Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


MUSE School CA 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
There is not enough words to express how happy we are to have our children at muse. This school should be the example of how all schools should be. Every child deserves to be inspired and to be educated in an environment that cultivates creativity. our kids are thriving and being pushed academically and loving it!

MUSE School CA 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
Buyer Beware. They make a lot of promises but deliver on very few. The kids where not encouraged to treat each other well. We saw a lot of bullying. The curricula is disjointed and disorganized. When we left the school my young son said, "I wasn't learning anything anyways." I would encourage parents to spend a lot of time in the classroom before going to this school. Ask to see example projects and work, you might be surprised how little the kids actually do.


MUSE School CA 3

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
this is the kind of school i have been seaarching for BUT the annual tuition is apx 23,000$ for grade school. so sad that our children suffer in the public school system, when a school like this exists i would move to cali just for this school but there's absolutely no way I can afford 20,000 for my 11 year old to go to school. thats absolutely insane and disheartening, im all down for paying for school but i barely make more than that on an annual salary.. so unfortunate for all the children being denied access to a REAL school, its almost heart breaking i have been looking for this school for almost a year now to find it and not be able to afford it, its awful.

MUSE School CA 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
This school has been a life saver. My son entered mid year in 6th grade. We needed an alternative to LAUSD where he was getting bullied, where kids we cutting and in general very negative. Although I do not think the education is bad at some LAUSD schools, I think the atmosphere is. It's my opinion that its more important to be a good human being than to pass tests. Muse's focus is on the student, not test scores. My son has thrived there under the passion based, independent research program. In a year and a half I see such a change in him. He is confident, happy and intellectually stimulated. I feel very safe having him at Muse, which is priceless. We love his teacher, J., and all the staff and Muse community are wonderful. The small learning environment is so much less stressful than public schools. We feel very fortunate to have found Muse.

MUSE School CA 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
We left a Waldorf school to attend MUSE. We were looking for a progressive school with more academic challenge than we had before. We are quite pleased with MUSE. Students are expected to initiate and organize projects in a manner that is very challenging. The school follows state standards with an ample helping of art, music and sustainable living guidance. My kids are shutting off the lights at home and shortening showers! Much has been made about the Vegan food, but the fact is that complete protein offerings are always available, and my kids find the food very delicious. My kids are enjoying learning again.


MUSE School CA 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Great School! Been here for 5 yrs. I have not had any of the issues the previous parents have discussed. The head of the school is amazing! One of a kind! Teachers are fabulous and my child is thriving!

MUSE School CA 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
This is our 4th year at Muse. We have had an amazing 4 years and have no plans of leaving. Everyone experiences schools differently. I was surprised to read one if the other reviews about the school catering to celebrities. We are not a celebrity family and we have not seen any sort of favoritism or special treatment. But again, parents will experience things differently. Honestly, in every school, there will be parts of the program one likes and dislikes. Our child is thriving! That's important to us! It's respect to the head of the school, it's unfortunate that the previous parents/teachers perceive him as they do. He has been consistent, honest, supportive, and he is a fabulous leader. Thank you Muse for all you do for us!!

MUSE School CA 1

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Children that leave Muse Elementary are consistently behind one year. Example is daughter attended Muse for since age 3 is thru 1st Grade. Is now 7 1/2 and could not pass Public School 1st grade testing. to progress as normally into 2nd Grade.Can barely read and do simplistic math only. So she must start over in 1st grade. Too much emphasis on "being Green" and not enough academics being taught. Do not waste your money and your child's future.


MUSE School CA 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
I visited for a day to the 1st grade class to see how was the education system they promised inside the classroom. Well, first of all, when The class started with an hour-long video of Niel the scientist guy explaining what electricity is. (Instrad of having the teacher explain) afterwards they were supposed to write an essay but the kids wouldnt want to do it so it took about an hour more. The teacher never bothered to check their grammar nor spelling. After this they had the winter festival rehersal ( the only time I saw the teachers have some kind of discipline). Finally they had like two hours in which the kids had to decide between writing in their notebooks, reading (books that were to simple for first graders), coloring a picture about their little essay and playing connect four. Ok, i get that they have this passion learning system and focused in each child but seriously! Those activities for an outrageous tuition.

MUSE School CA 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
My 2 children have had an outstanding experience at Muse school. My son was in 3rd Grade and my Daughter was in 2nd Grade, both teachers were fantastic. The principle really cares about the children's needs and make sure that each and every family is looked after and made to feel welcomed along with the office staff. This school pushes the child to there abilities, its very forward thinking and your child is not left behind but encouraged to excel to their full potential, both my kids are striving, I am deeply sad that due to family circumstances we had to relocate back to the UK, but I just can't be thankful enough for the amazing education my children have received, along with the science, Arts, Maths Specialist, Woodwork and so much more as the list goes on and on. I would definitely recommend this school if you want your child to have a well rounded education with so much more. Thank you Muse.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

MUSE School CA
1666 Las Virgenes Canyon Road, Calabasas, CA  91302
(818) 880-5437
Last modified MUSE School CA is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
MUSE School CA Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top