Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain House Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 43 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2012

I had all my kids attend large public schools in my area and it was horrible. I drive a little further to have my kids attend this school because its small size classes, teachers are more involved with each student, and its the way schools should be for children. Having them in schools with 40 in a class makes me wonder if this is more of an opportunity for the school to increase money then assure the education of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

This school does not have a principal, just a secretary, and only 2 teachers. The teacher's aide taught my child more than the actual teacher in the classroom. She does not have teaching credential! The administrators of this school like to run it as if it was a private school, but want to get the taxpayers money for funding. Some of the children have relatives on the School Board and act however they wish, including bullying and assulting other children. The vicitm is then blamed/disciplined for the entire incident, but nothing is done to the agressor because of the family member on the Board. The teacher for 4th - 8th grade screams/yells at the students (escpecially the boys)! Very unprofessional! She has students redo work already graded & sent home because she didn't note it in her grade book. She keeps them in at lunch/recess for makeups for excused absences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

If you love your child, DO NOT SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!! Keep them home and find a good home school program because the Bryon Schools are not much better! They do not know how to teach the children. They give the children the assigments and then let them figure it out on their own! So much for teaching! The field trips are great, for fun, but not much for education, unless you think an amusement park and baseball game are educational excursions. And I hope you like dogs, because the teacher has one IN THE CLASSROOM under her desk! If your child is not a 3rd or 4th generation student, then good luck with the administrators in this school. They will treat you as if you are a piece of trash!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

We have two children at bethany elemantary school. We are very pleased with the teachers. They work very hard with the student and feed back on a constant basis with the progress of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2008

I think this is a great school. As a parent of a child that has been there for 7 years I have never felt left out. I feel like my child gets help in weak areas. I feel like the atmosphere of the school is great for the children. My child is not forced to 'grow up' faster than what he/she needs to! I do wish there was more funding available to the school so the children would not have to miss out on extra activities. I think that the teachers, staff and parents do there best to keep extra activities available with fundraisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

If the teachers are your concern, the teachers here are tops. If its the atmosphere of the school and its staff, its not an open door for parents. The staff is a bit close knit, relatives of one another, and parents tend to feel left out, especially if your not related to someone on staff. If your child needs extra attention in the classroom then this is the school for you. If activities and clubs are your bag, then this would not be a good school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

I wouldn't recommend this school. I think it's staff can be very close minded at times and isn't always willing to be involved with the parents or accept that a parent wants to be involved with their childs education. They have lower test scores then other schools in the area. Wasn't impressed with the extra activities offered to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

This is a great school! A small school with small classrooms where your child can get a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

753

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

753

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 59%
White 36%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
English language learners 55%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marianne Griffith
Fax number
  • (209) 832-0284

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3950 Mountain House Road
Byron, CA 94514
Website: Click here
Phone: (209) 835-2283

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sebastian Questa Elementary
Mountain House, CA



Bethany Elementary
Mountain House, CA



Wicklund Elementary
Mountain House, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT