Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mercy High School

Private | 9-12 | 420 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burlingame

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,460,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

To be honest, I had higher standards for this school. I was always told that it was a great school, my older cousin would tell me about her experience. I could barely wait To start high school. At first I didn't quite meet the most.. Nicest classmates there, though there's always a few people like that in every school. I just avoided them and kept going. But there was this one girl that kept messing with me and what really disappointed me was that she would mess with me right in front of the teachers, I'd say something, but they did nothing to help whatsoever. They thought I was a joke. Another thing is that I agree with the other students. I think the school focus too much in their image rather than actually helping their students. If you're not doing too good in school, they just kick you out and don't bother to help. Teachers will talk to you, but all they talk about is how they never failed a student before. Mentioning that doesn't give any help to the student except guilt. Guilt won't help everyone. Just so disappointed in this school. I thought it would be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2013

We have two daughters currently attending Mercy. We have been very happy with the overall experience. The education that they are receiving has exceeded our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

It's the best high school to number one like SI. You will love every moment of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

With my own personal experience I feel disappointed with this school. It is important to shadow or be a student to really know if the school is a right fit for your child and if you feel respected, supported and cared for. Keep in minds things can change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Everyone is entitled to their personal opinion, this school disappointed me personally on different levels. As with any school your considering, It is important to shadow or be a student to really know if the school is a right fit for you and even then things can change.


Posted May 27, 2011

We have two duaghters at the school and highly recommend it. The school is committed to providing financial assistance to help offset the tuition. This is a school where a young women can grow and flourish and have many opportunities to discover her talents and passion in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

This is a fabulous school. Tuition is a bit steep, but it is well worth it for what the girls get in academics, athletics and social arenas. My girls love it. One is boy crazy and thought she would hate it but feels it is best not to have boys there so she can focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

The only problem with the school as stated by someone else is the high tuition. It is very expensive, plus the cost of books and other expenses. Aside from the tuition, the teachers and academic program is good yet it feels like your paying a mortgage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Great commitment to education and social responsibility.


Posted July 11, 2009

too focused on image. poor teachers. too expensive


Posted April 1, 2009

The school is way to focused on it's own image rather than the students. I am a senior and I have always felt that the school is more worried about a perfect catholic image rather than the safety and well being of the student. It is stern, which is a good thing because teenagers do need discipline, but I feel that they are strict for the wrong reasons. They cross a line from being strict to being controlling.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

Mercy Burlingame is the best high school in the area. My daughter loved Mercy since her first day and loved her time there. She was very well prepared for college and she is now going to be graduating from UC in a few months. We are very grateful for all Mercy has given her. I am so glad she went there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

We just completed our first year at Mercy Burlingame and we are very pleased with their academics and overall emphasis on having the girls succeed in their academic achievements and overall life goals. Interesting, this message was very clear to us while conducting the 'open house' events at different high schools including Notre Dame HS, Saint Francis HS and St Ignatius. Our daughter is at the top of her class and she loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Mercy High School is a great place to have fun while you're learning at the same time. I'm not sure it's the appropriate school for me, but for most girls it is a great learning experience. I know it doesn't have the best academics and thei art program could use some improving, but it is a good high school where you can try your best in a beautiful environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2006

Mercy High School has an excellent database reference and great resource centers for usage. The school follows a block scheduling system which enables classes to accomplish more. Also, the student/teacher ratio is 15:1. It just shows how your daughter will be taken care of.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 26%
Two or more races 20% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 11%
Hispanic 9% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Karen Hanrahan
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 Adeline Drive
Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone: (650) 343-3631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mills High School
Millbrae, CA



The Avalon Academy
Burlingame, CA


Burlingame High School
Burlingame, CA


Capuchino High School
San Bruno, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT