we asked if there was somtething wrong with him educationaly or behavioral wise no one gave us an answer! The lady at the front office also told my nephew that he could not throw away his lunch if he was not hungry because it came out of her tax money and this happened in front of me , i felt himuliated like she was blaming us at the fact that he recieved free lunch. To end it when he graduated K his teacher threw him his diploma and wouldnt take a picture with him broke my heart

Roosevelt Elementary School 4

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Good school with good academic focus. Although great people, Teacher performance is inconsistent and you must be vigilant to ensure your child is not falling behind. Middle of the pack students may not receive added help or encouraged to surpass expectations. Current Principal is good, but is not seemingly as engaged or personable as previous Principal. Parent involvement is positive, amazing, and off the charts.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school in every way, and very unique even within Burlingame. This is the quintessential neighborhood school! My children, 3rd and kinder, are thriving here both academically and socially! Test scores here are among the highest in Burlingame, and the school was honored as a California Distinguished school in 2012. The new principal has continued to set the tone here as very caring and nurturing. The one thing that is unique about Roosevelt, as opposed to the other Burlingame elementaries, is its small size. Only 2 classes per grade (generally). It feels like a private school, and has a very very close-knit community of parents and kids. A very special place where people feel welcome and all are encouraged to reach their full potential. Academics are excellent as well as they are always striving to improve. For example, this year they've added ipads for classroom instruction and have started an after school technology club.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Initially I was worried that with too much parent involvement, the leadership at the school (teachers and principal) would be pulled in too many different directions and the school wouldn't be as effective academically. I was very, very wrong. My daughter is thriving at Roosevelt and the school is embraced by the community. It is so amazing to see over 100 parents show up for PTA meetings! This is an incredible school with very caring teachers, an active and supportive parent community and a strong financial commitment from the community to all Burlingame schools that make up for any shortfalls in state funding. Roosevelt taught my daughter to love school and learning. In the end, that is the best outcome any parent could hope for.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
The ideal school. Great pedagogy, great principal, great teachers and great parent community. Roosevelt is the perfect neighborhood school. Many schools these days put a heavy emphasis on academics and testing, which in effect stunts creativity and student-led projects. Not at Roosevelt - there is homework, but not a lot and a lot of projects that supplement textbook learning. There are a lot of spontaneous student-led initiatives that are just heart-warming and inspiring - kids really feel empowered here. The school and parent communities are partners in education and the mutual respect is obvious.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a parent
I love the community feeling of Roosevelt School. The parental involvement and participation at this school are phenomenal. My son is in first grade here and he is thriving and learning a lot. The principal is warm and caring and very hands on.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
I love this school they really take the time and effort to help your child succeed!

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
This is a 'great school' in every possible way. The principal is experienced, accessible and dedicated to the children, teachers, staff and community - he is a solid leader. The teachers and staff are a caring, cohesive and committed group dedicated to providing each student with the best education possible -- every child counts, and all are valued and appreciated. The close-knit parent community is devoted to providing any assistance required -- from classroom support to funding for special projects. This is a warm and caring environment where everyone thrives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt Elementary School
1151 Vancouver Avenue, Burlingame, CA  94010
(650) 259-3890
Last modified Roosevelt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top